Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cairns Central YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Mar 2017
9.4

I loved this hostel. Quite a lot of families and older people so it's not so much of a party hostel, which wasn't a big deal. Beds are SO comfy and the duvets are great to snuggle up in. Aircon is great. Pool is cute and the kitchen is big and clean with lots of crockery. Bathrooms are really nice with a hairdryer! Freezing cold water tap too which is amazing in the heat. Just a little walk into more of the centre but again, not a big deal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
25th Mar 2017
8.0

Good, large hostel, nice pool and a lot going on. Gets loud in the mornings, internet works only in the reception-area, the "free-breakfast" consists of two small pancakes - this is simply not enough and doesn't deserve the title breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
9.4

The staff here was so helpful and nice! They helped me with a lot of great recommendations and booking tours as cheap as possible. YHA is right next to a mall and grocery store which was convenient to cook. Walking distance to the beach and pier as well as Gilligan's for some fun nightlife. Pancakes were delicious and free. Maybe the time should be a little later that they are available until. I wish the atmosphere was a little better but I appreciated the quiet to get a good nights rest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Jan 2017
8.0

Lovely hostel, good atmosphere. The pool is lovely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
8.3

Wifi only accessible in common areas. Pancake breakfast was delish! Guests were very quiet and friendly. Friendly staff! If it were cheaper, I would give it full marks...just a little pricey for what you get compared to other hostels in the same price range.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
7.4

Nice clean and quiet hostel, decent rooms and bathrooms and helpful staff. Atmosphere was quite unfriendly though, no real common areas to meet people and a lot of groups of friends that stuck to themselves which makes things difficult for solo travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Dec 2016
9.7

Great place, outstanding staff Bed was a hard and pillows flat for us We had a private with ensuite. Everything else was outstanding

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Dec 2016
7.7

Nice and very helpful staff. Great kitchen facilities with cutlery for every single guest, free of charge. Free Wifi doesn't work at all. No atmosphere. Nice pool and BBQ to use free of charge. Clean rooms and bathrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Dec 2016
8.9

Nice hostel, great location, exceptionally friendly and helpful reception staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Nov 2016
8.6

This was my first real hostel experience and I was overall pleased. The property was nice and clean for what it is. The bathrooms were generally clean and had a good bit of privacy for showering and dressing. My main complaint is that there didn't seem to be much atmosphere and it was hard to meet new people. Seemed like a fair share of long term people and there wasn't a common gathering point, aside from the kitchen at dinner time which isn't helpful if you're not cooking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.