X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

CaipiHostel Reviews

Av. Gomes Freire, 373, Lapa, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
277 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

É necessário investir na higiene dos sanitários.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

That's an awesome hostel! it's a good place to meet people from all over the world. The hostel is well located in lapa, just a 5 min walk from the crowded bars, near SDU airport. It's easy to go to copacana by bus/train. Very clean, secure, organized. I totally recommend it!


97%

Primeira vez que fiquei em hostel.E escolhi o Caipihostel. Foi sensacional. Ótimo atendimento,fica na Lapa pertinho da badalação para quem gosta. Ambiente super agradável.Limpeza ok. Café da manhã legal pelo preço que se é pago. Baú individual embaixo das beliches para colocar cadeado e dar um grau na segurança. Amei.Recomendo e volto em breve. Me senti em casa.


71%

-Parte dos funcionários deixa a desejar na qualidade do atendimento. -Durante uma madrugada teve uma movimentação estranha de jovens de outros quartos no quarto em que estava. A concentração suspeita incomodou todos que estavam deitados.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Bom atendimento e ótimo preço

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

À exceção da limpeza dos banheiros do CaipiHostel, sentimo-nos muito satisfeitas com a estadia.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Excellent location for Lapa nightlife, good local experience. However, rooms quite cramped and common area dark with no windows at the front.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Hay muchos binchos malo y mosquitos. Deberian desinfectar sus habitaciones, no podre recomendarle sus habitaciones a nadie!!


54%

Extremely load partying til 4am with the walls and beds bouncing. No regards for the people sleeping even after being asked to lower the volume. We were given air plugs instead.. Although the day staff were very friendly!


66%

Bom, porém só tinha um chuveiro quente .

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Bom custo benefício, voltaria.


77%

This hostel has an amzing location in the heart of Lapa (there is the stench of trash right outside the door though). Great vibe when you enter with dimmed lighting and music (sometimes a bit loud). The rooms were decently clean. However, we arrived at the beginning of a bedbug infestation. The bathrooms are shared between girls and guys so they were not always so clean. The staff was quite nice and helpful (especially Ingrid), with the exception of one girl. They do not have a communal kitchen.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • travelingsisters
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The atmosphere was poor but I think that was because of low season or something.


66%

the position is god if you want to enjoy the nightlife in Lapa, is 1 hour far from Copacabana or Ipanema by bus30 min by metro. the staff is friendly and helpfull, there is a friendly atmophere. downside there is no wifi in the room and the signal in the reception came and go. the toilet are too small and unisex, they were blocked and dirty. The AC was setted too high I have to where a jaket during the night.


51%

il y avait un manque flagrant d'hygiène avec des sanitaires dans un etat déplorable, la douche a été a l'eau froide pour nous trois... quant a l'heure des caipi offertes pas vraiment pratique... bref assez déçues par notre séjour au caipihostel , on s'attendait a beaucoup mieux d'après la description!


91%

One of the best hostels I stayed at so far in Brazil. Clean, bar, computers, plugs at each bed, lockers. They thought about everything. Only remark is the weak internet connection. Keep up the good work!


57%

From the moment we arrived the staff we're rude. I understand that working in a hostel environment involves giving away a lot of your energy, but greeting guests with a frown and not responding to their friendly energy is incredible off-putting. I spoke the receptionists native language and asked "Tudo bom?" which was returned with a frown. Very few smiles from the staff which only dampens the experience. Hostel location was good. Easy to find and close to airport.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thanks for your review and sorry for your bad experience. We find hard to believe that all of our staff was rude. We completely understand that maybe one day someone is less happy then others, but generally we are a very happy and outgoing bunch of travelers. Hope you can come back and try once more :)

80%

Good place, well located in Lapa. Staff is relaxed but nice. Terrible wifi.


89%

very nice hostel, the team is great and friendly. a lots of bar's and restaurants in the near, great hostel for beautiful party nights. the air conditioner is don't working sometimes and the WiFi ist very slow...


71%

Das Hostel war zu dem Zeitpunkt total ausgebucht, sodass der Platz natürlich gering wurde und es sehr dreckig war. Putzfrauen waren regelmäßig da, jedoch wurde es leider nicht besser. Ausstattung ist ganz gut. Locker vorhanden und besonders gut finde ich die kleinen "Nachtisch-Locker" am Bett, welche direkten Zugang zu eigenen Steckdosen hatten. Somit konnte man sorgenfrei Kamera, Handy und Laptop laden.


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback