X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Caledonian Backpackers Reviews

3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh EH2 4PA, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
5141 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Bloody brilliant.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything a 4 star hotel could provide

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel with all the facilities you could need (free internet terminals, big kitchen including an oven, luggage storage, big lockers for every bed). Standard breakfast fare, a bit uninspired but good and filling and available until noon. Big enough rooms with an extra table and chairs, a reasonable number of power points and bunk beds you can just about sit up on on the bottom bunk. Can be a bit noisy from the road if you're at the front but otherwise perfect location.


100%

I would recommend for my friends for sure. It's really good place to stay.


74%

Great location, great staff, good facilities for cooking, comfy beds, simple but goof breakfast Did not like the showers. Very small and no privacy!


94%

The staff at Caledonian Backpackers are wonderful! They are so welcoming and friendly! The location & atmosphere is perfect!

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The lighting in the female bathroom on the first floor was dim, and there isn't enough space for people to put on clothes in each cubicle. It's simple too small. Heating facilities were not strong enough and I could not sleep well on the first night as the room was too cold and heater was not adjustable. Kitchen was a bit disappointing as there is so few shared resources that travellers normally need: oil, sugar, pepper, tea bags, etc. However despite of these, staff are friendly and helpful.


97%

Myself and three friends stayed here over the weekend and had a wonderful experience with the hostel. When issues arose with people staying in our dorm, the staff at reception (Yannick) was incredibly helpful and we cannot thank him enough. All staff at the hostel was very kind and helpful with directions. Provided free breakfast and had great common areas and activities. Loved the environment and the whole stay was well worth our money. Great location, great staff, great hostel.

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The atmosphere was incredible, and everyone very friendly. I had friends who were staying at another hostel, and each night they wanted to come hang out at the Caledonian Backpackers instead! The kitchen was spacious and well-kept, the bedding was nice, and the common area was artistically accommodating and cozy. It was a really fun place to stay, and I'd definitely stay here again if/when I travel back to Edinburgh.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I like it!

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice hostel with good breakfast (from 6am to 12pm!), super clean bathrooms, hot shower. If you want to use the locker in the room, you must have a thick padlock cause otherwise the locker can be opened.


89%

I thought the hostel was located a little too far from the Old Edinburgh, where all the guided tours departed. It took me around 20 minutes to do the back and fourth multiple times during the day. But hey, the city is so beautiful that it didn't matter that much. The kitchen was perfect: there was everything I needed to cook and multiples fridges so everyone can stack their food. The staff was great, I went out with them on the first night I stayed there. I had a great time!


91%

Had loads of fun thinking about living there long term


91%

It was a very nice stay, all the staff was very friendly and helpfull, despite my bad English level.

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel was incredibly nice and clean, rooms were a good size and beds were very comfortable. Staff was helpful and breakfasts were decent.

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Be prepared for the fire alarm going off at 3.30 in the morning. Happened 4 times now. I've only stayed there 6

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice and warm schouwer!


89%

It is a great hostel! The room is big, the beds are good, brekfeast was ok, tge beathroom was clean.

  • 12th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was my first time staying in a hostel and I had a very positive experience that has made me want to choose hostels for future travel. The beds were super comfortable and all the people, guest and staff were very nice and helpful.

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Group of 11 Irish students stayed in room E. Each of us shared the same opinion that it was a fantastic hostel and will most certainly be returning. Exceeded all our expectations. WiFi was of great strength, bean bag cinema had a huge range of films to chose from, the lads LOVED the pool tables, showers were perfect temperature and the towels supplied for 50p were good condition. Breakfast was ideal.! Staff were extremely nice and friendly and great atmosphere. Well done guys!

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(82 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback