X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Canadiana Backpackers Inn Reviews

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1789 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

as mature packers,we thought the hostel was great.lots of help for local info,eateries/travel/deals etc.it was nice to try pancakes on our last morning there[mon]did not realise that the hostel was a row of houses,not just 1.gud hostel!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We are lucky with the unique layout of the hostel, and our staff love sharing their favourite spots in Toronto with guests. We hope to see you in the future!

89%

Cool place


94%

Amazing location in the center of everything!

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing us! We hope to see you again!

86%

Love the home made pancakes for breakfast:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review! Happy to hear your enjoyed the free pancakes!

66%

Should state that parking is extra

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback – there is free parking available in front of the hostel from 6pm-8am!

57%

Way to expensive for what you get, WiFi didn't work in our room, Showers stayed quite cold in the mornings, lockers not safe (there is no control who enters the hostel, staff doesn't care who walks in and out), breakfast was not good (dry pancakes with maple or on the weekends halffrozen, dry bagels..only one per person, if you want two, need to pay...) Sorry, but there are way better hostels in Toronto, only good thing about canadiana is its location and average cleanliness of facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We have several computers available for free internet use if anyone has trouble connecting to the wifi, and we do sell padlocks at the front desk should you wish to lock your valuables away. We lock our front door in the evenings and our staff do regular checks around the hostel. Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the free breakfast provided – we have a variety of fruit, pastries, cereal and yoghurt available for purchase too.

91%

Very nice hostel with an excellent location, you can explore Toronto by foot! Staff was very nice, rooms clean, overall it was a great experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! Come and stay again soon!

80%

Very close to CN Tower. In the heart of city. Walkable to china town also.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thankyou for your review

100%

Everything was perfect! Staff was helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive feedback! We hope to see you again!

100%

Best hostel in Toronto! Backpackers atmosphere, friendly staff, activities, had a very good and fun time at this hostel!! Highly recommended!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive feedback! We hope to see you again!

86%

Was a good hostel, but at times a little run down and dirty. Overall a good stay - reccomended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. As our hostel is set in Victorian buildings, some things may look older than they actually are. Glad you had a good stay!

77%

Free breaky isn't much, just a cold pancake or two. Location is reasonable, served its purpose but there are much nicer hostels out there. Staff barely spoke, everyone just sat in the common room on their phones, very different to most other hostels.


91%

Staffs really nice, good localisation in downtown (subway is at 3$ / per way). It's easy to meet people in the backpacker. I have pay one cheapest price for my day tour in Nigara with the backpacker. And you have one bathroom inside the dorm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review – we’re glad you enjoyed your stay!

100%

Go here!!! Great hostel & great people!!! Had a fun time, thank you Canadiana!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the great feedback! We hope to see you again soon!

37%

For a large hostel only had 2 washing machines bit ridiculous had to queue and wait ages just to get washing done. seen a mouse a few times running through the kitchen when I notified reception they said "oh another and you seen him now, during the day uh oh". Is quite expensive for what you get some of the rooms are very small. Can be forced to queue for a while when waiting the bathroom. Some staff were very rude and distracted easily.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

A decent hostel, but not especially comfortable. Good staff. Internet worked poorly during busy hours, and no internet in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. Sorry to hear you had a little trouble with the wifi – we have computers near reception for guest use if your devices are playing up

89%

Really nice stay at this hostel! Atmosphere between other people staying not as friendly as other hostels I have stayed in but I think this is due to it being a larger hostel. The staff were very friendly. The room was large and spacious which is always handy when there are 6 of you in a room! Free tea, coffee and pancakes for breakfast! Other items have an additional charge. Very clean :). Good location and great value!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! Glad to hear you got on well with our staff and enjoyed your stay! Sorry you found the guests less friendly, the majority of the time we have outgoing, inclusive guests.

57%

staff is indifferent!

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback – we’re sorry to hear that you didn’t have the best experience and are looking into this.

89%

Canadiana Backpackers is a very good hostel. It's a large hostel that occupies half a block, with a number of separate house-like buildings. The location can't be beat - right beside a good nightlife and restaurant area and 5 mins walk to downtown Toronto. It's safe with locks for the front doors, room doors and individual lockers. Cleaners were operating every day and the toilets were well kept. Downsides were - the coffee machine was broken and the breakfast bagels were stale one morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. We have fixed the coffee machine and it’s now working perfectly! Sorry to hear that the bagels were stale one morning - we buy them fresh from a local bakery. So not sure how this happened

77%

Staff was really welcoming and helpful. Loved that there were plenty of lockers to store your luggage, including if you arrived before check-in or were around after check-out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review

(84 results)


View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback