Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cafe Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 547 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 547 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Feb 2017
8.0

Nice hostel with a lot of potential but in my opinion not done quite right. Why does the bar shut at 10pm?! If you're going to charge for breakfast, it needs to be significantly better than breakfasts included for free at other hostels. Overall, nice, clean hostel but lacking atmosphere. Super cool area though so good if you're in a group.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • eleanorblake6981
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
4th Feb 2017
8.0

Cafe Hostel is in a great location with lots of restaurants and bars near. The staff were really friendly and helpful and went above and beyond to try and help. They also had good suggestions of things to do. Atmosphere was a little empty at times making it maybe not the best place for solo travellers. I wouldn't say the breakfast is value for money, nor some of the bar prices. Facilities overall were good but wifi would occassionally cut due to storms. All in all, I would stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Jan 2017
9.1

Really a perfect location, very safe and pretty area, loads of nice places to eat nearby, and a couple of minutes from the subway station. Comfortable beds. Really cute little balcony and sofa area. 11 bed dorm is really spacious and even has a balcony. Only issue was not being able to bring any alcohol into the hostel, though they do have a bar which has, I think, fairly standard São Paulo prices. Overall really good value, would definitely recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
7.1

Nice hostel, good location, always clean and very safe, the saff is friendly in general......the atmosphere is good, just the shower 8 minuts and breakfast 12 reais bit expensive but in general i like this backpacker, I recommend all travelers

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jan 2017
10.0

Beautiful hostel , beautiful location , friendly staff .... highly recommended ! Can't fault it !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Jan 2017
10.0

The area the hostel is in is really fun and safe! And the staff are incredibly helpful, would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jan 2017
9.4

I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. It has a very laid back atmosphere and the staff were very warm and welcoming as were the other travelers passing through here. To top this off it's in a great location - close to the beach and lots of great bars and restaurants. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone travelling through Rio!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jan 2017
4.3

An aggressive and rude staff member accused me of stealing a bottle of beer; Unpleasant and uncomfortable situation which ruined an otherwise tolerable stay. Recommend avoiding if you expect to be treated in a respectable fahion.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

At 3am you arrived visibly drunk and asked for a bottle of beer. Our receptionist told you that our bar was already closed, but when he was distracted you just went to the reception fridge and grabbed it yourself. In any hostel there are some basic unspoken common sense rules that are needed to make everyone's stay enjoyable, we hope you understand that we can't tolerate that kind of behavior.We're glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay though!

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jan 2017
8.9

Great location, great staff, great breakfast :) Met loads of lovely people here, and would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jan 2017
10.0

The staff here is the main reason why I am giving this place a 10. They are very helpful, down to earth, and amazing people. I have seen the staff treat the guests here as family even when some guests come back a bit too wild. They have an delicious breakfast that fuels you for the long adventures Sao Paulo brings you. The hostel is very close to Beco do Batman and great bars in Vila Madalena. It also is very close to the Green line that can take you downtown in less than a half hour. Obrigado!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.