X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Cambie Hostel - Seymour Reviews

515 Seymour St. V6B 3H6, Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
766 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

They have a very bad bed bug infestation that they know about but are not properly addressing because that would entail closing and dealing with the issue. In addition it was the dirtiest and least convenient room I've ever stayed in, hostel wise. The window seals are terribly dirty, the windows were rickety and with no screen. Plus did I mention bed bugs ??? They give you 2 dollars and tell you to put your stuff in the dryer to kill them. Thus THEY KNEW.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Recommended just for good price and location. If you are looking for a beutiful and comfortable place to stay this is not for you. Good for over-one-night stay on your trip but not for longer. Free tea or coffee and a muffin for breakfest :-)

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

its was hot the days i stayed. there was a thermostat in the room the temp in the room was 35 degrees. they need to get fans or something was drenched in sweat all night.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The female shower was not practical at all.Tiny cabin with no changing space and no intimacy.


71%

Pros: cheap and in good location. Cons: rooms are like an oven, 1 male shower for a whole floor of people with not much bathroom privacy and no atmosphere.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

The Hostel was nice in a convenient location. But it was really dirty, the bathroom was not cleand at all. The room was smelling bad, apparently there were some bedbugs. During the evening I also saw a mouse going throw the room.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

great location and great accommodation for those looking for short or long term stay.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Hostel was in a great location. Our room was ok but the pub down stairs was very noisy. The coffee and muffins in the morning was good

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Pro: Awesome staff / Cheap price / Only share room with 1 person / Social-able people Con: Things break but they are never fixed - one male shower for an entire floor / no safety on the side of the top bunks - easy to fall off / only one washing machine & dryer that you can only use at night / loud loud music thurs to sun (bring earplugs)


74%

At night there should be a partylimit or better a music limit what starts at 1.00 o`clock at night. It´s not possible to find any sleep when the music is so loud like on Thursday.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

While the location is good, and the staff are helpful, the rooms are extremely spartan to say the least, if you are claustrophobic, this is not the place for you. The rooms can get hot and stuffy in summer months and the rooms are not ventilated.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lebanon
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

It was too hot in my room. There was no air condoning and I could not sleep at night.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Perfect location! It was right in the heart of the city. The hot breakfast they offered was nice, but they should provide it at the Seymour location too.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Good quality / price

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

It is better to have sth. in the room on the bed, where you can put things. My matress was worn out. I felt the plumes. Also is a locker in the room not given. You have to wait for a person from the hostel to do sth. in a locker for staff, but there are also a few of locker. Otherwise everything was good.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Front desk staff were exceptionally nice and charming, full of recommendations. The linens were clean and the bed was very comfortable. Malone's Bar is a kick-ass place to party with other travelers on a weekend!


57%

Cambie hostel is well located and the atmosphere is good, the personnel of the hostel is always ready to help. Nevertheless the facilities are not good, it's pretty dirty and the toilets are just ... well not good at all. On top of that we had bedbugs problems when we stayed there so i wouldn't recommend going there i suppose !


63%

Party inside hostel and outside on street several days a week - noisy until late no shelf or cupboard - annoying when staying longer than just a day or two people have to put their stuff on the floor; as it is timber floor you can hear every bit of luggage moves next door or in lower level

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

We stayed on the recommendation of friends who had a good experience. Ours was not. The girl at check-in was friendly but curt; the same could be said for all the staff. Our major complaint was noise. Our friends hadn't noticed on the 2nd floor, but on the 1st floor

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Free breakfast muffin and coffee/tea is appreciable.


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Vancouver Hostels

Please give us your feedback