Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cambie Hostel - Seymour

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1120 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1120 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2017
6.9

Stayed in a 2-Bed Private Room. No AC in the unit. Not much privacy in the washrooms. Very old building.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2017
6.0

It's a fine hostel but it would have been appreciated if we were told the bar downstairs holds an extremely loud party with blaring speakers every Saturday night. It was impossible trying to sleep through the music because the bass was reverberating through our room. I was really upset I didn't get to sleep until the thing ended at 2:30am. I was hoping for a place to rest but instead got extremely frustrated.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
7.1

No longer offers free breakfast. Instead, you must go to Gastown location to pick up a $5 food voucher (can't be used on sides or drinks.) Not a good location to meet many other backpackers, but I only stayed during the weekday. Doors don't auto-lock but staff downstairs at desk 24/7. Shower a bit tricky to use. Always hits cold water first and shower space is hard to maneuver. There's a fire door that may be confusing but you can go thru it. Top bunks not against wall, no rails, very wiggly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
5.4

Location is great, thats the best I can say about this hostel. Some of the staff were friendly some were not. The big problem are the rooms. The sheets have stains and I had mold in the room. Walls are thin so you hear everytime someone is walking around. The heat was so intense that my roommate and I had trouble falling asleep (at least 5°C warmer than outside). Very thick air and no AC. Community room was empty all the times. If you can afford anything better, go elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iran, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
9.1

One of the staff that checked us in (I think her name was Katie) was very nice and welcoming.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jun 2017
7.4

Had everything you need, and is in an ideal location. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. However, there was no social atmosphere, so I wouldn't recommend it for solo travellers looking to meet people. It also gets a lot of noise from the bar below on Friday and Saturday night, so if you need a solid night's sleep in the weekend, it might not be the best choice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2017
8.3

Sehr gutes Hostel! Jedoch mussten wir für das Frühstück jeden Tag zahlen obwohl es im Preis mit drin sein sollte! Sehr schlecht.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2017
10.0

Had an absolutely amazing stay at the cambie , everyone was lovely , the showers did have hot water , had breakfast at the other Cambie in Gastown which was amazing also. I would highly recommend this hostel to family and friends. Perfect location to everything , especially people moving over with a working holiday visa and wanting to get SIN number sorted etc. Bar downstairs from hostel has fantastic food , atmosphere. Slept like a baby every night ( considering we were facing a main road)irish

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
4.3

the 2-person dorm I was in only had one electrical socket located inconveniently behind the bunks. there were several un-sanded and unpainted plastered areas on the walls. it looked more like and old abandoned storage closet. the beds were not changed for new guests arriving until well after 2pm (I'm actually not sure when or if ever the new guys' bedding was changed.... I know it had NOT been when he arrived around 6pm....) There were mice in the kitchen... Not very hot water.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2017
9.4

It was absolutely perfect for my trip. I needed a bed, and got one right over a bar (a plus for me). It was quiet and very clean. The ONLY complaint was the flooring has been worn in some spots causing a splinter risk. After the first experience with this I fixed the issue with some $1 flip flops from down the street. Loved the staff, Loved the location, and came home with new shower shoes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.