Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 636 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 636 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort Located at 5 Digger St., , Cairns.
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Australia
Cairns Queensland QLD 5 Digger St.
83% 636
-16.9125885 145.7659256
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.7

Super chill place. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable, they have some activities for every night of the week. I got a private 1 bedroom, so I can't say anything about the dorms but my room was nice. I'll definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.0

We really enjoyed our stay, but did have one minor complaint regarding noise....We stayed 3 nights and each night until about 5am or later life, there were people shouting, or music playing loud. No problem up until 2am even ....that's okay. ..but after that it became a bit too much for us. Other than that, we had a great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
9.7

Nice place, pretty clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. I'd go back there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
8.0

My stay here was marred by sleepless nights due to the bar downstairs and loud roommates. The hostel is nice, but too much of a party vibe for me. The hot water to the showers was out for 2/3 nights at Calypso. The kitchen was nice enough, though could be cleaner. The refrigerators in the kitchen were all full, making it hard to find a place to put my food. The smoking area is very close to the other common spaces, allowing smoke to be smelled everywhere. The staff was very friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
8.6

Really great atmosphere! It gets a bit loud at the bar at night, but nothing unbearable at least on week nights. Bar environment is very relaxed and welcoming. The staff were really friendly and accommodating! Communal bathrooms were clean, but warm water ran out and hairdryer was not always available. The dorms are a really good size--small enough (6) that it gives solo travelers a nice chance to meet friends! This would be a great place to start your travels in Cairns :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
8.9

Calipso, is the best backpackers I've stayed at and I've been travelling Australia for 5months. Plenty of things to do and such a amazing atmosphere. They have loads of daytime activities to offer and every evening they have something different on. The pool is great just when you get there don't ring the bell, trust me. It's not the cleanest but I haven't actually been to a clean hostel so that's not saying much. Will definitely be coming back to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jul 2016
10.0

Cant say a bad word about this place - kind and helpful staff, great location (plus free shuttles to the city) and awesome bar deals. Would definitely stay again !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
8.3

A cute little hostel with really welcoming and friendly staff. I really liked the laid-back vibe of this place. There was a cool outdoor couch area where you could just chill out near the bar and it was nice being at a hostel that wasn't too massive. Only downsides were the bunch bed didn't have a barrier for the top bunch and the bathrooms were a bit pokey. Otherwise would recommend this place :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th May 2016
9.1

One of my favourite hostels on the East Coast! A good mix of chilled out and sociable vibe, lovely staff to help book your tours and you get free acc and bar vouchers for booking with them! I stayed for 8 nights and it started to feel like home. The pool is lovely to swim in too, unlike many of the other hostels I have been too and the kitchen facilities were perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2016
9.7

Great place to stay at in Cairns. Warm welcome and cool pool. À bit far from the lagoon and the center but free shuttles totally make up for it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.