Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cairns City Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 423 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 423 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2017
8.0

Basic but suitable for all my needs. Downfall was that the room had an open section above the door which meant we could hear everyone walking past and the kitchen etc so pretty noisy. Room was clean though and had its own shower (although it was cold). Not enough plug sockets. Only stayed one night so didn't check out the facilities or spend time with other guests but seemed nice enough for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Apr 2017
4.9

Stayed 1night.The hostel is quite dirty.When I arrived (afterhours) to my room I didnt know which bed I could take, all of them looked occupied.Called receptions afterhours phone and she was really helpful. The bed was supposed to be clean, but didnt looked used she gave me knew sheets, but made me think if they check the rooms and beds. Kitchen was dirty and saw a big cockroach walking around the table close to the cutlery :/ Toilets arent clean either.Not good ocation, a bit of a walk to town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
21st Mar 2017
8.0

This hostel is bit further around 20 min. The room has its own bathroom which is a bit weird as you have just curtain (other bathrooms on the corridor). The place, in general, kept clean. My only complain would be they don´t take rubbish out at all. When I entered room it has been full and no one took it out during next three days, when I finally asked a cleaning lady, there was no success either. Other than that it is worth what you pay for. The receptionist was nice and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Mar 2017
7.7

Good hostel but very out the way and they offer no free shuttle service, cockroach also came out of the draws that where in our room. Other than that it was fine we stayed for 5 nights and had our own room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Mar 2017
3.1

The room was ok if you can overlook ant infestations and every bug under the sun. Airconditioning was another 4 dollars a night and a load of hidden coast when checking in like international card fees etc... It's the one place you can have a shower and come out feeling more dirty than when you went in and in the evening cockroaches will infest the kitchen as there are no doors it's all open. Run before they take you many and please spend a little more money and get a good night sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2017
10.0

I stayed in this hostel a couple of days and they gave me a night free because I extended another week which was cool. The receptionist bookd a reef tour for me and gave me 10% off. It's a great little hostel - Nice clean room, not many people crammed in which was refreshing! Its like a little tropical place close to the main shopping center, with an outdoor area out the back with a pool. Finally a place where the internet is fast!! Not too loud but a nice crowd. I would recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Dec 2016
5.1

All felt very dirty, kitchen was dirty with a huge number of ants all over the surfaces, bedrooms also dirty and smelly, males toilet didn't lock. Pool too dirty to go in. Also very weird atmosphere, many regular people living there who didn't socialise at all. However the staff I met did all seem very nice and helpful and the location isn't too bad, not too far from the lagoon area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2016
8.9

Only stayed for 1 night before getting onto my great barrier live aboard. The woman at reception was very friendly and checked me in after hours and well. The rooms were clean and I could Amy hear any of the noise from the courtyard while I was sleeping. All in all seems like an excellent hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.