X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Campus Accommodation @ Queen Mary, Uni of London Reviews

Westfield Way, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
239 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Loved the breakfast, guys at reception were great.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Extremely helpful and polite staff. Special praises for the staff of the Curve, excellent food, excellent service. Although the toilets have trouble flushing and the fire doors shut close too loud, woke me up every time someone entered the building

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice, clean rooms in student dorm; amazingly friendly staff; free WiFi;

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The location & staff are plus points. Easy to get into central london from this location & good price given the near central location (London zone 2). Staff were welcoming & very helpful. Facilities: Nice & quiet with desk space for me to use my laptop. Toiletries were provided too! The bathroom & toilet wasn't great (not helped by people I was sharing with) needed more toilet roll! Decent onsite canteen was nice addition - would use again & recommend to others on a tight budget.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Spotless room, polite staff, good value accommodation for London.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

While a bit out of central London's tourist sights, the campus is modern and secure, staff very professional and its a short walk to bus and underground stations at Mile End. The rooms are student housing , basic but cleaned daily and a short walk to the dining hall. As far as the area I arrived at 3am on a bus and walked to campus and never felt unsafe. To get to central London is about 15 minutes on the tube.


100%

Great Dorm-style room. WiFi was only adequate. The Curve dining cafeteria was good but same breakfast every morning. Closeness to Tube was very good; Mile End stop on Dustrict line, eastbound. Good restaurant in area was the Greedy Cow. The New Globe was a good local pub; NO food, but could bring in your own food.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • safetyguyrich
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The site was in a perfect location for the underground, the room and bathroom were clean and the shower excellent. Breakfast was also very good with a wide range of selection. We are now going to use this as our base for our future trips to London.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Excellent room - clean, plenty of space for the two of us sharing a twin room. Lovely, helpful staff. Delicious breakfast included - total bargain! Very close to Underground stations. Felt very safe in the area. Only criticism would be that there needs to be better signs on the campus to direct new arrivals to the reception to check in - we had to ask several people where to go when we arrived, then were asked by a number of people throughout the week. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Considering standard London room rates, this was probably very good value for money, especially as there was a generous breakfast included! The reception staff were also very nice and the campus is located nicely by the canal and close to public transports and supermarkets etc (although cooking your own food is impossible as the kitchens have no plates, pots, cutlery etc: this would be worth knowing in advance!) Definitely a good option if you want some privacy for your stay!


97%

Everything was perfect!!!


69%

It was ideal as a 1 night stopover, as I was attending a graduation ceremony at the university the next day and only had to walk for 10 mins to get to the venue. Breakfast was good. The accommodation was very basic, which is I suppose what you expect from student accommodation; it was clean but the carpet looked stained. The building was very hot, a fan would have been nice in the heatwave. The student village was a bit noisy, tho the building I was in was quiet enough. Breakfast was good.

  • 16th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice accommodation. Only comment would be during the unusually hot weather the room was very hot. I am sure the UK weather will return to normal soon and it will not be an issue. Booked in again so must be good.

  • 15th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

A really good and affordable place! I'd definitely recommend it to friends!


57%

I can't recommend this place. Staying in the summer, my small south-facing room wasn't provided with any kind of fan, let alone air conditioning, and was therefore far too hot to sleep acceptably. This was having been stuck in an unattractive building over the road and some distance away from the actual campus - on the 6th Floor when the lift only went as high as the 5th Floor. Staff were superficially polite but detached to say the least, and bizarrely unable to help with any further bookings.


86%

We had a great time in London and the campus was close 2 the stations making traveling very easy, the room was basic but private with ensuit. no tv, but a fridge which was fab considering there was a heat wave for the full week which we stayed. The breakfast was an excellent choice of full cooked,

  • 8th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

For me, this was just a short stopover and better value for money than the last London city center hotel I stayed at for twice the price.


86%

We had a private room with ensuite. The room was spacious enough and equipped with 2 double beds, a desk with shelving and a mini fridge. The mini fridge was excellent as there were 2 grocery stores about a five minute walk away. The major downside was the breakfast provided on campus. If you are okay with eating either corn flakes or yogurt its great. But otherwise stay away from everything else they serve. The eggs tasted more like eating table spoons of oil rather than eggs. Breakfast is bad

  • 30th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

it would be nice if the wifi is free:)

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

These "accommodations" are the dorm rooms at the Queen Mary University, so be prepared to feel like you're 18 again! Stained carpet & smell attest the usual wear and tear of a dorm, while full bath (!) was a surprise, as was the mini-fridge. Our twin was a standard room with one normal and one cot bed, both with very soft mattresses whose springs creak and jab all night. Still, the location (on two train lines), staff (helpful & friendly), price (unbeatable), breakfast (replete buffet) are top.

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(184 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback