Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cambie Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.9
Rating 101 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.3
BOOK NOW
5.9
Rating 101 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Sep 2017
6.3

Cambie is cambie. Cheap. Pretty much always located on top of a pub. So really loud at night. Maze like . Okay stay . but will avoid in the future

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2017
10.0

Really felt like home. Loved everything about it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Aug 2017
5.1

The bar below is so loud. You won't be able to sleep. Had death metal playing

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
9.1

Nice hostel, but: DO NOT BOOK ONLINE. I went ahead and paid Hostel World's fee in british pounds... (why not accept the CAD)? When I showed up I was told my booking wasn't in the system, and the websites don't work. So don't waste your money booking a room online, maybe try calling them or something.. Luckily, we still got into a nice room. Once again, hostel was nice, just don't book it online.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
7.1

The Cambie is basic, but has big beds and spacious rooms. A bar below the hostel has pros and cons, its a pretty decent bar and has a a nice beer garden, but when the live music is on it's very noisy. Staff were fine, Lewis the night warden is great. Nanaimo is a nice town, cute cafes, nice shores, nice parks etc. The Cambie is not in a such great part of town- lots of homeless, but its very convenient to get everywhere else. Do go to the Thai restaurant across the road though, it's awesome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
4.0

One of my worst experience ever. Room was really warm, no ventilation, no windows! Even in the washroom, no ventilation, no windows even no toilet paper... Unfortunately, it was a Friday night, concert night... so tough to sleep even with earplugs. So I wish they'll do their homework and offer a better place to stay.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Scotland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
5.1

$40 for a private room above a bar,we knew not to expect much and that it would be noisy. What we really didn't expect was to find a naked 'lady' in our room, the staff seemed genuinely surprised but it took over 2 hours to get her out and have the room cleaned after which we still weren't comfortable knowing what had been in there. We did get some free drinks while we waited which was a plus! Our deposit wasn't honored and it was impossible to get key deposit back as we were on the 8.30am ferry

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
2.0

Booked a hostel room, travelled all night to get there, upon arrival met with a ripped sign on the wall saying "hostel closed, under renovations" and a horribly rude door man. He informed us that the hostel had been closed for months and only accepted international travellers- which was NOT stated ANYWHERE on the hostel world website or the Cambie website. Never again will I step foot in any of the Cambie establishments- what a joke.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
3.1

Hostel was *closed* on the day I had booked for.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×