Hostelworld.com

Cactus Jacks Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 143 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 143 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.6
Cactus Jacks Backpackers Located at 1210 Haupapa St, , Rotorua.
Cactus Jacks Backpackers
New Zealand
Rotorua 1210 Haupapa St
73% 143
-38.1361093 176.2501001
Cactus Jacks Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jun 2016
3.4

I stayed here 12 years ago with great service and atmosphere. Now however, even though fridges were padlocked!? (Kitchen opens at seven but can't get to your food til eight) we had our food stolen. Hardly anyone else staying there and staff clearly hated having to 'work' such a shame but an all round bad experience

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
7.4

Very quaint decor tries to compensate for crampt passageways & small rooms, giving this old building another lease of life. The location was great:walking distance to the bus stop & CBD.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
6.0

I booked a mixed dorm. It was a really uncomfortable experience. I know that's standard, but maybe it would be less awkward if you made sure everyone was aware that it's a mixed dorm. Guys came down the hall, peeked in, and I heard one walk away saying "there's a girl in there!" :) I shared a room alone with five guys! IDK if there is anything that can be done to avoid girls being alone with guys but it would have been nice in my case! Not your fault though. I also found the decor really

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2016
10.0

Very good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2016
8.3

Quirky fun place, teeny tiny dorms but at least everything was clean. Decent enough wifi, great help from staff in recommending stuff to do and see

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Mar 2016
3.4

Arrived a little earlier before check in and asked if we could leave our heavy backpacks at the hostel - we were just laughed at by a member of staff and told no. Found all staff we spoke to quite rude. Another incident occurred when me and my 3 friends returned to our 4 bed dorm to find 2 other strangers bags on out beds who had been given the wrong key - that was an awkward and frustrating encounter. The general atmosphere of the hostel was just plain weird and all facilities not very clean.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2016
9.4

The staff were extremely helpful, were great when we needed advice on activities to do or how to get around. Booked things for us, which made the trip so much easier and enjoyable. Would definitely recommend them for others

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2016
7.4

Was in a great location! Quirky liytle place. Someone dod manage to get into our room so make sure you close the window!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Feb 2016
8.0

Place looks kind of weird (fake western town feel to it, especially with the painted horses on the doors) but overall great vibe to it. Staff was extremely helpful and had great tips for the surrounding area. Free wifi, clean kitchen and a hot tub (wasnt working when i was there cause some tourist trashed it, might be fixed by now). Really close to the town centre!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2016
9.7

one of my fav hostels staying in nz so far! staff are so friendly! its the the livliest hostel but is right near everything! the kitchen in clean spacious and EMPTY which is great after youve been stayong with base for a while!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.