X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Calluna Reviews

Heathercroft, Fort William, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
221 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Nice accomodation and very helpful and friendly staff. Recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Andrea, Your review is appreciated:) Alan & Sue

77%

Good environment and nice host, nearly 15 mins to walk to the center of Fort Williams

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Zhihao, One thing we cannot change is our lofty location above Fort William. Good views reward the fifteen minute uphill walk. We do pick folk up from the transport station if we are around, just phone!

69%

The shared shower had a hard time reaching a reasonable temperature (either way too hot or cold) with low water pressure, and the bathroom in general needs repairs (visible mold and water damage).

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Joy, We will look at the shower this morning, although you were the only person to mention it. We prefer guests to ask us to improve faults at the time, rather than a week later in a review. The bathrooms are due an upgrade in October/November and will be much improved. Alan & Sue Kimber

71%

A little more atention to the guests would be good. The front door was open all night. There was no reception.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Reception has a very big sign over the door with a red arrow pointing to the bell for assistance. The front door can be closed and ALL guests are given a key to open it, What more would you suggest? Thanks, Alan & Sue

83%

Owners will pick you up from the train station, were really helpful and accommodating. Super comfy beds and homely atmosphere!


91%

Welcoming, comfortable and good location.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • d23ward
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Dominic. Alan & Sue

97%

Great place! I really recommend this for anyone staying in Fort William.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Tino for your positive review. It's good to get more positive, than negative feedback in general. We prefer feedback in all its forms, for keeping us on track. We'd rather guests made comment on what they do not like as well, as it shows us where improvements can be made. Regards, Alan & Sue

91%

very nice, very cozy

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Kolja. Alan & Sue (owners)

94%

It's a well kept and clean hostel. The owner is friendly and helpful. We didn't take advantage of the trip options, but they seemed to have some cool options like biking and climbing. It's a little annoying to get to despite being in Fort William, but it's a nice place and definitely good value for the price.


100%

Very nice place and good furniture :)

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Mariusz, Always good to get top marks:)

83%

Room facilites are ok, I would sugest outlets in the upper beds, nevertheless there are some close. Only one bathroom for 3 rooms, but for me wasn't a problem, as I stayed for 1 nigth. Breathtaking view of the lake and a cozy living room. I would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for that review. Our bed ratio to shower is to the standard required by VisitScotland. We will look into the idea of power sockets on the higher beds. We will soon be putting in lockers as our security ratings do suffer, even though guests have keys to their rooms and the front door. It's amazing how many guests still leave the front door wide open, rather than locking it, along with their bedroom doors.

97%

Alan was very kind and accommodating, and we really appreciated the great kitchen, washing facilities, and the television!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, We appreciate your review. Alan & Sue (Owner)

86%

Everything you could want and need, great host.


86%

I thought the place was brilliant but the German girl staying for a few days said the bed linen was only changed twice a week. If I'd known I would have brought my own. That was my only concern as everything was was great!

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks, Bottom sheet and pillow case cover are changed after each guest leaves. Duvet covers are changed weekly, unless obviously sweaty or smelly. As we travel a lot and use hostels world wide, Sue and I come across all sorts of situations with bedding. We always carry our own cotton sheet liners, in case we find a spot that we are concerned about. You should try alpine huts, where they change the duvet covers once a season. Some alpine duvets even have the head end and foot end marked!

80%

There were 5 of us staying so 3 'twin rooms were required', in the end we were given a 4-bed dormitory and two twin rooms (one of which we obviously didn't need). Your booking system could be adapted to reflect this. However, a really fantastic hostel with welcoming and warm staff. The views are stunning and definitely worth the walk after our dinner in town. Would definitely visit again but maybe book over the phone for clarity of room requirements.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

A pleasant hostel which makes an excellent base for walking holidays. The only negative is there is only one shower shared between 3 rooms. I would definitely go again.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Normal hostal, god for the price and clse to the centre. The personal was very friendly and kind!

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel is 10 minutes walk from the centre. The road is steep, but then you're are rewarded with amazing breath-taking view. The place it's cozy and has everything you need for holidays. Good value for money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review Francesco and to know that you were rewarded with good views for your uphill efforts! We will be adding secure lockers shortly to try and get better reviews for security.

83%

You get an email after booking with a map, so it's really easy to find the hostel. Beds are very comfortable:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Mareike. We get a few bad marks for being difficult to find and do try and send out a confirmation of the booking with a map. Our postcode PH336JX is correct and if guests have map apps on their phones it should not be too difficult locating us. Our map is the best way to find us though, if guests can print it out. A paper map does not need a battery to run it, but the person using it should be able to read a map!!! :))) We also do a pick up for free from town. Alan & Sue (owners)

46%

rooms and facilities aren't nice. no one at the reception even during normal working hours

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Francesco, We were away and left a note on the back door showing guests to their beds. We sent an email to Francesco, which obviously did not arrive. In the morning Francesco left a note saying they might try and get back to pay, but if not, take the payment from their card details, which we did. The other 24 guests staying were aware we were away and an emergency number was posted on the back door as normal. All the other guests were happy. Thanks for the good mark for cleanliness :)

« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Fort William Hostels

Please give us your feedback