Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cairns Central YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 192 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 192 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Aug 2017
10.0

An excellent hostel, which cannot be faulted in any way: in particular it is clean and spacious with a friendly, diligent and most accommodating staff; and includes all facilities one might hope for in fine condition. While the hostel is centrally located, it is nevertheless peaceful and relaxing, with a large interior courtyard and garden; and of course it helps to be in Cairns in the clear breezy light of a dry tropical day. There is also a genuine dedication to recycling of waste here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Jul 2017
10.0

Cairns Central YHA had a lovely feel about it. There were evening activities on offer if you wanted to join in; everyone kept the kitchen and common areas tidy; it was clean and the staff were friendly and welcoming. I can't fault it. I also liked the bathroom set up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Jul 2017
8.6

Staff really friendly. Walking distance to the harbour/port for any Reef trips or fishing trips. Good night sleep. Nice to see the staff trying to interact with the people staying there. All in all, good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2017
10.0

Very friendly, clean, and accessible - would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2017
8.6

Pretty good hostel which covers all the bases in Cairns. Good location, not far from harbour/centre etc and just opposite from the main shopping mall. Poor wifi only in reception area but standard for Australia I suppose. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the kitchen is a decent size for the hostel. Nice modern bathrooms and pool area to chill around was good. Would stay again here :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2017
9.7

Really enjoyed my time here! The staff at the front desk were awesome with helping me book activities and tours even within 12 hours before the event! I could rent a towel for $2 and bring it to the beaches and lagoon - super easy. The bathrooms (including showers) were always clean and well kept. My room was closer to the kitchen so I heard a bit of noise towards the end of the night, but not impossible to live with. Loved that we had a free pizza night and could mingle with new friends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
9.4

I payed for a private room with a friend and the only thing we didn't like was that wifi wasn't included in that. When we found out that it was only $10 for three nights so we thought we would do that and split it $5 each, but it turns out it was $10 per person which sucked and was kinda a money grab! Everything else about our stay was great!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2017
8.3

Good experience here, hostel is close to the action but far enough away you're not in the middle. Not a party hostel so you can get some sleep. Facilities were clean but as always the dryers didn't work, starting to get old since it happens at every YHA. Free pancakes in the morning were actually legit, unlike other places that run out in 15 minutes they'll serve you the entire time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th May 2017
8.3

As with other YHA's, great hostel with great facilities. Really clean and spacious rooms. Good location right next to the train station and shopping centre and only a 10min walk to the night markets and lagoon area. The free pancakes for breakfast were a great bonus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Mar 2017
9.4

I loved this hostel. Quite a lot of families and older people so it's not so much of a party hostel, which wasn't a big deal. Beds are SO comfy and the duvets are great to snuggle up in. Aircon is great. Pool is cute and the kitchen is big and clean with lots of crockery. Bathrooms are really nice with a hairdryer! Freezing cold water tap too which is amazing in the heat. Just a little walk into more of the centre but again, not a big deal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.