Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 719 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 719 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th Feb 2017
8.3

Staff and atmosphere at hostel definitely make it! We had a great time there. Relatively conveniently located, just a 15-20 min walk from town, staff are super friendly and helpful, and there's a pool, bar, and kitchen available. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
8.0

Calypso Inn is in a great, convenient location. Pickup from the airport was more difficult than expected. Hostel is very communal and quite the party location, if that is your thing. Bathrooms are a bit dirty but room was clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
6.9

Nice, but could have been better. The hostel is located a 10 min drive outside the town center which was a hassle. The hostel offered free rides to town and the reef and alerted you by yelling "bus to town/Reef" into common areas. The only problem was they would leave 30 seconds after notifying people the bus was there... My friend and I were sitting at a nearby table and didn't have time to get up and walk to the bus before it started to leave. We were later patronized for taking too long!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jan 2017
9.7

Really enjoyed my stay - clean bathrooms and bedrooms, comfortable beds, great communal area for drinks and hanging out - and there are cheap drink deals daily! Area around the pool is small though but there is a free bus that runs frequently that takes you into town so if you want to swim/sunbathe, you can hop off at the lagoon. Friendly and helpful staff, family/home feel. Would recommended to travellers who want to be by themselves or meet lots of people :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • DanielJopp
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jan 2017
9.1

Customer service second to none. Polite, helpful and friendly. Don't be put off by the location. It's about a 25 minute walk to town but there's regular free buses to town. Would definitely stay again if I needed to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jan 2017
7.4

The Location isn't ideal as it a good 30 min walk to town/lagoon etc, however they do offer free shuttle to town at selected times of day to compensate. I stayed in a private single room and have no complaints about room, it comes with aircon and the room was spacious. I did feel the atmosphere was quite cliquey at times but was overall satisfied and would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
9.7

Good atmosphere, not right in the heart of Cairns but that didn't matter because of the free regular shuttle bus to take us in. Fantastic airport shuttle too. Staff were really helpful with organizing tours. Two of the three showers closest to our room were out of order but there were others close by.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jan 2017
9.4

Had a fantastic stay at Calypso! Staff were very helpful upon my slightly late arrival. Hostel had a great chilled atmosphere, but there are always some up for a party so you can make it what you want! There is something on every night but nothing runs too late so you can get to sleep if you need to. Dorm rooms were clean, bathrooms also pretty clean although some better ventilation would help.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
8.9

We stayed at Calypso for seven nights! The staff were really friendly and helpful! The hostel is only a walk away from town or there is a free bus that you can hop on. The hostel is clean and there are cooking facilities available. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
9.7

Great hostel, nice vibe Toilets are outside the room tho and can't get wifi in the room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.