X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Canadiana Backpackers Inn Reviews

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2316 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

I think there are more faculties can be improved in this hostel.for example: have small lamp for each bed then we don't need to turn on the room light affect everyone.

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback.

89%

Fantastic hostel in the heart of downtown Toronto. My second stay in this hostel and found the same friendly atmosphere. The main room is the perfect place to mingle with the other guests and practice speaking foreign languages if you happen to speak some!

  • 26th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Canadiana again! Hope you come back for a third :D

77%

This place is actually great for those who love to backpack, you get the atmosphere really well and its location is just perfect, easy access to street car and city.

  • 24th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review - happy to hear you had a great time in our hostel and our central location!

86%

We stayed 3 nights in this hostel, room was perfectly decent and particularly quiet. Breakfast is fine, especially when they serve pancakes. Kitchen is alright and they have what you need for laundry. Building number 52, the Wi-Fi is quite bad but much better in the main building. And still in 52, the shower is really small (1m70)... could be easily improved! A really pleasant place anyway !

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you had an enjoyable experience at the hostel, and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast of pancakes with Nutella and maple syrup! Hope you had some free hot chocolate and coffee to go with.

89%

Great atmosphere, it really felt like home.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So happy you felt at home here - hope to see you again soon!

69%

Location is nice ,hostel is quite big,unfortunately our room was dirty,lots of dust,not a very pleasant stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
The room was cleaned and followed up by our cleaning manager, so I am not sure how this could have happened. I am sorry, and thank you for the feedback.

100%

I loved the environment of the Hostel! The staff are so nice, there are a table of activities and the hosts are encouraged to integrate themselves.

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy to hear you enjoyed our inviting atmosphere! Hope to see you again soon!

97%

This hostel felt like a good place for people wanting to hang out and meet new people. It is a large and bustling hostel and maybe not the best place if you just want to relax and have a quiet night. The staff hosted a lot of activities and it seemed like there was a lot going on. The facilities were good and everything seemed clean. Breakfast was good and included bagels and cereals!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! We`re glad you were able to take part in our nightly events - such as Wine and Cheese night, karaoke, and our brewery tour - and meet some of the other great travellers that stay here. Come back again soon!

89%

Thank you for liking after us! We had a great time in Toronto! Although i would like pancakes every day :)

  • 14th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review - we love the pancakes too, especially with Nutella and maple syrup :) Hope you paired them with the free hot chocolate!

97%

Great place to stay! Convenient location and parking. The place is a bit noisy at night but the staff are friendly. Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you liked our hostel! Hope to see you again next time you`re in Toronto!

100%

Really great experience overall. Having included breakfast was a great bonus. Comfortable accommodations and really well located. 15 minute walk from the train station and in the heart of the entertainment district. Just perfect!

Owner Comment (Hide)
So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Canadiana! Hope to see you here again soon!

83%

It was Okay to stay here.

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

A very large hostle with people always about in common areas. Great place to meet people and hang out but can be difficult to find a quiet corner. In a great location, 10 minutes walk from the bus station, in the centre of the entertainment district. The hostle hosts events every day. I really enjoyed the Wednesday guided tour of the art musem. I only wish I could have stayed longer!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We`re so glad you enjoyed our nightly activities - we`re now offering a tour of the Steam Whistle Brewery in addition to our regular events which we hope you will participate in should you return!

66%

There was just one major problem with my stay. At 2:00 AM a few drunken guests returned to the dorm and proceeded to carry on as drunk people do. If hostels invite people to drink on site and return at all hours they need to be prepared on the other end for dealing with drunken guests. It is very unprofessional and disrepectful to subject other guests to this kind of behaviour.

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you were awoken! Though we do allow alcohol on the premises we try our best to control the noise levels after 11pm. We`re sorry that your night was disrupted, but we hope you enjoyed the other aspects of our hostel!

57%

Too many people living there, not enough 'travellers'. The atmosphere was all about getting jobs and their was a lot of stress there too (probably associated with all the job seekers!).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Though we do tend to have people stay longer throughout the winter, we do still have many travellers coming through on a daily basis! Should you return we hope you`ll try one of our daily events, such as wine and cheese and free dinner night, where new and old guests alike can meet!

94%

The hostel was in an excellent location and organises events and trips that are an ideal way to see the city and attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The set up should make it easy to meet fellow travellers, one thing I found was that a lot of the people staying there are temporarily living at the hostel while looking for permanent residence, and as such it was a little clique-y. Other than that, a pleasant stay, and I would return.


83%

Value for money.good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! Come back and stay with us again soon!

94%

The beds are very squeaky, I was woken everything someone moved. There's no TV room to chill in, there is a communal area but it's quite awkward. The showers and washrooms were kept very clean.


69%

Decent hostel, definitely a good place to meet other travellers and for partying. Found that there weren't many (enough) bathrooms and they were located quite far from my room. Simple, but nice breakfast included.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay and met some other great travellers while you were here. We have recently added some extra breakfast options which we hope you`ll enjoy should you come back!

100%

The best hostel in the world.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay! Come back again next time you`re in Toronto!

(93 results)


View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback