Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cambridge Lodge Budget Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 317 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 317 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
6.9

Good place to stay however internet is very hit and miss.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
5.7

Pros: Location was good as I was visitng friends in Newtown and the hostel is in walking distance with a train station only a short walk away. Cons: I stayed in a 4-bed dorm with some guys who apparently stayed there for longer, leaving there stuff all around the room - made me feel like an intruder. The doors have an electronic chip so only people with a chip can open it. But people were leaving it open all day (with a shoe in the door). The bathrooms were dirty. Airbnb next time...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
4.9

The hostel manager was completely rude and innapropriate as soon as we got there. I would very much appreciate someone contacting me in regards to this. This is more of an issue with the staff of the hostel but I also want to query a booking issue as well. My email is elizabeth.orr93@gmail.com

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.7

Love this place! Everyone at the hostel makes it a great place to stay, the staff are really nice and it has a good vibe. Near to the train station and a few minutes walk from the shop. There are long term guests but they are very friendly, overall everything is clean and I will keep coming back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
6.9

Staff were perfectly friendly and all facilities were basic but functional and clean. At the time I stayed however, the atmosphere was tense and testosterone filled at best, being mostly filled with mid 20s English 'lads'. Whilst the location was a bit far out of town for the typical tourist, there are good rail links into the city, without which you might find yourself a little stranded.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Feb 2017
6.6

Stayed one night after landing at Sydney Airport. Was expecting a bit more for our money but the room was very basic, TV in our room but not to sure why. Staff and kitchen was good but not much else. Few shops and close to the train station. If you need a place to stay one night to get over your jet lag then you'll be ok.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Feb 2017
7.4

Rooms are spacious and friendly staff, but you have just 2 bathrooms (each containing 1 toilet and 1 shower) on a floor, so you have to share them with a lot of people. The kitchen is also very tiny with only 2 cooking plates you have to share with the whole hostel. Train station is very close, so it's easy to get to the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
8.0

Stayed here at the beginning and end of my trip - came back mostly because I had already booked and I liked the people/atmosphere (Hobart shuts down at 9pm so a fun hostel is clutch). The place is old and run down, in the rooms next to common areas you can hear the water from upper floors being flushed and drained down. Cool staff and overall good experience but for the same price you can stay the nicer/more updated Nook hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
5.1

I stayed at this hostel for two nights. The wifi worked half of the first day and then did not come back on again. Went to inquire with the manager but they were never there during their assigned times. The cleanliness of everything was questionable, it smelled like mildew, and although there was no smoking on the premesis, people smoked right outside the window of our room, so it seemed as if we were in a smoking environment anyway. Would not stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • paddy_bee199070
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
18th Jan 2017
8.6

A lovely hostel, outside of the main hustle and bustle of Sydney. There are a lot of long term guests, but the atmosphere was friendly and social. The staff do their best to ensure the hostel remains clean. A couple more bathrooms would be useful and the kitchen can get a bit crowded at peak times, but generally it was a great place to stay. Close to transport links and the popular town of Newtown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.