X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Campus Accommodation @ Queen Mary, Uni of London Reviews

Westfield Way, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
246 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Due to the weather the room was very hot with limited ventilation, even though the large window was at it's maximum opening angle. If you are from out of town, be prepared for the noise from trains, emergency vehicle sirens and students until late into the night, but just embrace it as part of the experience, or join in with the student parties. Breakfast choice was varied and of good quality. There are plenty of places to eat in a short radius and the tube station is just a short walk away.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good value for such a central location. Room comfortable and clean. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

My top tip is this: the bus from Stansted Airport (National Express) to London Liverpool St also stops at Mile End Tube station, which is only a few minutes walk from Queen Mary. It was so convenient, as I didn't have to drag my luggage around at all - avoiding all the stairs in the Tube, etc. The Mile end Tube is on the Central Line, straight to central London. Very secure location. Only complaint is that the room was a bit too hot - rent a fan for £1 per day/£10 deposit. Otherwise happy!

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Quality of room was much better than expected- bath in ensuite and complimentary toiletries. The only negatives were it was a very warm/hot day for London and the room was a bit like an oven (window was left open but little breeze). I did see fans for hire but I think they were all gone. The only other downside was the noise in the morning from all the early-rising foreign students- made worse because of the open window! Be fine if you were an early riser but not after a night out on the town!


69%

Loved the breakfast, guys at reception were great.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Extremely helpful and polite staff. Special praises for the staff of the Curve, excellent food, excellent service. Although the toilets have trouble flushing and the fire doors shut close too loud, woke me up every time someone entered the building

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice, clean rooms in student dorm; amazingly friendly staff; free WiFi;

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The location & staff are plus points. Easy to get into central london from this location & good price given the near central location (London zone 2). Staff were welcoming & very helpful. Facilities: Nice & quiet with desk space for me to use my laptop. Toiletries were provided too! The bathroom & toilet wasn't great (not helped by people I was sharing with) needed more toilet roll! Decent onsite canteen was nice addition - would use again & recommend to others on a tight budget.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Spotless room, polite staff, good value accommodation for London.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

While a bit out of central London's tourist sights, the campus is modern and secure, staff very professional and its a short walk to bus and underground stations at Mile End. The rooms are student housing , basic but cleaned daily and a short walk to the dining hall. As far as the area I arrived at 3am on a bus and walked to campus and never felt unsafe. To get to central London is about 15 minutes on the tube.


100%

Great Dorm-style room. WiFi was only adequate. The Curve dining cafeteria was good but same breakfast every morning. Closeness to Tube was very good; Mile End stop on Dustrict line, eastbound. Good restaurant in area was the Greedy Cow. The New Globe was a good local pub; NO food, but could bring in your own food.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • safetyguyrich
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The site was in a perfect location for the underground, the room and bathroom were clean and the shower excellent. Breakfast was also very good with a wide range of selection. We are now going to use this as our base for our future trips to London.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Excellent room - clean, plenty of space for the two of us sharing a twin room. Lovely, helpful staff. Delicious breakfast included - total bargain! Very close to Underground stations. Felt very safe in the area. Only criticism would be that there needs to be better signs on the campus to direct new arrivals to the reception to check in - we had to ask several people where to go when we arrived, then were asked by a number of people throughout the week. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Considering standard London room rates, this was probably very good value for money, especially as there was a generous breakfast included! The reception staff were also very nice and the campus is located nicely by the canal and close to public transports and supermarkets etc (although cooking your own food is impossible as the kitchens have no plates, pots, cutlery etc: this would be worth knowing in advance!) Definitely a good option if you want some privacy for your stay!


97%

Everything was perfect!!!


69%

It was ideal as a 1 night stopover, as I was attending a graduation ceremony at the university the next day and only had to walk for 10 mins to get to the venue. Breakfast was good. The accommodation was very basic, which is I suppose what you expect from student accommodation; it was clean but the carpet looked stained. The building was very hot, a fan would have been nice in the heatwave. The student village was a bit noisy, tho the building I was in was quiet enough. Breakfast was good.

  • 16th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice accommodation. Only comment would be during the unusually hot weather the room was very hot. I am sure the UK weather will return to normal soon and it will not be an issue. Booked in again so must be good.

  • 15th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

A really good and affordable place! I'd definitely recommend it to friends!


57%

I can't recommend this place. Staying in the summer, my small south-facing room wasn't provided with any kind of fan, let alone air conditioning, and was therefore far too hot to sleep acceptably. This was having been stuck in an unattractive building over the road and some distance away from the actual campus - on the 6th Floor when the lift only went as high as the 5th Floor. Staff were superficially polite but detached to say the least, and bizarrely unable to help with any further bookings.


86%

We had a great time in London and the campus was close 2 the stations making traveling very easy, the room was basic but private with ensuit. no tv, but a fridge which was fab considering there was a heat wave for the full week which we stayed. The breakfast was an excellent choice of full cooked,

  • 8th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(188 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback