Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 762 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 762 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2017
8.0

Staff are all friendly and help you out. Great bar/common area make's it easy to meet people. Loads of activities and entertainment which makes a great atmosphere. reckommend it to first time travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • jimbwebb7207
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
9.1

The staff are lovely and welcoming. Once you stay here you'll find it very hard to leave. I'll stop here anytime I end up in Cairns!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th May 2017
9.7

Lovely hostel, really nice atmosphere and the staff are super friendly! It's a little bit out of town but only a 20 min walk and they offer a free shuttle so it's not a problem!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
9.4

The people who worked here were SO friendly, all of them! I was accidentally charged too much for breakfast and got it free the next day because the receptionist was so nice! The swimming pool is real nice and everything is very clean. There's enough space and it's a relaxed atmosphere, very professional and smooth organization. It's a bit far from town centre but there's a free bus so it doesn't matter. Amazing stay, thanks so much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • fe5
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2017
10.0

it's very friendly,i love it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sturkstra
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th May 2017
9.1

Amazing hostel! Definitely stay here! The staff were all so awesome and the communal area is outdoor and spacious, and there is always something going on (great for solo travellers). A bit far from town but there is a free shuttle almost every hour to the night markets so it's super easy to get too. The one down side is that you can't bring your own alcohol because they have a liquor license with a bar - but super fun times playing pool!! I would totally come again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2017
8.3

Really good hostel with a fantastic atmosphere. We were upgraded twice during our stay so ended up in a twin share with a/c when we only paid for a 6 bed fan. Kitchen needs improvement. There are two kitchens in total but both are way to small for the amount of people living there and were and absolute mess. Free breakfast would be nice but it was only a couple of dollars if you didn't want to make something yourself. The staff were happy to keep our luggage overnight also. Would return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
10.0

Amazing!!! The staff is extremely kind and helpful. They have special nights every night, Sunday with Live Show Reptile is something worth to see, you get to interact with the animals and learn, and it's free. The facilities are perfect creating the best environment for chill and friendly days and nights. Strongly recommended!!!! Can't wait to go back to Cairns and Calypso! Thanks for everything Fafo Tom and Nando

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
10.0

Really nice place the staff are amazing and the guests are really friendly. Really enjoyed my stay and definitely would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Apr 2017
7.7

Nice place whether you're a short term or long term guest. Staff are really nice & intuitive - we (3 girls) were originally put into a bedroom of boys who I think must have been living there for a while, as it really stank, but staff realised without us even saying anything & moved us to a new room where new guests were coming in. Location isn't central but the regular free shuttle makes up for that. Nice outdoor communal area with sofas & a pool. Would recommend & also stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.