Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cambridge Lodge Budget Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 306 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 306 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Feb 2017
7.4

Rooms are spacious and friendly staff, but you have just 2 bathrooms (each containing 1 toilet and 1 shower) on a floor, so you have to share them with a lot of people. The kitchen is also very tiny with only 2 cooking plates you have to share with the whole hostel. Train station is very close, so it's easy to get to the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
8.0

Stayed here at the beginning and end of my trip - came back mostly because I had already booked and I liked the people/atmosphere (Hobart shuts down at 9pm so a fun hostel is clutch). The place is old and run down, in the rooms next to common areas you can hear the water from upper floors being flushed and drained down. Cool staff and overall good experience but for the same price you can stay the nicer/more updated Nook hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
5.1

I stayed at this hostel for two nights. The wifi worked half of the first day and then did not come back on again. Went to inquire with the manager but they were never there during their assigned times. The cleanliness of everything was questionable, it smelled like mildew, and although there was no smoking on the premesis, people smoked right outside the window of our room, so it seemed as if we were in a smoking environment anyway. Would not stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • paddy_bee199070
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
18th Jan 2017
8.6

A lovely hostel, outside of the main hustle and bustle of Sydney. There are a lot of long term guests, but the atmosphere was friendly and social. The staff do their best to ensure the hostel remains clean. A couple more bathrooms would be useful and the kitchen can get a bit crowded at peak times, but generally it was a great place to stay. Close to transport links and the popular town of Newtown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
7.1

The location is a little off from the city center, but it's easy to access to the train. The neighborhood is quite and neat.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Dec 2016
9.7

Accommodations were really good. Near a train station, grocery store, bottle shop, and walking distance to Newtown. The people staying there were great, which is completely by chance, but the hostel provided two nice. Immunology areas for people to meet and socialize. I'll miss this place. 🙌🏻

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Dec 2016
7.7

Pros: - Good location near to Stanmore station - clean - good communal area - good deal for Christmas and new year Cons: - communal area gets super loud and the downstairs rooms hear everything so hard to sleep - room full of mosquitos and fan is nowhere near anyone's bed so very hot - Stanmore station is a bit rough and dodgey road to walk at night - never saw any staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Dec 2016
8.6

Super easy late night entry, was a great stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
8.0

Everything we expected. Staff were great. Bathroom should have been attended to more frequently.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Oct 2016
8.9

Close to Newtown a bit far away from CBD If you spend some $ more u get a nice and clean home there

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.