Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Calle 11 Hostel Santa Marta Reviews

Calle 11 #4-120, Rodadero, Santa Marta, Santa Marta, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained


139 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


The hostel building itself is an attraction! Strong Mafia feeling place to chill with friendly staff. It's a little out of Santa Marta but getting in and out is easy enough and you probably won't spend long in town anyway. The kitchen felt a bit small when there was more than one person in it but was generally fine.


Loved my stay at Calle 11. The villa is amazing and they do a really good job keeping it clean. The couple who run it are very helpful and knowledgable. It's a bit more expensive than in other places in Colombia and doesn't include breakfast, but the prices are higher in Santa Marta and surroundins in general. Great place to stay, a few minutes walk from the local beach, supermarket, ATM etc and located between Santa Marta and the airport. Highly recommend!


Loved that place! It's super clean and has a relaxed atmosphere... Supermarkets ar right around the corner, 7min. walk to the beach. It's not in Santa Marta but you can take the local bus (buses leave all the time during the day).


lovely hostel. Clean quiet and in a very safe area.


Great location


Nice place to spend one night an then head to Parque Tayrona or somewhere else. The hostel atmosphere is really quiet so it is only good to relax, not to party or make friends. The location is really good, close to the supermarket, atm, the beach. But it is not in Santa Marta center. If you are going to stay here, choose the 8 bed dorm.. the 10 is not worth it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the positive review. We wanted to point out two things in relation with your comment ; we agree we are not a "party hostel" and we like to keep it quiet after midnight. But we were suprise you felt it was hard to make friends here since this had been the thing guests appreciate the most : us being a smaller hostel all our guests get to meet and we personaly speak to all of them. We are also surprised you did not like the dorm of 10 since it is our best seller... Safe trip !


Great place, great staff, good facilities and spacious dorm for 10 on the roof. Kitchen facilities are good with a supermarket around the corner. Nice pool and hangout....stayed 3 days and hardly went out!


Really cool place to chill for a few days, loved it! Gracias :)


awesome staff and incredible place. Not in main Santa Marta but still close to good beaches and restaurants


Fantastic hostel, great relaxed atmosphere with lovely pool and nice staff. Also it was spotlessly clean. One of the best and cheapest i've stayed at


It was a wonderful place to be. I stayed here for about a week, at the end of my trip and it was just great. Nice atomsphere, pool, very friendly owners! Definitely one of the best hostals i've stayed in South America.


The place to be!


Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was great, though traveling with a friend two twins would have been preferable. Short walk to the beach and all the tourist shops. Stayed one night before heading to Parque Tayrona.


My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay at Calle 11 Hostel. We enjoyed it so much, we decided to stay 2 extra nights! We accidentally booked 2 single rooms, rather than 1 double room for 2 people. Anouk and Oliver were fantastic hosts and were happy to accommodate us into a room we preferred. The rooms were all very clean. The bedding was changed daily and the whole room was cleaned! The hostel is in a great location, only a 10 minute (or less) walk from the beach. Would definitely recommend

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


I stayed here on three separate occasions whilst travelling around the area. Great hostel at a great price. First night I stayed in the 10 bed dorm, which I don't recommend but the 8 bed dorm is fantastic and the bathroom was huge. Very clean dorms and bathroom. Only downside is the aircon is only between 8pm-8am. Love the privacy curtains around each bed and each bed has a power outlet. kitchen is nice and clean bit could do with more stock, I had to eat granola with a fork...


It's cheap but you get what you pay for! Beds only ok, dirty bathrooms, never any toilet paper, no towels, badly equipped dirty kitchen and staff are not very friendly. No atmosphere at this hostel, in fact it is almost an uncomfortable atmosphere! Nice pool!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello We are sorry that you weren´t happy here. We clean our bathrooms twice a day and kitchen 3 times. You only needed to say they were dirty for us to clean again. You were rather rude to us from arrival and this may explain the negativity towards you. We are in the proses of updating our kitchen utensils for a better experience. Safe travels


The AC starts at 8 pm and stops at 8am so it is a bit annoying in the morning when you want to oversleep ! The room with the personal fan is the best !

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The hostel was great. It's a short walk from the main strip in Rodadero, it's affordable, the pool is awesome, and the staff is nice. The rooms have AC, showers, etc. The bar is ok--not many people used it. The wifi doesn't work that well--if there are a few people connected it slows down and sometimes doesn't work. That's not a big deal, but if you need to book other travel while there it could be an issue. All in all though great place! I'll definitely go back.


Great hostel set in a former mansion - this place has large dorms, a bar and a nice pool. There were a lot of hammocks to relax in, and the dorm beds conveniently had privacy curtains, a power outlet and fan (for the rooms without air conditioning). The location is convenient, only a short stroll to the beach in Rodadero, and a cheap 10-15 min bus ride away from the centre of Santa Marta. Taganga is only 10-15 mins further away. The staff were also very helpful.


Really nice hostel and great value for money! Not a party hostel so great if you want a quiet couple of nights. still east ro meet other travellers. Beds with curtains, power sockets and reading lights are great. In a mansion with a pool and nice furniture. Great kitchen too. Don't go for the area, rodadero is nothing special but worth it for a nice hostel to relax for a day or two.

« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)

View all Santa Marta Hostels

Please give us your feedback