X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Caledonian Backpackers Reviews

3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh EH2 4PA, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
5164 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Great hostel, with lots of character!


86%

Nice hostel , big kitchen , a place to chill and not to far from the castle


86%

The staff was quite friendly when we arrived. Good location and the bar which is open till late will give you the chance to have the last one and get the bed totally legless. We paid 25 pounds/night...a bit expensive for a sharing room with 40 beds from my point of view. Good place anyway!


100%

Colorful and cozy with very kind and helpful staff.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • FridaJohansson
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

First time staying in a hostel this place really set the bar high! I'm recommending Caledonian to any of my friends who travel to Edinburgh. Wish we had stayed more than just four nights. Amazing atmosphere. Way better than any hotel I've been to!

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Great atmosphere, not for the old. Constant party, and no down time!

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Bloody brilliant.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location and the staff are really friendly

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent hostel, well located. The rooms are very spacious and there are many toilets available near room. The people is very kind and friendly. Breakfast is good.


69%

Read that the atmosphere was great, it definitely was not when we were there. It was pretty dirty and a bit smelly but that's what you get with big hostels like this one. It was at least a 20 minute walk to old town edinburgh and we saw others that were much closer and didn't take so long to get home. Wifi was good. Movie room was AWESOME. But social side was pretty bad.


100%

Everything a 4 star hotel could provide

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel with all the facilities you could need (free internet terminals, big kitchen including an oven, luggage storage, big lockers for every bed). Standard breakfast fare, a bit uninspired but good and filling and available until noon. Big enough rooms with an extra table and chairs, a reasonable number of power points and bunk beds you can just about sit up on on the bottom bunk. Can be a bit noisy from the road if you're at the front but otherwise perfect location.


91%

Good location, easy to use and to meet people


100%

I would recommend for my friends for sure. It's really good place to stay.


74%

Great location, great staff, good facilities for cooking, comfy beds, simple but goof breakfast Did not like the showers. Very small and no privacy!


94%

The staff at Caledonian Backpackers are wonderful! They are so welcoming and friendly! The location & atmosphere is perfect!

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The lighting in the female bathroom on the first floor was dim, and there isn't enough space for people to put on clothes in each cubicle. It's simple too small. Heating facilities were not strong enough and I could not sleep well on the first night as the room was too cold and heater was not adjustable. Kitchen was a bit disappointing as there is so few shared resources that travellers normally need: oil, sugar, pepper, tea bags, etc. However despite of these, staff are friendly and helpful.


97%

Myself and three friends stayed here over the weekend and had a wonderful experience with the hostel. When issues arose with people staying in our dorm, the staff at reception (Yannick) was incredibly helpful and we cannot thank him enough. All staff at the hostel was very kind and helpful with directions. Provided free breakfast and had great common areas and activities. Loved the environment and the whole stay was well worth our money. Great location, great staff, great hostel.

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The atmosphere was incredible, and everyone very friendly. I had friends who were staying at another hostel, and each night they wanted to come hang out at the Caledonian Backpackers instead! The kitchen was spacious and well-kept, the bedding was nice, and the common area was artistically accommodating and cozy. It was a really fun place to stay, and I'd definitely stay here again if/when I travel back to Edinburgh.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I like it!

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(86 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback