Hostelworld.com

Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 600 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 600 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort Located at 5 Digger St., , Cairns.
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Australia
Cairns Queensland QLD 5 Digger St.
83% 600
-16.9125885 145.7659256
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing experience staff were great the free bus service was spot on we will return in the future

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
5.4

Not very clean, in poor state of repair. Frat party atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Apr 2016
7.7

I really enjoyed staying at calypso! The atmosphere was nice and chill, they had something fun going on every night and prizes. Little far from the city but there is a bus to town every hour. Nice pool, friendly staff. A few things were stolen from my room on my bed along with my room key but we should have kept our door locked.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • farmer-andy
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Apr 2016
7.4

Staff were fantastic - always up for a chat and they would cater you whatever your needs may be. The location was a good 15/20 minute walk to the main part of the city/esplanade/marinas but the hostel does complimentary hourly bus runs to and from the city and hostel. Could have been cleaner but overall not too bad. Plenty to do in the evenings within the hostel. Rooms were nice and cold which in 35c is ideal! Security lockers under beds were great to have to. Overal pleasant stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
9.4

Definitely would recommend! Friendly, helpful staff to help you plan your days. The Aussie BBQ on Sundays with the reptiles is a plus. Little far from city center, but the free shuttle every hour is more than enough. Fun environment!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
8.0

Good for the price that you pay. It's quite far from the Central CBD, but I liked that they offered an hourly shuttle to/from the hostel and the CBD. It can get a bit loud at night, but I was able to sleep fine. It's nice that they offer night activities every night although I did not have the time to partake in any as I was off doing my own thing during my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Mar 2016
9.1

Extremely helpful and awesome staff. Plenty of events on at the hostel for you to meet people, free wifi in the communal area. Kitchens can be pretty messy and guests tend not wash the essential pots and pans. But that's just down to the guests not the hostel! Staff very affirmative about things to do and give you honest opinions on what to chose, exactly what you need if you haven't planned much or aren't too sure what to do! 10000% recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
10.0

Very good and clean. A bit noisy early hours 3.00 am ...hey but arn,t holidays about fun ,,, so let the young do it... other than that best back packers ive stayed in for years... Mike Great atmosphere Staff friendly,polite and informative as i felt welcomed. Especially Dom who took his time explaining and directing us about the hostel environment. A well managed hostel with awesome entertainment. We enjoyed our stay thankyou...Michelle

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
8.9

Very friendly staff, rooms were fairly clean, a little out of the city but there was a free shuttle service often, cool free activities, open concept lounging area. Overall a very good experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
6.9

Hostel environment best suits young travelers ages 18-22. Very much a party and hookup scene. A little far from the main strip but it's an easy 15-20 minute walk. Staff was very friendly and easily accessible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.