Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 690 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 690 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort Located at 5 Digger St., , Cairns.
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Australia
Cairns Queensland QLD 5 Digger St.
85% 690
-16.9125885 145.7659256
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Nov 2016
9.1

Loved this hostel! Staff were so nice and there's an hourly free bus to town and back. Its a very lively hostel so don't stay there is you want piece and quiete, but don't let that put you off because everyone is lovely and you should just park your bum at the bar and chat to the staff. (Like I did and was so welcomed) only thing I didn't like was locals could come in and use the hostel bar when all our showers and rooms are there for them to wonder about in if they wanted. would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2016
8.9

Originally booked 4 nights at Calypso, ended up staying for 8. Calypso was great. Have nothing negative to say about the place, we are even thinking of coming back and staying here again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
8.0

Great place to stay in Cairns! Staff is really friendly and extremely helpful with booking tours. Two kitchen areas to store food and cook, two bathroom areas, and a nice hangout spot by the pool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kathander
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Nov 2016
10.0

Great people, great staff, good atmosphere - loved it. Wished I could have stayed longer. Location is a good 15-20 min walk from CBD, but it's 5 min from the beachfront walking track which takes you all the way into town. Would defo recommend this hostel. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2016
8.6

Music playlist needs updating- all from the early 00's! Otherwise a great hostel with lots of good facilities - nice pool, nice little bar (although it is called 'bar and grill'... There is no grill, they don't serve food?) two decent kitchens, bit out of town but good free pickup from airport & shuttle into town. Lockers under beds. Friendly staff, great travel desk with v knowledgable reps. Spacious dorm room with aircon. Clean bathrooms. Kitchen not very organised.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ryfrisket5744
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Oct 2016
8.9

Friendly helpful staff. A good walk to center of town but regular van provided for dropoff and pickup. Free activities every night with prizes. Love having the lockers for security especially when some roommates leave the door unlocked to dorm. Good free wifi in common area with low cost for wifi in your dorm. Showers and toilets cleaned every day. Not a big deal with the few ants in the kitchen areas. Great place to stay even though I was old enough to be most of the patrons grandfather (63).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Oct 2016
8.6

Staff was really really awesome, knowledgable and friendly. Facilities were alright, not horrible but nothing to write home about. It's a bit too far into town, but a cool place to hang out none the less I would stay here again and would recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Sep 2016
9.4

We had an awesome time at Calypso. The staff were great and so fun, they really made it even better. Our room was really nice (double private) and the shower was clean and we were never fighting to get in there. There's a really great vibe, not overly party but lots of socialising, drinking (there's a great bar / lounge area) but you can't BYO. We liked the walk down the esplanade to the centre but it's about 20 - 25 mins. I'd highly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Sep 2016
9.1

All the staff were so lovely (and very Welsh!) would definitely recommend staying here, they were really helpful with booking tours and in general one of my favourite hostels I've stayed at!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Sep 2016
7.7

It's quite a distance from town so wouldn't stay again, but staff and people great and they do run a minibus which is very useful. Bit dirty and smelly too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.