X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Canadiana Backpackers Inn Reviews

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1530 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The Hostel was Downtown, so we were able to walk everywhere. Staff was really nice!!! They also served a little breakfast, was ok. Rooms were clean, bathrooms too You were able to wash your clothes and even iron Would come back for sure

  • 14th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff are really freindly

  • 13th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

A few more washing maschines would be great. Keep on going.


86%

I had a very good time at the hostel and met a lot of nice people there. The staff is very nice and the rooms are definitely ok. The only thing was the price that was a little too high, but then again it was TIFF during my time there so i didn't care that much about spending more money.


94%

Had a fantastic time! Staff were very informative and friendly. Lots of places to chill and relax with new mates who were made at the hostel. Great location to hit the hot spots.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! Make sure you come visit us again soon!

97%

Great hostel, very cosy, bathrooms were kept very clean, wifi was working everywhere, you can't get a hostel with a better Location, it's directly in the Entertainment district, just 5 minutes to the CN Tower, you can discover the whole city by bike.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so happy you had a good stay! We are very lucky to be right in the middle of all the amazing attractions of Toronto!

83%

Nice staff, relaxed atmosphere with a nice common area. Close to everything you need and attractions.

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed your stay!

94%

Very good hostel, the only bad thing is surrounding area. It looks a bit unsafe. But in fairness it`s quite safe there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We are a very secure hostel equipped with security cameras and we lock the front door at night.

100%

I had a really good time there. The bf pancakes sold me! And the most important thing? It was clean. Quiet. Close or walking distance to bars and Chinatown! Will def come bk!

  • 29th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Congo
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great feedback! And glad you enjoyed our pancakes! Hope to see you again soon!

100%

Great location close to CN Tower. Breakfast places in food courts downtown. Very clean rooms and very clean individual bathrooms.

  • 29th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review!

69%

Just okay. Really loud doors and squeaky beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. I am sorry you found the doors to be too loud. We do have free earplugs at reception in case you are having trouble sleeping.

86%

It was great to have the option of calling a cab to the hostel to get to the airport and being able to purchase tickets for the city sightseeing as well as the Niagara day trip from the hostel itself. Unfortunately, there was a problem with the fire alarm one of the nights and it kept going off every 10 mins until the wee hours of the morning and the problem couldn't be fixed.So we had to spend a sleepless night literally. I feel we should've been compensated in some way.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. We are very sorry about the smoke detector in your room. Our staff member on duty was not made aware of the situation until much later in the night. If you ever have a problem like this please notify staff immediately so the situation can be rectified quicker!

97%

Great place, very friendly staff and people.

  • 27th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment!Make sure you stay with us again soon!

83%

Summer 2013: there is a LOT of construction going on the area, so it's a bit noisier than usual. However, the hostel is on a fantastic side-street which is quite quiet and off the major streets. We, as well as our neighbours in the hostel, found the air conditioning was far too cold and it we were not able to control it. We were freezing at night! The location is quite fantastic. Free BBQ every Tuesday night and events planned every night, so it was definitely a nice place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
- Thanks for your feedback! The A/C in the rooms can always be controlled! Some of them are in the room and some of them are controlled by reception so just ask us at reception next time and we can help you out! :) Otherwise glad you had a good stay.

74%

My room needs to be deodorized. The breakfast should be improved.

  • 26th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. Sorry that you felt the room was smelly. The rooms are cleaned daily and deodorized, unfortunately we cannot control certain smells ( like a guests feet)

49%

Worse hostel I've ever been to. Starting with the rooms: They have only one light the beds do not have their own lights and they squeal. Mattresses are coveted with plastic which is not breathable at all and during hot periods (aircondition does not work properly)you are sweating like having run a marathon. There are too little bathrooms, they are not very clean,toilets are leaking and were even blocked.If you like mouldy toast it's the right place for you.They didn't solve a blackout within 15h

Owner Comment (Hide)
- It seems as though your stay was during a series of unfortunate events. We are really sorry that you had an unpleasant experience. The problem with the power in your room is something that does not happen very often and we needed the assistance of an electrician to solve the problem. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip .

69%

Breakfast is definitely so cheap with only panckes and glucose syrup...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. Our breakfast alternates between pancakes and toast every morning and it is free. We are also introducing bagels with cream cheese as of September.

69%

Duvet covers in rooms were very old and dirty. Room was really stuffy with a very small window which didn't open. Linen and beds needs an upgrade.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with your room. In the summertime it is best to keep the windows shut so that the air conditioning can cool the rooms. That is why the window was closed. After this review I went through all the rooms to check our duvets and linen. The linen was good and two duvets were replaced because they were slightly frayed. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

69%

While the overall location was a plus for my needs, the rooms were extremely hot (even with the AC on full blast). The air did not circulate properly. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The washrooms were cleaner than I expected. Price-wise, it was the most expensive hostel in which I have ever stayed.

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

There always sems to be people that are from all over that are working there and there pretty friendly and helpfull when you need help.. second time there and enjoyed it .. thank you kindly for the efforts and help

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review! Hopefully you will stay a third time as well!

(1008 results)


View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback