X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Caledonian Backpackers Reviews

3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh EH2 4PA, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
5850 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Poorly cleaned toilets and window in our room was stuck annd would not close.


69%

Very unique place to say the least. First time in a hostel. The beds were super uncomfortable and squeaked like crazy. My blanket was dalling apart . The bathroom was very clean but no toilet paper. The showers were glass doors so everyone can see you take a shower which was very weird for me. The hallway was very loud all night so no sleep all night. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Place was great for young drunks or stoners but not my cup of tea.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The accommodating and friendly staff plus the large rooms and great facilities /atmosphere is what I liked so much about this place. Excellent value compared to the more pricey hostels closer to the Royal Mile.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the positive feedback! we're delighted you enjoyed the facilities on offer and the feel good atmosphere created by staff and guests alike. We hope to see you again soon! Reception staff

86%

The staff was extremely nice and welcoming!

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice hostel, really central! Especially the new rooms on the top floor are notch! Some rooms can be a bit noisy, but staff gave us a free to a nice room. Great service!

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

room was not clean on arrival, the place looked like it was falling apart, no one checked the toilets when they ran out of tissues, kitchen area was not well maintained.

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Really big kitchen area was awesome, created a nice atmosphere. Free breakfast was simple but good, dorms were clean, and a great location! Only problem was there was no hot water at all in the entire hostel, so I couldn't shower! Lucky I was only in this hostel for one night. But overall it's a great place for good value, I would stay again definitely.


91%

The hostel was well maintained and all the staff was very friendly and helpful!


69%

A bit far from the train station. poor wifi.


66%

The communal kitchen is quite big and contains all utensils needed. The staff are quite responsive and responsible. Both the dorm room and toilet are very dirty. Not every bed can have a plug nearby.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


23%

terrible place!!!! Hostel VERY dirty,the staff is rude. the men's bathroom hadn't door in the shower, the female bathroom port is transparent.


91%

Nice place with a great staff. 36 bed dorm was surprisingly comfy with tables and armchairs. Bar seemed nice, unfortunately we didn't have time to attend the salsa night this time, looked like lots of fun! There were minor issues with toilets (didn't flush properly) and cleanliness but nothing worth concern.


86%

Great place, friendly staff and guests. Could do with sorting the bathrooms out. Only one working loo and one sink serving over 20... Great location! Remember to take padlock as none on front desk... overall a great weekend and I will return.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


31%

The door of room is broken. No lights at stairs. Kitchen is dirty. No clear sign so people get lost in hostel.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

This is a very basic hostel in a great location. The staff is friendly or silent. The place is clean but looks grungy and has broken toilets and spotty hot water. You'll get pretty much just cheap bread and jam for breakfast. It seems like locals on hard times are staying there, too. If you need a bed, the location is great and the price is decent. If you want a fun, safe hostel with a lot of youthful life to it, you might find a better hostel in Edinburgh.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're glad you liked the location! Since you visited us, we have installed 2 brand new boilers to make sure the water is consistantly hot, sorry this was not the case during your stay. Thank you for your comments, and I hope you will visit us again to see the improvements we have made and are continuing to make throughout the hostel. Regards Management

80%

Showers need hooks/rails Regular restocking of toilet paper

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to comment, I will pass on your views to our maintenance staff with regards to shower hooks, sorry this was a problem for you. We now have our cleaning staff re-stock bathrooms twice a day, so hopefully if you return this won't be an issue. Regards Management

80%

Nice hostel. great bar. the place is like a maze. But once you get lost once, it's pretty easy to figure out. Laundry room was a mess and none of the dryers worked while I was there. great location. about a 10min walk to the royal mile and Edinburgh castle. I would recommend for short stays.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We have recently cleared out the laundry room and have fixed the dryers, sorry it wasn't fully functioning while you were here. Hope you come back to see us again one day. Regards Management

91%

This hostel could be excellent! But there's only one small problem - very cold in every shower room, on every floor. The advantages - staff is welcoming, kitchen is great, breakfast ok, nice old building, location is best. Will return back here some day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Since you visited us we have installed 2 new boilers to ensure there is hot water throughout the whole building at all times, sorry this was not the case back in April. Thanks for your comments, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Management

89%

Really friendly staff, well-organised hostel. It's clean, there's a nice bar and everything you'd expect from a well-running hostel. Showers are great too! This was my second time at Caledonian Backpackers and another very good experience! Breakfast is simple, and there is space for your own stuff if you want to be different. It's warm, beds are clean and others who stayed there were relaxed and nice. Edinburgh is a beautiful city with lots of history and lots to see. Can't wait to go back!

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Fantastic location, beds are really comfy and the staff are very helpful but the showers were freezing and there was a lack of toilet paper and soap morning and night!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback