Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cambridge Lodge Budget Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kimasher6016
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
28th Apr 2017
10.0

We only stayed one night, but the place is clean, has all the facilities you need and a nice big back verandah on which to socialise & just hang out. Like most hostels, it has stairs (it's only 2-storeys) but the showers & toilets are on a mezzanine level, so there are 6 or 7 stairs between bedrooms and bathrooms. (Just mentioning this in case anyone has mobility problems)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2017
6.9

This is a very good hostel to stay if your on your way out of Sydney and have to catch a flight, besides that it's pretty far from town. There was no wifi when I was there not shitty wifi, literally nothing witch sucked for booking and uber to the airport. The place was clean minus the bugs everywhere but what can you say it's Australia

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
6.6

Though there were a few younger people, there seemed to be a lot of older men. Lack of lockers/locked storage in the rooms was frustrating, but there were lockers in the common space. Easy airport access, extremely helpful staff. Very suburban location and the place itself didn't have much charm, but nice facilities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
7.4

Cambridge Lodge got the job done. My private room was pretty small, but it had its own sink and fridge (shared bathrooms). Wifi was spotty, which would be my biggest complaint.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
6.9

Good place to stay however internet is very hit and miss.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
5.7

Pros: Location was good as I was visitng friends in Newtown and the hostel is in walking distance with a train station only a short walk away. Cons: I stayed in a 4-bed dorm with some guys who apparently stayed there for longer, leaving there stuff all around the room - made me feel like an intruder. The doors have an electronic chip so only people with a chip can open it. But people were leaving it open all day (with a shoe in the door). The bathrooms were dirty. Airbnb next time...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
4.9

The hostel manager was completely rude and innapropriate as soon as we got there. I would very much appreciate someone contacting me in regards to this. This is more of an issue with the staff of the hostel but I also want to query a booking issue as well. My email is elizabeth.orr93@gmail.com

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.7

Love this place! Everyone at the hostel makes it a great place to stay, the staff are really nice and it has a good vibe. Near to the train station and a few minutes walk from the shop. There are long term guests but they are very friendly, overall everything is clean and I will keep coming back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
6.9

Staff were perfectly friendly and all facilities were basic but functional and clean. At the time I stayed however, the atmosphere was tense and testosterone filled at best, being mostly filled with mid 20s English 'lads'. Whilst the location was a bit far out of town for the typical tourist, there are good rail links into the city, without which you might find yourself a little stranded.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
13th Feb 2017
6.6

Stayed one night after landing at Sydney Airport. Was expecting a bit more for our money but the room was very basic, TV in our room but not to sure why. Staff and kitchen was good but not much else. Few shops and close to the train station. If you need a place to stay one night to get over your jet lag then you'll be ok.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.