Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 739 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 739 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Apr 2017
7.7

Nice place whether you're a short term or long term guest. Staff are really nice & intuitive - we (3 girls) were originally put into a bedroom of boys who I think must have been living there for a while, as it really stank, but staff realised without us even saying anything & moved us to a new room where new guests were coming in. Location isn't central but the regular free shuttle makes up for that. Nice outdoor communal area with sofas & a pool. Would recommend & also stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
9.1

Calypso is a great place to stay if you want a laid back atmosphere. I came here alone, and found it was hard to make friends as a lot of the people here were either couples or groups of friends. BUT, the hostel offers lots of night games and activities to watch and join in on that may help you meet some people. Beds were nice, hostel is pretty clean, staff are the best, and it has a great hangout area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Mar 2017
8.6

Good hostel, aircon is ok, could be better but makes the rooms cool enough. Nice staff and atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
10.0

One of the best hostel experiences I have had! Sam and Joe were awesome! Everything we needed, they were right there to help. You can rent an underwater camera for the day when you go snorkeling and diving which was awesome. Also- having the free shuttle to pick you up at the airport and take you into town is a great bonus! Fun atmosphere, everyone who works there feels like a friend and are willing to help you with anything. Definitely recommend and would come back in a heart beat!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
6.9

overall a good base. There is a free shuttle to and from the town. I booked a private room did the job for me. The only issue is no locker to lock my personal stuff so good job I had a padlock This hostel used to be lively years ago, it was quite went I visited thankfully mid feb overall I would definetly stay here again good base, good vibe and well laid out hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th Feb 2017
8.3

Staff and atmosphere at hostel definitely make it! We had a great time there. Relatively conveniently located, just a 15-20 min walk from town, staff are super friendly and helpful, and there's a pool, bar, and kitchen available. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
8.0

Calypso Inn is in a great, convenient location. Pickup from the airport was more difficult than expected. Hostel is very communal and quite the party location, if that is your thing. Bathrooms are a bit dirty but room was clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
6.9

Nice, but could have been better. The hostel is located a 10 min drive outside the town center which was a hassle. The hostel offered free rides to town and the reef and alerted you by yelling "bus to town/Reef" into common areas. The only problem was they would leave 30 seconds after notifying people the bus was there... My friend and I were sitting at a nearby table and didn't have time to get up and walk to the bus before it started to leave. We were later patronized for taking too long!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Feb 2017
7.4

Nice hostel, just very hot due to no air con

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jan 2017
9.7

Really enjoyed my stay - clean bathrooms and bedrooms, comfortable beds, great communal area for drinks and hanging out - and there are cheap drink deals daily! Area around the pool is small though but there is a free bus that runs frequently that takes you into town so if you want to swim/sunbathe, you can hop off at the lagoon. Friendly and helpful staff, family/home feel. Would recommended to travellers who want to be by themselves or meet lots of people :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.