X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cambie Hostel - Seymour Reviews

515 Seymour St. V6B 3H6, Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
924 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Too many local people living there taking away the excitement of meeting travelers

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff at the reception were all very friendly and helped in any way that they could. I think they are the best thing about the hostel. Otherwise, the room was a little warm, and there didn't seem to be any way to turn down the heater.

  • 27th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Staff were very helpful and friendly but hostel itself was pretty run down and had an unpleasant aroma of weed in the corridors and bathroom. Showers were not very private and bath mat soaking wet which was unpleasant. Arrived in the evening and some odd characters harassed me a bit on the street outside. Also my room above the pub so very loud until quite late. Overall it was cheap and a bed to sleep in so met basic needs. Free muffin was a slightly redeeming feature

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The driving beat from the pub 2 floors below was an unpleasant feature, and cleaning the bathrooms for 30 minutes and hour before checkout seems to be bad timing, but all good for the price. Questionable stains on the linens not for the faint of heart.

  • 26th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I met nice people in my room.

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I had a wonderful time during my 5-day stay.


63%

Bedding was filthy. Don't think it was washed prior to our staying there.

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff at both locations were wonderful

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

This was the 2nd time I stayed here. In seperate beds the mattress was so bad that I could feel all the springs. It is right above a bar which has music music so loud that it vibrates the floor. If you need to have an early night or not much of a night goer then this isn't the right place.

  • 14th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Pretty run-down and not the cleanest hostel I've been to, but the location was good, staff were helpful and I had a two bed dorm to myself. Not the best, but definitely not the worst place I stayed in. Good value for money


71%

The location was just rightright and it was great to get a coffee and a muffin for breakfast. In terms of value for money this is just the right place. The atmosphere was a little weird though and the bathroom lacked of privacy at all. If you are fine with that it is a okay place to stay.


60%

Excellent location. Reasonable. Bar and diner is at ground floor!! At the night I stayed, club ivent was going on at the bar. But the guy at the front in the morning was yelling at a group of people telling them breakfast starts 8 am on weekends. I was there for breakfast cuz a flint lady told me breakfast is ready at 7am. Hopefully he was unhappy just for the day.

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

No breakfast. Only cold muffins with black coffee. Deposit for even towels and keys Toilets and bathrooms are even small for pets. Room atmosphere very dull and negative. Might seems harsh but you get much better service and facilities with HI and Samesun on Granville.

  • 19th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

We booked a two bed private room. It was ca. 2,5m x 3m, really small. There were a loft bed, one garden chair and a small table in it. There was no closet and the loft bed was very shaky. The room was between the laundry and the ladies' restroom. The laundry, the shower of the ladie's restroom, the ventilation system on the roof in front of the window and the music of the MALONES Bar & Grill in the first floor was very loud and stopped very late ca. 1'o clock at night. No place for stay or sleep


60%

Dark kitchen with no lights, only two dirty stainless steel pots, all pans were covered with teflon non-stick coating(poisonous to humans! bad invention.) Cold shower, loud hand-blowing devices... on top of a loud bar. Yeah, not impressed, actually.


86%

It was clean, and cozy. Loved the location. Perfect place to catch some sleep before adventuring the next day. Will be visiting Vancouver again in the near future!

  • 15th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Ok, but that's as far as I'd go!


46%

If you need a cheap, no-frills, room for a night then this is the place. Nothing special, a bed and a roof over your head with a muffin and coffee in the morning!

  • 14th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Its really an ok place to stay for that kind of money. Its like the most central hostel in vancouver and the stuff is really friendly. The only bad thing are the "green corners" in each room which is probably also the reason for the weird smell in the hostel


71%

Nothing special - average hostel situation.

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Vancouver Hostels

Please give us your feedback