X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Caledonian Backpackers Reviews

3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh EH2 4PA, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
5953 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Staff was friendly and helpful, and other guests were great. One sink, stove, etc for 200 plus guests? You're joking. You get in line to wash your dishes after breakfast. Cold showers in the morning and a few broken ones too. Cheapest place to stay in the city though.


71%

The whole place smelt funny. definitely needs some fresh paint and a clean in some places, maybe repairs and improvements to shower areas. beds were clean so guess thats good. staff were helpful with directions. lockers are big enough for packs


57%

If you don't mind paying £15 a night to share a room with 37 other people, sleep on a broken bed, shower in cold water and I front of anyone that goes to the bathroom, be abused by the owner, breathe in paint fumes while you sleep or be kicked out of the common room because there's a hens do then this is the place for you. The staff are lovely though and it's in a great location. This hostel has a lot of pitentional but it's moving in the wrong direction. Weird place.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

The facility was rather lack-lustre. The rooms were a mess with trash on the floors, the bathroom looked as if they hadn't been cleaned in months, and the entire building smelled of mildew. However, if you are looking for a place to pass out after a night of drinking it may suite you as all your senses will be dulled to the environment around you. The staff was slightly helpful if they weren't to busy conversing with each other.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This place was comfortable and relaxed. The staff were lovely and the vide was great.


71%

I stayed during the Fringe Festival so the location was not ideal at all. About a 15 minute walk into old town. Lockers require a certain kind of lock, which I found very frustrating that I couldn't use my own lock and had to buy theirs. Sneaky way to get some extra $$. Facilities were great, good kitchen and common area, clean beds/toilets, included breakfast which is always a bonus for backpackers.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Good hostel :) great location. The hostel is very big and the only thing that is kind of bad that there was 1 working shower, on the other hand i didnt wait for it a singel time. very recomanded


40%

The hostel was very unclean. We were given no clean sheets and the rooms were in poor condition. The facilities were seriously lacking. There was one working toilet between 5 rooms of 12 girls in each room and only 3 showers. These showers provided no privacy and didn't look like they'd been cleaned in a long time.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Central-its easy to reach everything. Sadly Thats the only thing I can recommend, next to the included breakfast. the only effortable -still expensive-room for a Student during fringe was an 38 bed dorm - at the First Sight Not that bad. But the Hostel made Many mistakes in organizing the bedumbers, so there were so many Double bookings, that two of us had to sleep in one Tiny bed. the showers were cold at the First day and most of the staff was very Unmotivated. I wouldnt Go there again!

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

By far the worst place I've stayed at. The key to get into the rooms didn't work, so they moved me into another room which looked like the door had been busted. Anyone could just walk in and out of it. I told staff and they didn't do anything about it. Toilets/bathrooms were nasty. Wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to anyone.


49%

This is the right place for you if you fancy a hostel with a fire/security door busted, so that anyone can enter from the street, or if you think that Room G--a dorm of 32 beds-- is your ideal accommodation (the female-only 6-bed dorms are better, but you'll have to rent a locket because the management hasn't installed safes with passwords), and you like plunging your plates/bowls in dirty (and cold) water where various chunks of food float (the hot-water tap was broken, and not repaired).


46%

We paid £360 for a double room. We really were appalled and disappointed at the state of the room we were given for the money we paid. We were in room ‘A’, which stunk of cigarette smoke constantly - especially in the early morning when we woke up. There was a foot-wide sized hole in our window that had been covered up with white tape, so that it was freezing in the room at night. The showers were freezing cold even when we woke up at 7:30am to shower and the toilet was blocked a few times.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It's a very nice and colorful place, I loved the kitchen and the common room. Something could be done about the washrooms and toilets, where the basins are a scarce commodity and the shower water was lukewarm at best, but there was quite a lot of maintenance going on so I think they are fixings things. All in all a very good place to stay in a central part of town, close to the bus stops and perfect for the Fringe.


86%

Extremely friendly and welcoming staff on arrival.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very cool hostel and huge! It has so many floors and rooms. There's a bar open at night and group stuff like salsa dancing.


97%

Only issue was rolls of toilet paper going missing after they had been replaced. Other than that, it was a good stay.


49%

Good location right next to the castle in Edinburgh, BUT Upon arrival, the way we were dealt with in making our payments was less than average. We retreated to our rooms. The mattresses were a bit flimsy, stained and the carpets were putrid. Cold water in the showers when nozzle turned to hot. Cleaners only use water and a mop and make one swipe across the floor. The following morning we asked a question about our payments and were treated accusingly and irrationally. Didn't make sense.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

The hostel was huge, but despite this there was only one mens and one womens bathroom per floor with 2 toilets and 2 showers. The beds were not very stable, and my friend's ladder even broke as he was climbing into the bed. The rooms were really dusty and just seemed dirty. Because it was huge it wasn't very easy to get to know other travelers. Also, they basically have an open front door, so anyone can come in. For the cost of this hostel in was absolutely not worth it. I won't be going back.


89%

Really nice hostel and brilliantly located for the airport bus and central Edinburgh. Beds are nicely spaced apart so rooms feel comfortable. I stayed in the 38 bed dorm and it was much more comfortable and relaxed than I expected. Advice: get to the showers early if you want a warm one! 8/8:30 fine, after 9:30 - prepare for a shock!


89%

Caledonian Backpackers is a really great hostel to stay in if you're looking for something that's affordable and central. We stayed 2 nights and found the place had a great vibe and everyone was super friendly. The only downside was that the lockers in the rooms didn't actually lock. Aside from that, it was great!

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(80 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback