X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cafe Hostel Reviews

Rua Agisse, 152, Vila Madalena, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
101 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Shower = cold

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oh no, you can regulate the temperature at the shower head! We're sorry that you didn't know about it, we'll put a sign to make sure that it won't happen again.

94%

Clean and comfortable rooms, good breakfast and amazing staff who are very helpfull.


86%

Great hostel in the nice area of SP. Clean, great facilities... I would definitly recommand it !

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Good location, the staff was very friendly only it is a little small and noisy cause the rooms are in front of the terrace but it worth it


94%

The stay was perfect. Nice rooms, the breakfast was awesome for a hostel breakfast. I liked the bar area and the opportuniy to sit outside. But an individual key for the room would be nice. The room was open all the time..And anyone could enter the room. Then your really need to trust the other travelers, but maybe there is 1 of 100 how is not trustworthy. I know that there is a safe, but you cant put ALL your stuff in the safe. For example if you have a good pair of hiking shoes or whatever...

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Safe location and some staff were lovely. Unfortunately one staff member refused to come out of his room to work behind the bar so the female working on reception was trying to cover 2 jobs at a time. This really ruined our last night in Cafe Hostel. Other than that the rooms are big and comfortable, the showers were ok but a but far from the rooms, the location was safe and I would recommend this hostel.


91%

nice hostel, great location and wonderful staff!!! Def. go there!!!!


86%

The rooms need air conditioning


83%

Very nice hostel. Even the 11 dorm is very spacious, has windows and a balcony Breaksfast is tasty and rich and veries from day to day. Just a stone's throw away from Villa Madalena metro station and only 5 to 10 minutes away from all bars and restaurants of this area. If you go to the hostel by public trasportation from the interational airport which is far outside, you should calculate at least 1,5 hours.


77%

Bed bugs......

Owner Comment (Hide)
We never had problems with bed bugs because we hire pest control professionals to prevent from that problem. It's been a week since you left and we haven't received any complaints about bed bug bites. We're glad your enjoyed everything else though - so come stay with us again and don't worry about bed bugs!

86%

It is a good place to stay in Sao Paolo, safe area. You cannot be loud or sit outside after 10pm. Staff are friendly especially Giuliano, thanks for the caipis.


100%

This place was great. Nice courtyard and small bar to hangout. You don't even need to leave the hostel to enjoy yourself. And the location is perfect. Villa Mandelena is a beautiful little town, that almost makes you feel like you are outside the city.


100%

This is a fantastic hostel. The staff are not only friendly and helpful but help you meet others and join activities. The hostel is clean with good facilities in a great part of town. Easy to take the metro in the day and to walk to local bars at night. I loved the free farro dance class and yoga, and the little touches like free soup are great. A very relaxed and inclusive vibe. Loved the home made breakfast too. Not a party hostel but sociable - excellent balance.


89%

Cafe Hostel is my definition of a Hostel! Usually I don't leave comments but here I have to. I will definitely return to Cafe Hostel, not just because it is really good value for money, but the place has just so many things to offer. And one thing are also that it just looks like the pictures in the Internet.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

We had an OK stay here. It is slim a good location really close to the Vila Madalena tube station. We were put in an 11 bed dorm even though we'd booked a 9 bed. The triple bunks were not ideal and a bit uncomfortable but ok. Bathrooms and showers were clean but the ladies were broken when we were there, not much of a problem just a little less privacy. Breakfast was pretty average, some stale cake and no tea. Social areas were ok but there didn't seem to be too much going on in general.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, it helps us improve our service. We put you in a 9bed dorm, because it is more spacious (and it has big windows and a balcony!). We explain that to the guests when we check them in. You were here on a Wednesday, next time you should join our (free) Forró class! (traditional Brazilian dance)

100%

Our stay at the Cafe Hostel could not have been more enjoyable.Excellent staff,brilliant breakfast,great atmosphere from a cross section of people and a really nice place to enjoy a laugh and to debrief from the day visiting Sao Paulo.Honestly,this is a great hostel and it was sad to leave. It will always be in my memories.The sweet rice at breakfast really clinched the deal for us.


100%

Could improve the breakfast a bit

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good hostel overall. The bathrooms were quite too exposed and not always very clean, but it was a good stay.


94%

Great hostel -- good vibes, good people, good location. Staff was great - not creepy ;) - and I would have liked to stay longer.


91%

Awesome guy on the front desk! A mexican guy with great expressions of Tarzan.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(55 results)


View all Sao Paulo Hostels

Please give us your feedback