X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Calluna Reviews

Heathercroft, Fort William, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
251 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Calluna was wonderful - incredible views of the mountains across the Loch, Sue picked us up from the train station so we didn't have to carry our packs up the hill, and the facilities are excellent.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The dorm is in a different house, which we have all for ourselves. This means the two of us shared the kitchen and toilets with two other people only. Not bad! Sue and Allan are super nice!! :)


100%

don't let people complain about the location. if you are walking or cycling, it will feel like they put the thing at the top of Ben Nevis! but it's amazing once you get up there, and it's a very quiet nice neighborhood. clearly, it caters to climbers and skiers...they have all sorts of facilities for climbers including a bouldering wall. I kinda want to come back in winter just to stay here and see what kinda crowd shows up in the ski season


100%

This is an awesomeawesome place to stay in, really made me feel at home.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks, When travelling it always makes me happy to feel at home, even if you are thousands of miles away. Best wishes, Alan & Sue

94%

I would recommend Calluna to anyone visiting Fort William. The staff is friendly and a great resource to consult when figuring out where to hike and what supplies to bring. The facilities are well maintained and quite roomy. My section of the hostel had a big kitchen, boasting a fully working stove and refrigerator and considerable countertop space. The crowning achievement of the hostel is its gorgeous view of the lake. The sunsets you can see from the living room are spectacular.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely stay, thanks :) perfect self catering facilities

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Good to know you were happy. Perfect is a word we like and strive for! Alan & Sue (Owners)

94%

A great welcome - and I arrived at Fort William at 10.00pm by train. The owners were very helpful with confirming late arrival was simply not a problem, and providing a much needed cup of tea to compensate for the steep but perfectly doable ride up from the station.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Keep turning those wheels. Alan & Sue

91%

Very courteous owners... Relaxed hostel with, warm and comfortable. Very good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Hector for your kind review. Alan & Sue (Owners)

80%

It's a great place to stay, very homely. The owners are very kind and devouted. I wholeheartedly recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Alan & Sue

89%

Very good equipped kitchen, beautiful look over Fort William and the Loch. There's plenty of car park space and very fast wifi available.

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Alan & Sue (owners)

83%

Nice bunk bed room, clean and comfy. full kitchen nice and easy to prepare meals and packed lunches. close to town with a good walk uphill back to the hostel. plenty of parking. good shower

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you. Your positive comments are very helpful. Kind regards, Alan & Sue

71%

Fine for our needs. Very basic but clean and warm. Great location for climbing Ben Nevis which was a 5 minute drive away. Only complaint was that our bedroom door didn't lock.

Owner Comment (Hide)
All bedrooms doors do lock and normally we show all guests on arrival how to use the 'snib', push button on the door to make the room secure. If anything is not working it's simple to ask us to show guests. We live next door.

54%

To share a fully equipped kitchen and living room with about ten people in total is great. Less great are the small cheap feeling rooms and shared bathrooms were toilets do not flush.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, You were booked into a twin room and the apartment only had six other guests, so your comment is incorrect, as the apartment had only eight people maximum. The toilets and shower room were newly fitted in November last year and no other guests have said anything bad about them. We do not accept your poor review as truthful. Regards, Alan & Sue

77%

nice hostel in a cozy house. however, if the house is full, one shower may not be enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Depending on where you stay with us, one shower is for either eight or six or four people. All of this is within the guideline of the national tourist agency. On the night you stayed, I believe a maximum of six were in residence. Thanks for your decent review Yang. Alan and Sue

89%

The facilities are in very good conditions with all that you could need, just to make you feel like home. They have all Kind of turístico information very well keep it and organized. Place enough for parking and a reasonable distante from city center and other amenities. I would go back again next time in Fort William for sure.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Rosana, We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes, Alan and Sue.

91%

The hostel is located in a really nice and peaceful house. There is a large lounge with good views that makes it easy to meet other people. It would probably be useful to have another toilet/shower but we didn't actually have a problem since it wasn't busy when we visited. They provided us with topographical maps of the area and expert advice on hiking routes which was super helpful. There is also a drying room for clothes which was a godsend after a full day hiking in the rain.


91%

Calluna (which we discovered is the Genus name of the heather plant^^) is a very cozy house atop a hill, but the walk does not take more than 20 minutes, and is not hard. The house has plenty of information on hikes and climbs, and the atmosphere is very peaceful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks, Your kind words are well received. Best wishes Alan & Sue



View all Fort William Hostels

Please give us your feedback