X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Canadiana Backpackers Inn Reviews

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1743 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Room 9 was very comfortable, but could have had a stronger air conditioner. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Staffs are helpful and very encouraging !!

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Really enjoyed my time here and hope to return. The staff are really friendly and helpful and they keep the place slick and span. Keep up the good work.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

화장실 쓰레기통이 하루에 2~3번씩 비워져있는걸 봤으니 청결에 신뢰가 갑니다만 방청소는 안해주시는듯 합니다. 바닥이 그대로더군요. 조식 팬케익과 커피는 좋았어요. 위치는 정말 좋아요. 걸어서 CN타워, 하버프론트, 토론토아일랜드는 가깝고 차이나타운, 다운타운도 충분해요.


97%

I had a brilliant time during my stay here, met some great ppl, and bbq on patio during my earlier stay was a great idea. Staff are so helpful..would definitely recommend this hostel to friends

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

So here we go! I have traveled alot over the last 5 years, in 25 countries and have stayed in alot of hostels, I might even open my own one day. The Canadiana was really one of the best hostels Ive stayed at, a true Canadian spirit, its unique ideas of how things should be done there truly brings this backpacker to the tops of North America. Youve got it all there, from an awesome location to a friendly staff, helpfull, and smiley ;). The set up is very smart, rooms are great and all so clean!


94%

Nice clean place. People were nice and it's comfy and has a nice atmosphere. Quiet and feels like home with the leaving room or outside there were drinking and talking so nice time. I was in HI which I didn't like. It was industry atmosphere and in Canadiana it was homy. internet was way better. The niagara tour was cheaper than HI as well


60%

The showers were cold.


89%

This is a nice hostel, even if it doesn't have a lot of character just cos it's so huge. But by being so large they have all the facilities you could possibly need, helpful and charismatic staff, lots of info on this to do in the area, and are mostly pretty clean. Breakfast sucks though, with extremely artificial pancakes and no other options. Toast would probably actually be nicer. It did have a very party feel to it though, not a place for quiet people who want to sleep.


89%

The hostel is on best of the locations in downtown Toronto with proximity to subway, eateries, shopping etc. The front desk staff are extremely helpful especially Ms. CJ who receives guests with warmth and cheer even during late night check in. You can probably include some juice and fruits in the breakfast menu which could probably help guests during mornings. Otherwise pancakes and bagels are good. The bathrooms are maintained clean and tidy. The towels and linen are also equally clean.


40%

Having to move rooms mid-stay to an room that was smelly with long term guests was horrible. Girl at reception was bitchy! There's better value for your money seeking a place elsewhere


86%

Good youth hostel for few days in Toronto


97%

BBQ social event was nice.


80%

Really nice hostel. Great athmospere! Good location, friendly staff, clean rooms and well equipped kitchen for guests. Would stay here again.


100%

Fantastic stay, wish we could have been here longer!

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

My first time in a hostel and it was an excellent experience. I would stay in one again.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice Place And very Helpful Staff


69%

I found the staff and atmosphere friendly, however cleanliness was lacking (showers and toilets often dirty). While I was excited at the idea of the pancake breakfast, coffee was horrible (just enough coffee to slightly color the water, even tea has a darker color!) and pancakes were honestly bad.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice stay! Just what we needed for a quick weekend trip to see the sights in downtown Toronto.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

It was really comfy, and staffs were so nice. If I visit Toronto again, I will definitely choose here again!

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(89 results)


View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback