Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 148 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 148 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Jun 2017
8.6

Does the job. Good simple hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
6.9

All of the staff was friendly and check in/out was essy. The hot breakfast available was hearty and tasty. The room was a disappointment. There wasn't a single outlet in the room. Charging was available in the main lobby. They said this was typical for all their second floor rooms. No lights by the bed so need people coming in later had to flip on the overhead. A single toilet on the entire second floor though there were four showers. For hiking and being in nature, it was a lovely location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've ever stayed in! Loads of room, great facilities, great staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
9.4

Great base to explore the beautiful surroundings. Would return again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2017
9.1

This hostel is in Glenmore, six miles away from Aviemore train station. I am glad I stayed in this hostel, rather than the hostel based in Aviemore, as this hostel is nestled within the Cairngorms and makes for a great base to take walks around the hills and mountains and is very near Loch Morlich. There is also a small bar with live music just across the road. Facilities are good with a decent kitchen and dining area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
9.1

Overall this was a great hostel, I'll continue to go to other Youth Hostels along my trip because of it. Great great great drying room, large kitchen, large hostel in general. The whole place was a little dated but clean and well kept up. It's the perfect spot if you're looking to get some good walks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
9.7

First class hostel in a superb location, very relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff and all at the cost of a nights camping in the adjacent campsite. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2017
8.3

The rooms are spacious and very clean. Warm showers also clean! Reception opens after 5pm which was a bit annoying, but we had a car so we could leave our stuff in and take a walk around the area. Which is sooo beautiful! We were quite disappointed with the restaurant and the dinner surved. You have to order in advance in reception and state the time you want to have your dinner. We were there at 7:30 but served at 9pm! And we were waiting in a very very poorly ventilated area. Overall very good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Apr 2017
7.4

Good points: - Fantastic location; near bus stop and cafe in the small village of Glenmore. Accessible yet rural - Staff are helpful, knowledgable & friendly - Clean hostel with a good kitchen area & options of good priced food at restaurant Bad points: - Facilities needed updating; only one male shower actually worked properly & the wifi speed was near enough non-existent - Not a very social atmosphere at the hostel - Only 8 lockers for the hostel... no lockers in the dorm room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Apr 2017
10.0

The Best hostel that I've been

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.