X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Campus Accommodation @ Queen Mary, Uni of London Reviews

Westfield Way, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
223 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Excellent room - clean, plenty of space for the two of us sharing a twin room. Lovely, helpful staff. Delicious breakfast included - total bargain! Very close to Underground stations. Felt very safe in the area. Only criticism would be that there needs to be better signs on the campus to direct new arrivals to the reception to check in - we had to ask several people where to go when we arrived, then were asked by a number of people throughout the week. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Considering standard London room rates, this was probably very good value for money, especially as there was a generous breakfast included! The reception staff were also very nice and the campus is located nicely by the canal and close to public transports and supermarkets etc (although cooking your own food is impossible as the kitchens have no plates, pots, cutlery etc: this would be worth knowing in advance!) Definitely a good option if you want some privacy for your stay!


97%

Everything was perfect!!!


69%

It was ideal as a 1 night stopover, as I was attending a graduation ceremony at the university the next day and only had to walk for 10 mins to get to the venue. Breakfast was good. The accommodation was very basic, which is I suppose what you expect from student accommodation; it was clean but the carpet looked stained. The building was very hot, a fan would have been nice in the heatwave. The student village was a bit noisy, tho the building I was in was quiet enough. Breakfast was good.

  • 16th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice accommodation. Only comment would be during the unusually hot weather the room was very hot. I am sure the UK weather will return to normal soon and it will not be an issue. Booked in again so must be good.

  • 15th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

A really good and affordable place! I'd definitely recommend it to friends!


57%

I can't recommend this place. Staying in the summer, my small south-facing room wasn't provided with any kind of fan, let alone air conditioning, and was therefore far too hot to sleep acceptably. This was having been stuck in an unattractive building over the road and some distance away from the actual campus - on the 6th Floor when the lift only went as high as the 5th Floor. Staff were superficially polite but detached to say the least, and bizarrely unable to help with any further bookings.


86%

We had a great time in London and the campus was close 2 the stations making traveling very easy, the room was basic but private with ensuit. no tv, but a fridge which was fab considering there was a heat wave for the full week which we stayed. The breakfast was an excellent choice of full cooked,

  • 8th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

For me, this was just a short stopover and better value for money than the last London city center hotel I stayed at for twice the price.


86%

We had a private room with ensuite. The room was spacious enough and equipped with 2 double beds, a desk with shelving and a mini fridge. The mini fridge was excellent as there were 2 grocery stores about a five minute walk away. The major downside was the breakfast provided on campus. If you are okay with eating either corn flakes or yogurt its great. But otherwise stay away from everything else they serve. The eggs tasted more like eating table spoons of oil rather than eggs. Breakfast is bad

  • 30th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

it would be nice if the wifi is free:)

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

These "accommodations" are the dorm rooms at the Queen Mary University, so be prepared to feel like you're 18 again! Stained carpet & smell attest the usual wear and tear of a dorm, while full bath (!) was a surprise, as was the mini-fridge. Our twin was a standard room with one normal and one cot bed, both with very soft mattresses whose springs creak and jab all night. Still, the location (on two train lines), staff (helpful & friendly), price (unbeatable), breakfast (replete buffet) are top.

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Included breakfast, is perfect. But no hair dryer, which will be charged.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Very enjoyable stay and perfect base for 2 days at the Olympic Park

  • 31st Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Good breakfast, 5 min walk from metro station.


86%

The curtains in 18F Beaumont had a lot of food splashes on. Carpet also quite stained. I would hope the new students coming in would not face those pieces of uncleanliness.

  • 29th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

It was a very pleasant stay during the paralympics. Accompanied my disabled neice and everything went smoothly. A memorable time all round.

  • 28th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Clean rooms, good location as a volunteer at the Olympics being just one stop away. Not far from Central London I felt safe in this location. But was very expensive for university halls. Bad points: food in the cafe and no TV in the flat.


86%

The staff at Queen Mary went the exytra mile in caring for me afer I broke my ankle on 29th August. Everyone from the security staff who got me to hospital to reception staff and support staff who bought me a box of chocolates. Reception staffwere awesome and I cannot thank them enough for their care and consideration. Could do with a commual area to be able to view TV.

  • 27th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female
  • (1 review)


91%

Extremely clean and organized. The most friendly staff I've ever met! The accommodation is close to the tube so you're set to go anywhere in London. Room is cleaned daily and the campus has all you need in terms of food and laundry.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(176 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback