Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cairns Central YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 176 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 176 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2017
9.7

Really enjoyed my time here! The staff at the front desk were awesome with helping me book activities and tours even within 12 hours before the event! I could rent a towel for $2 and bring it to the beaches and lagoon - super easy. The bathrooms (including showers) were always clean and well kept. My room was closer to the kitchen so I heard a bit of noise towards the end of the night, but not impossible to live with. Loved that we had a free pizza night and could mingle with new friends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
9.4

I payed for a private room with a friend and the only thing we didn't like was that wifi wasn't included in that. When we found out that it was only $10 for three nights so we thought we would do that and split it $5 each, but it turns out it was $10 per person which sucked and was kinda a money grab! Everything else about our stay was great!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2017
8.3

Good experience here, hostel is close to the action but far enough away you're not in the middle. Not a party hostel so you can get some sleep. Facilities were clean but as always the dryers didn't work, starting to get old since it happens at every YHA. Free pancakes in the morning were actually legit, unlike other places that run out in 15 minutes they'll serve you the entire time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th May 2017
8.3

As with other YHA's, great hostel with great facilities. Really clean and spacious rooms. Good location right next to the train station and shopping centre and only a 10min walk to the night markets and lagoon area. The free pancakes for breakfast were a great bonus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Mar 2017
9.4

I loved this hostel. Quite a lot of families and older people so it's not so much of a party hostel, which wasn't a big deal. Beds are SO comfy and the duvets are great to snuggle up in. Aircon is great. Pool is cute and the kitchen is big and clean with lots of crockery. Bathrooms are really nice with a hairdryer! Freezing cold water tap too which is amazing in the heat. Just a little walk into more of the centre but again, not a big deal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
25th Mar 2017
8.0

Good, large hostel, nice pool and a lot going on. Gets loud in the mornings, internet works only in the reception-area, the "free-breakfast" consists of two small pancakes - this is simply not enough and doesn't deserve the title breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
9.4

The staff here was so helpful and nice! They helped me with a lot of great recommendations and booking tours as cheap as possible. YHA is right next to a mall and grocery store which was convenient to cook. Walking distance to the beach and pier as well as Gilligan's for some fun nightlife. Pancakes were delicious and free. Maybe the time should be a little later that they are available until. I wish the atmosphere was a little better but I appreciated the quiet to get a good nights rest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
19th Jan 2017
8.0

Lovely hostel, good atmosphere. The pool is lovely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
8.3

Wifi only accessible in common areas. Pancake breakfast was delish! Guests were very quiet and friendly. Friendly staff! If it were cheaper, I would give it full marks...just a little pricey for what you get compared to other hostels in the same price range.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
7.4

Nice clean and quiet hostel, decent rooms and bathrooms and helpful staff. Atmosphere was quite unfriendly though, no real common areas to meet people and a lot of groups of friends that stuck to themselves which makes things difficult for solo travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.