Hostelworld.com
Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 259 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 10.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 10.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 10.0
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 259 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 10.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 10.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 10.0
Calluna Located at Heathercroft, , Fort William.
Calluna
Scotland
Fort William Inverness-shire PH33 6JX Heathercroft
94% 259
56.8120060 -5.1140613
Calluna
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Sep 2015
8.9

A great value place to stay in Fort William - the facilities were in good order and clean too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you Igor. Hope you climbed Ben Nevis okay. Best regards, Alan & Sue

21st Sep 2015
9.4

Great place! Very clean! Nice owners! Very helpful! The one thing is that you probably need a car in the highlands, I rented one and it allowed me to make the most of my time. See Islay, Skye, and some good hikes. The spaces are too wide open up there to see much my public transport (not that I tried, but that's my assumption)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks Gabriel, Anyone arriving by public transport can rent a vehicle locally at Easydrive. It's certainly true that if you have limited time, a car does help. Best regards, Alan & Sue

  • sonikadade2340
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Aug 2015
9.4

Sue and Alan were very friendly and helpful. Sue picked us up from the train station which was great. Alan's a very experienced mountaineering guide and that was great for us in terms of information and expert advice. The room was comfortable and the general cleanliness of the house was good. We were lucky as almost had the place to ourselves. The only thing is the location - I mean don't get me wrong it's surroundings are beautiful but it is a good hour's walk from the Ben Nevis Visitor Centre

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Aug 2015
10.0

Calluna was wonderful - incredible views of the mountains across the Loch, Sue picked us up from the train station so we didn't have to carry our packs up the hill, and the facilities are excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the rest of your travels are all good. Best regards, Alan & Sue

  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Jul 2015
8.6

The dorm is in a different house, which we have all for ourselves. This means the two of us shared the kitchen and toilets with two other people only. Not bad! Sue and Allan are super nice!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks Happy hostelling. Alan & Sue

6th Jul 2015
10.0

don't let people complain about the location. if you are walking or cycling, it will feel like they put the thing at the top of Ben Nevis! but it's amazing once you get up there, and it's a very quiet nice neighborhood. clearly, it caters to climbers and skiers...they have all sorts of facilities for climbers including a bouldering wall. I kinda want to come back in winter just to stay here and see what kinda crowd shows up in the ski season

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks. Winters can be fun if the weather is good for ski and ice climb. We cannot guarantee good weather though:) Alan & Sue

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2015
10.0

This is an awesomeawesome place to stay in, really made me feel at home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks, When travelling it always makes me happy to feel at home, even if you are thousands of miles away. Best wishes, Alan & Sue

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2015
9.4

I would recommend Calluna to anyone visiting Fort William. The staff is friendly and a great resource to consult when figuring out where to hike and what supplies to bring. The facilities are well maintained and quite roomy. My section of the hostel had a big kitchen, boasting a fully working stove and refrigerator and considerable countertop space. The crowning achievement of the hostel is its gorgeous view of the lake. The sunsets you can see from the living room are spectacular.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you. Always good to hear a good review. It makes it all worthwhile from our end. Alan & Sue

  • secondrowchick4061
  • England, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jun 2015
9.1

Lovely stay, thanks :) perfect self catering facilities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks Good to know you were happy. Perfect is a word we like and strive for! Alan & Sue (Owners)

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2015
9.4

A great welcome - and I arrived at Fort William at 10.00pm by train. The owners were very helpful with confirming late arrival was simply not a problem, and providing a much needed cup of tea to compensate for the steep but perfectly doable ride up from the station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you Keep turning those wheels. Alan & Sue

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.