X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Canadiana Backpackers Inn Reviews

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2305 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The social atmosphere is what this hostel is all about. Bathrooms were always very busy. I received a "room upgrade" upon check-in to a 3 bed dorm which was a nice surprise.


74%

Yeah place was decent


60%

The room was right next to the foyer where all the residents would hang out at night so it was absolutely impossible to fall asleep as you could hear the people talk up until 1 or 2 am. I left on my second day and moved to another hostel.


97%

Lots of crazy but fun people.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

A big thank you to the staff for helping me navigate through Toronto.

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're so welcome - glad we helped you make the best of your trip to Toronto! Best wishes for your future travels and come see us again in Toronto soon!

77%

The hostel itself was okay, however, I stayed in the 8 bed female dorm for one night and although a certain level of noise and disruption is to be expected - 2 girls had no consideration for other people in the room trying to sleep (popping bubble wrap at ten at night, loud conversations with other guests after the bar in the room - guests that weren't staying in the room I might add). You can also hear the other hostel guests coming home from the bar at night and they are quit loud.

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

most people were staying long term. the movie threatre was cool

Owner Comment (Hide)
Though we do have some long term guests, we do also have a number of travellers - we hope you were able to meet some at our nightly events like movie night (in our great theatre!) and wine and cheese night!

71%

Canadiana is a cute little hostel in downtown Toronto, in close proximity to ample bars, pubs, restaurants and clubs. They have a different activity organised for each day of the week which are usually free or cheap. I found that most of the people there were long term travellers looking for jobs in the city. This at times made the atmosphere in the hostel less exciting and harder to meet like-minded travellers. Over all we had a great time. But have definitely stayed in much better hostels. :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We`re glad you enjoyed our hostel and took part in some of our events!

91%

Very friendly staff, great location. Have only marked down Facilities because of the parking lot. Entrance incredibly narrow; actual parking spaces also tiny and very difficult to navigate when full.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay at our hostel and made the most of our central location! Sorry to hear the parking lot was difficult to navigate - there is also free parking on the street at night and parking lots in the vicinity should you come back!

69%

Kitchen Was badly equipped

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. We do try to keep our kitchens equipped with numerous pots, pans, and kitchen utensils as well as enough cutlery for our guests.

77%

Good hostel. Clean and tidy however the bathrooms weren't always so clean. Great friendly staff who were very willing to help out with information and questions. Location was good. Only a short walk up to a few things including the CN tower and the waterfront. Good, well organised tours and events run by the hostel

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff friendly and helpful! We do clean our bathrooms multiple times a day and are sorry to hear you found one that wasn`t clean at the time. Hope you stay with us again in the future!

100%

Canadiana provided a clean, private, two person room for an affordable price on an expensive NYE. The staff was friendly and informative, and had we not already made plans there was a list of activities run by the hostel we could have signed up for. I highly recommend this bustling, well run hostel.

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review! We`re happy to hear you had a great NYE at Canadiana. Hope to see you here again in the future so you can try one of our fun activities such as Quiz Night, our pub crawls, and Wine and Cheese night.

97%

I am very appreciative of the parking,but I wish it wasn't so expensive!

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback - we do try to provide affordable and secure parking compared to other lots in downtown Toronto, and are the cheapest in our area.

91%

My first stay at a hostel and what an amazing place! The vibrancy of the culture here is incredible. I strongly recommend this hostel to anyone passing through the area.

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
So glad we were able to make your first stay at a hostel fun and memorable! Hope to see you again in the future :D

89%

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. It is right in the heart of the Entertainment District - a 10 minute walk from Union Station, the CN Tower, all of the sports arenas, China Town & really anything else you would want to do in Toronto other than maybe Casa Loma. What I loved most is they had organized hostel activities each day - whether it be a Movie Night, Steamwhistle Brewery Tour, Art Gallery tour, pub crawl or even a Wine & Cheese night! It was really easy to meet new people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! Glad you met some of the other fantastic travellers that choose to stay here at our nightly events. Come back and see us again soon!

80%

A pretty good hostel, the staff was really friendly and seemed organized. There are events just about every night, and this made it very easy to meet new people. Great social environment in the middle of the entertainment district. Only one big complaint: the showers were pretty bad. I used multiple ones, and either the water came out at a trickle, or the water pressure was good, but the water was freezing almost instantly. Also it could've been cleaner, and they need more storage lockers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to take part in some of our nightly activities - we also feel that our social atmosphere is top notch! Our water pressure is good but often guests don't understand how to use the taps correctly.

74%

I think there are more faculties can be improved in this hostel.for example: have small lamp for each bed then we don't need to turn on the room light affect everyone.

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback.

89%

Fantastic hostel in the heart of downtown Toronto. My second stay in this hostel and found the same friendly atmosphere. The main room is the perfect place to mingle with the other guests and practice speaking foreign languages if you happen to speak some!

  • 26th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Canadiana again! Hope you come back for a third :D

77%

This place is actually great for those who love to backpack, you get the atmosphere really well and its location is just perfect, easy access to street car and city.

  • 24th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review - happy to hear you had a great time in our hostel and our central location!

86%

We stayed 3 nights in this hostel, room was perfectly decent and particularly quiet. Breakfast is fine, especially when they serve pancakes. Kitchen is alright and they have what you need for laundry. Building number 52, the Wi-Fi is quite bad but much better in the main building. And still in 52, the shower is really small (1m70)... could be easily improved! A really pleasant place anyway !

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you had an enjoyable experience at the hostel, and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast of pancakes with Nutella and maple syrup! Hope you had some free hot chocolate and coffee to go with.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(96 results)


View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback