Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cambie Hostel - Seymour

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1086 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1086 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Apr 2017
8.0

I shared a twin private room with my friend. Room was very small, comfy bunk beds. The hostel is in a great location, but I did not see any common room to hang out in. No good parking options. The bar downstairs is good, and the other Cambie hostel with a larger bar is very close by and a lot of fun. Pretty good value for the location, and the receptionist was very nice!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
7.7

Location and staff are great. Hard to sleep at night when the bar down stairs goes til 2am and the noise and vibrations keep you awake. No lockers in my room which was very annoying, and only 1 of the 2 showers had mildly warm water.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
8.0

Great place right downtown, super nice staff. A small investment in touching up the facilities -- just some paint and plaster and improved lighting and such -- would make a huge difference in terms of atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
7.4

Pretty good experience overall. Washrooms were very clean, bed and blanket was very comfortable, pillow was small and paper thin though. My friend and I shared a twin private. We got some hassle from the very grumpy man working the night shift when we came back at about 2am the first night. He seemed to think I was bringing back a hookup even though I had booked the room for two people and he could see that my second person had not checked in yet. Almost didn't let us in so it was a bit scary.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
7.7

The other reviews are right about the bar downstairs being loud until the early morning but don't let that stop you from staying here. Great location to popular downtown areas. Small rooms which means less roommates!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2017
9.7

The place was perfect, which is why a bunch of people from the archaeology conference in town took over the entire hostel for the conference. It located right by the conference centre. The only thing was the lack of plugs/lights. This is an old building, so we only had 1 plug (2 outlets) in a room with 2 bed.... but my roommate found a power strip and we figured a way so she could get at her phone and tablet while in the top bunk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Mar 2017
6.6

There was a creepy old dude living in the dorm I was staying at. He made everyone very uncomfortable... not a very social atmosphere would not recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Mar 2017
9.1

Only here for one night so didn't really get to see / use everything the hostel had to offer. Good location - walking distance from everywhere I needed to go. Bathroom was clean and the 2 bed female room was nice, except no locker for valuables. I was on the second floor and could still hear all the noise from the bar downstairs at night, so if possible ask for a room on the top floor. Staff were always happy to help. Overall it was great for a quick overnight stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2017
8.6

Great located hostel in the heart of the city Luggage storage in the basement a bit hard to reach with big luggage No common room if you wanna hang out at the hostel, but as you're in the heart of the city not to big of a problem

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Pooleo91
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
7.4

Generally clean, though definitely not the fanciest you'll ever experience. Location is great, central with short walm from waterfront station. Pub down stairs is usually busy, great selection of beers and goes off Fri/Sat. Though this means your room will rattle until 3 am. Staff are available, though a welcoming vibe was often lacking. Common areas consist of a kitchen and small dining area. No lounge or chill out areas. 1 washer and 2 dryers for 30+ dorm rooms? Pretty sad. Not bad overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.