Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cairns Central YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 139 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 139 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9
Cairns Central YHA Located at 20-26 McLeod Street, Cairns QLD 4870, Cairns.
Cairns Central YHA
Australia
Cairns Queensland Queensland/4870 20-26 McLeod Street, Cairns QLD 4870
87% 139
-16.9167047 145.7661294
Cairns Central YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Nov 2016
8.6

This was my first real hostel experience and I was overall pleased. The property was nice and clean for what it is. The bathrooms were generally clean and had a good bit of privacy for showering and dressing. My main complaint is that there didn't seem to be much atmosphere and it was hard to meet new people. Seemed like a fair share of long term people and there wasn't a common gathering point, aside from the kitchen at dinner time which isn't helpful if you're not cooking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Nov 2016
9.1

Good sized lockers in room. Clean rooms and kitchen. Just across the road is a mall with lots of shops and a supermarket, but town is a little walk away if you wanted to go out at night. Little uncomfortable walking back at night as many people hang/sleep outside the mall. Staff friendly and helpful. Toilets very clean. Wifi hotspot is a bit annoying as you have to go to a specific area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Nov 2016
9.7

Really great place. Close to waterfront with train station and mall across the street. Impeccable staff. Quieter than most places. Would definitely return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Oct 2016
7.4

Lovely staff and facilities. Great perks with free pancake breakfast and activities in the evenings. Nice bathrooms too! My only complaint is that people did not seem to mingle that much. Also a lot of older people (50-60)...nothing wrong with that but just did not expect that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
9.4

One of the better backpackers I have stayed at, clean, safe, friendly staff. Very chilled vibe. Would definitely go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Aug 2016
8.9

Great cooking facilities, very clean, had a movie night when I was there which was fab after a tiring day snorkeling in the reef. Nice pool and good to have pancakes for breakfast although they are not that filling!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2016
10.0

Great place. Staff were kind. Kitchen was amazing and overall experience was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jun 2016
8.0

Great hostel and helpful staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Jun 2016
8.6

Stand out amazing facilities - some of the best I have ever encountered in a hostel. The room was standard, fairly small and cramped. This is more of a family vibe hostel so if that is what you want this is great. If you are looking to party perhaps choose Gilligans or another similar hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.