Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 711 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 711 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort Located at 5 Digger St., , Cairns.
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Australia
Cairns Queensland QLD 5 Digger St.
85% 711
-16.9125885 145.7659256
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jan 2017
7.4

The Location isn't ideal as it a good 30 min walk to town/lagoon etc, however they do offer free shuttle to town at selected times of day to compensate. I stayed in a private single room and have no complaints about room, it comes with aircon and the room was spacious. I did feel the atmosphere was quite cliquey at times but was overall satisfied and would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
9.4

Had a fantastic stay at Calypso! Staff were very helpful upon my slightly late arrival. Hostel had a great chilled atmosphere, but there are always some up for a party so you can make it what you want! There is something on every night but nothing runs too late so you can get to sleep if you need to. Dorm rooms were clean, bathrooms also pretty clean although some better ventilation would help.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
8.9

We stayed at Calypso for seven nights! The staff were really friendly and helpful! The hostel is only a walk away from town or there is a free bus that you can hop on. The hostel is clean and there are cooking facilities available. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
9.7

Great hostel, nice vibe Toilets are outside the room tho and can't get wifi in the room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Dec 2016
7.1

It is a really cute, small Hostel but 20min walk from the city. There are shuttles, but not so many. So when you don't like to walk home after going out, is it maybe not the right decision. Overall it was clean, kind staff, free airport shuttle and free wifi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alexisborja6108
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
7.1

Great hosts! The front desk is very knowledgeable about certain tours and activities you can take. Although there was a free shuttle from the hostel to city center, I wish they were closer to the city. Just because it became inconvenient to have to wait for the van that only does trips every hour. We had a cockroach as a roommate. We later moved to a diff room and had a new cockroach roommate. I had the heebee jiebies the whole time we were there. Although I think this was a common in Cairns

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Nov 2016
9.1

Loved this hostel! Staff were so nice and there's an hourly free bus to town and back. Its a very lively hostel so don't stay there is you want piece and quiete, but don't let that put you off because everyone is lovely and you should just park your bum at the bar and chat to the staff. (Like I did and was so welcomed) only thing I didn't like was locals could come in and use the hostel bar when all our showers and rooms are there for them to wonder about in if they wanted. would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2016
8.9

Originally booked 4 nights at Calypso, ended up staying for 8. Calypso was great. Have nothing negative to say about the place, we are even thinking of coming back and staying here again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Nov 2016
8.9

Booked 4 nights stayed 9 or 10. Great hostel and I would 100% recommend!! About a 20 min walk to town but there are hourly free shuttles. WiFi great, communal area and pool were nice, and the activities every evening (with prizes to be won) made it a really sociable and fun hostel. The air con and valuables lockers were great too. Only thing is the hostel has a bar so no byo- drinks are pretty cheap but it gets a little pricey. Still a fantastic hostel and I would stay again in a heartbeat!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
8.0

Great place to stay in Cairns! Staff is really friendly and extremely helpful with booking tours. Two kitchen areas to store food and cook, two bathroom areas, and a nice hangout spot by the pool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.