X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cambie Hostel - Seymour Reviews

515 Seymour St. V6B 3H6, Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
776 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Bed bugs, need I say more? However, the staff was really friendly and the location is really excellent. But I still got the feeling that rooms aren't cleaned as well as they could be since the first night I was there I experiences this invasion from those little nasty buggers. They must have been there earlier since that many cannot pop up from nowhere..

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place! Awesome location and the staff recommended great restaurants and bars to go to! Will definitely be back!

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Small medium lockers for valuables in room Cover muffins...exposed to 'everything' all morning ....better if they were served by staff ...one person picked through 3 diff muffins before choosing one....(staff below In bag storage area) overall a very satisfying hostel with friendly helpful staff Blessings

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

The shower had benn broken for a whirl but still not fix it. The room is hot but no fan provided which can't stand. Also the bar's noise at ground floor is extremely loud which will not ended until 2:00am in the morning, it disturbs our sleep.


83%

Pretty much what you would expect for the price. Really friendly staff. The security might be questionable as the door was left unattended quite a few times. One of the showers was "out of order" the whole time and that was inconvenient but all in all it was a great location and fun staff.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

good location and friendly staff

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Everything was great, second floor so the noise didn't annoy me. The muffins were tasty and it last until lunch so I could save some money. The only thing I hated was the smell of the room, the same smell of my brother room on late sunday after a saturday party... so I could get through it but every time I returned to the room BOOM the smell!.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

They have a very bad bed bug infestation that they know about but are not properly addressing because that would entail closing and dealing with the issue. In addition it was the dirtiest and least convenient room I've ever stayed in, hostel wise. The window seals are terribly dirty, the windows were rickety and with no screen. Plus did I mention bed bugs ??? They give you 2 dollars and tell you to put your stuff in the dryer to kill them. Thus THEY KNEW.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Recommended just for good price and location. If you are looking for a beutiful and comfortable place to stay this is not for you. Good for over-one-night stay on your trip but not for longer. Free tea or coffee and a muffin for breakfest :-)

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

A little noisy, but all-in-all, a great value and very secure. Cleaner than most hostels.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

its was hot the days i stayed. there was a thermostat in the room the temp in the room was 35 degrees. they need to get fans or something was drenched in sweat all night.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The female shower was not practical at all.Tiny cabin with no changing space and no intimacy.


71%

Pros: cheap and in good location. Cons: rooms are like an oven, 1 male shower for a whole floor of people with not much bathroom privacy and no atmosphere.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

The Hostel was nice in a convenient location. But it was really dirty, the bathroom was not cleand at all. The room was smelling bad, apparently there were some bedbugs. During the evening I also saw a mouse going throw the room.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

great location and great accommodation for those looking for short or long term stay.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Hostel was in a great location. Our room was ok but the pub down stairs was very noisy. The coffee and muffins in the morning was good

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Pro: Awesome staff / Cheap price / Only share room with 1 person / Social-able people Con: Things break but they are never fixed - one male shower for an entire floor / no safety on the side of the top bunks - easy to fall off / only one washing machine & dryer that you can only use at night / loud loud music thurs to sun (bring earplugs)


74%

At night there should be a partylimit or better a music limit what starts at 1.00 o`clock at night. It´s not possible to find any sleep when the music is so loud like on Thursday.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

While the location is good, and the staff are helpful, the rooms are extremely spartan to say the least, if you are claustrophobic, this is not the place for you. The rooms can get hot and stuffy in summer months and the rooms are not ventilated.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lebanon
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

It was too hot in my room. There was no air condoning and I could not sleep at night.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Vancouver Hostels

Please give us your feedback