X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Camelot Inn & Hostel Reviews

165 West 800 South, Salt Lake City, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
351 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

We didn't even see a single member of the staff during our stay. Other guests had loud music in their dorms late at night. In the morning one of the bathrooms was really dirty and also our mattresses and pillows, as we discovered when stripping the bed clothes. I am used to cheap hostels during my trips but never saw such a careless atmosphere before.

Owner Comment (Hide)
==STAFF== We have a friendly housekeeping staff on site each morning. We are also in the process of hiring new office staff that will be available. ==LOUD== Very few guests complain about noise during their stay. ==BATHROOMS== All of our bathrooms are cleaned each day. ==BEDDING== We wash our linens after each guest, but thank you for letting us know about the pillows and mattresses. We will look into replacing old bedding with new ones.

66%

Camelot is cheap, it's a block from the light rail to the airport, and it's walking distance to the heart of downtown. I would stay there again. On the other hand, there are NO PERSONNEL visible on site -- all arrangements are conducted electronically. Consequently, no one is there to promote ambiance or help you, though when I had a problem, my phone call was returned promptly and the issue was solved. The kitchen is tiny and poorly equipped, but bathrooms and bedrooms are clean.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for complimenting our clean property, location, and promptness. ==NO STAFF== Friendly housekeeping staff is on site during morning hours. Also, we are in the process of hiring office staff that will also be available. ==KITCHEN== Most guests find our kitchen well-furnished. ==TESTIMONIALS== ...The kitchen has everything you need to store and prepare food. Joey S. (8s) England, UK ...Nicely equipped kitchen. Annie C. (CG) France

91%

I had a great stay. Very cool set-up. I felt at home there.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for praising our property!

71%

Camelot business model is an interesting one, but one that led to a very poor experience for me. By mistake,we booked the day after we arrived. Since no one works at night, we had to call to try to resolve our dilemma, and when no one picked up we were forced to leave, leaving us to find somewhere else to stay. They say they will return a phone call in 15 mins but it took them 19 hours to respond. Speedy. This led to getting charged the first night, confusion, and overall strong dissatisfaction


60%

The reason the staff is very poor is that there is NO staff. That is except for a maid. It's all internet. They give you the key code for the front door and a "key safe" for the room. No front desk at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
==NO STAFF== Not only do we have friendly housekeeping staff, we also have office staff on site during the morning hours, and help is always a phone call away. ==TESTIMONIALS== ...when I had a problem, my phone call was returned promptly and the issue was solved. Maureen J. ...I had a very nice stay, staff really helpful. Simone Cerioli (8S) Italy ...I appreciated any and all security measures and the helpful staff I met here. Pamela Schechtman (CG) Massachusetts, USA

89%

No a/c, or swamp coolers, so rooms were very warm. Clean and handy to public transit, and right off the freeway.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for complimenting our cleanliness and location. ==WARM== Each room has a window and ceiling fan, which keeps the rooms cool enough for most guests. Also, the common areas have swamp coolers. ==TESTIMONIALS== 510) ...the room is w/o A/C. At least that is the case for my room. . . But it cools down in the evening. Overall it is still well worth the money. Frank F. (8S) China

66%

Loud a/c on the corridor, thin doors and walls, hot rooms. At least it´s cheap. Booking without credit card is impossible.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

some wifi problem to connect +no acces kitchen before 7,30 am

Owner Comment (Hide)
==WIFI== We are sorry about the connection problem. We have since fixed the issue. ==KITCHEN== We have it posted on the property that the kitchen hours are 9am - 10pm. ==TESTIMONIALS== 541) The owner of the hostel is a very kind man. And the room and restroom there are very clean. It's much better than I expected and worth the money. Anonymous (8S) Illinois, USA 540) We enjoyed our stay last night. Check in was easy and facilities good. Edd H. (8s) England, UK

89%

The check in process is bizarre, but that's sorted in the first ten minutes of your stay so doesn't matter. This is fantastically cheap for a nice bed, real sheets, clean bathrooms, and use of a kitchen. Not the best common area or good if you're looking for a very rowdy social time; but an awesomely quiet and secure place to sleep.


100%

Staying at Camelot Inn & Hotel was a wonderful experience. The self-checkin was wonderful since we ended up arriving quite late. The place was very safe and very clean. I would most definitely stay here again!

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Camelot Inn & Hostel. Thank you for the nice comment and rating.

63%

The hostel was not luxurious by any means; however, it served us well for a night. The self check in was nice since we arrived pretty late. There was relatively no hassle checking in and out. My biggest complaint would be that our bedroom smelled faintly of smoke.


97%

Salt Lake City, the youth hostel is very good, very suitable to us. Self-service check in good operation. Before we go to there worry more about the computer normal operation. Upon arrival everything is ok , seemed a bit cramped in the foyer, kitchen fully equipped, for us who like to cook very well, chatting in the cooking and the other roommate is a pleasant experience, it also has a separate eating places and PC room more spacious. There is a large Wal-Mart store near the hotel, a few minutes


86%

I stayed only for one night and the only thing I did was to take a shower and go to sleep. Shower was in much better state than in most of the hostels, very clean. The whole self check-in system is a bit bizarre, but works perfectly and is fairly easy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Camelot Inn & Hostel. Thank you for the nice comment and rating.

69%

a bit diferent than other hostels, self check in was pretty straightforward, staff is non existent but the place is ok and at $16 i can't really complain


97%

Great value for money hostel!

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Camelot Inn & Hostel. Thank you for the nice comment and rating.

86%

I stayed there two different times coming to and leaving salt lake. Got in late left early both days, Really easy and secure to check in and check out. Would definitely stay there again!

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Camelot Inn & Hostel. Thank you for the nice comment and rating.

49%

Criminal in the room next door to me. Didn't feel safe and couldn't sleep with their loud phone calls regarding criminal activity. Room full of ants and was dirty.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This is a very nice clean hostel with good amenities. Lots of bathrooms! Will definitely stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Camelot Inn & Hostel. Thank you for the nice comment and rating.

97%

loved this place -inexpensive, clean, great location next to trax public transportation. Nice people staying there-very nice staff

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Camelot Inn & Hostel. Thank you for the nice comment and rating.

91%

Great location to relax and recharge. The hostel is very different to any other I've been to - definitely more like an apartment building. Very well maintained though

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Camelot Inn & Hostel. Thank you for the nice comment and rating.

« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Salt Lake City Hostels

Please give us your feedback