Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 659 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 659 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort Located at 5 Digger St., , Cairns.
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Australia
Cairns Queensland QLD 5 Digger St.
82% 659
-16.9125885 145.7659256
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Sep 2016
10.0

Great hostel if you're looking to have a good time in Cairns. The shuttle is great and the staff is really helpful! Nice place to stay if you're coming to Cairns.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
8.9

spent a week here. all good and there are lots of things to do, as they have different things on each night. Recommend it, staff very helpfull and friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Sep 2016
7.1

Nice hostel, and the staff were very friendly and helpful- especially the travel desk! A little bit to a walk from town (20-25mins), but they had a free shuttle bus to town which pretty much ran every hour which was really good. Could maybe have been a little cleaner, but the trivia night was fun. Not the easiest place to make friends compared to other hostels but it's a nice place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Sep 2016
9.7

LOVED our stay here! Very happy and laid back attitude from all staff and other people staying at the hostel. Loved that the shared areas were open air and the rooms and bathrooms were all very clean. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
4th Sep 2016
9.4

Such a great hostel! Staff are so friendly, only a 15 mins walk in to town but they do a free shuttle and a shuttle to the airport. Such a clean hostel and great atmosphere!! Second time staying hear would recommend it to anyone! Love this hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
8.6

I enjoyed my stay at Calypso. I was in a 4 person dorm upstairs. I liked that there was an extra shower on the upper level and that you can control the AC in your room. free and fast lifts to and from the airport, as well as a van into town every hour. The walk to town is an easy one too. Booked some great tours through the front desk. I would definately stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Aug 2016
8.0

Great friendly staff and very helpful. Hostel had a very relaxed feeling to it. Within walking distance to shopping Centre and restaurants. Hostel also had a shuttle bus to take guests to and from town, also the free transfers from the airport were great too! Hostel also offered plenty of entertainment at night for everyone to be involved in. Great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2016
8.0

Stayed there 2 different nights. First time got a Double room and it was very good and bathrooms were very clean (i guess it was in a separate area), also it wasn't noisy. Second time we stayed there we got a twin room.. but it was right beside a smoking area, so people smoking outside frquently and speaking loudly. Plus the bar downstairs was very loud and we could hear everything. also in this second room upstairs the bar, there was no hot water(pm or am). But overarall a clean place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
4.0

private room smelled and looked terrible. needs a lot of love.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
9.1

Calypso has solid vibes. Everyone is nice and mingling, most nights with drinks running around the table. There is even a smoking section for those of us who enjoy nicotine. The dorms are your standard hostel dorms, but clean and safe to store things in. The staff were always around and making effort to book me in to whatever I wanted, and even if the location isn't the best of the best, they have both an airport bus and a town bus running all the time. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.