X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Canadiana Backpackers Inn Reviews

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1530 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

the sheets are replaced but the blanket is not. I question how often those are exchanged and washed. other than that not bad. great location, Toronto is very walkable anyways and the entertainment district is in the same area.

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. We replace all the linens after each guest departs. The duvets are replaced regularly.

91%

It was a really nice hostel, location perfect.. It will be better if it has private showers instead of shared. The rest of the things were exellent.

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! All of our washroom and shower facilities are private rooms with locks. Due to the structure of the building we unfortunately cannot have washrooms inside every bedroom.

77%

Poor bed and no breakfast bus we recommand. Free BBQ that night!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. We do serve breakfast every morning between the hours of 7:30am and 10:30am. Glad you enjoyed the free BBQ night!

80%

Very good !!

  • 11th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Come stay with us again soon!

86%

A good hostel in a great location, close to all the sites and transport. A good option if you're travelling alone, but a little expensive for a shared room. Clean but maybe no need to clean all the bathrooms at 2 am???

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

It definitely could have been cleaner. Our room seemed kind of grubby. The free internet was good, if a bit slow. The staff were very friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We are sorry you were dissatisfied with the cleanliness of your room. We do clean the rooms on a daily basis. Our free wi-fi is definitely a hit for most travelers.

80%

Basic facilities. Good if you are an independent traveller who is used to the hostel scene.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. Hope to see you again soon.

100%

Very good stay here. And a free upgrade as well.

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! We are always looking to make our guests happy. Hope to see you again in the future.

89%

Great location. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Very basic but really all you could ask for in a hostel... You are there to enjoy the city after all, and at this hostel the city is right outside your door! I would definitely stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We are located right in the heart of downtown Toronto within walking distance of all major attractions. We look forward to seeing you again next time!

83%

Super friendly staff: I arrived in the morning and could only check in after 14h, but I was invited to have breakfast and store my luggage in a personal locker. Great rooftop terrace, good location in a quiet downtown street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review! Hope to see you again soon.

71%

I liked the location and the atmosphere but I think there are not enough washrooms available and I always had to wait a long time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. We do have many washrooms in the hostel. If the ones on your floor are being used you are more than welcome to try the other floors as there are several on each floor.

63%

The room is pretty small for 4 people. and the wifi is weak in the room. Breakfast is poor, only pancakes, which is plain.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry that you were dissatisfied. Our breakfast is pancakes or toast each morning which is free for all guests. If you would like to purchase other items we also have fruit, bagels, pastries and cereals available.

97%

The hostel was great! The location was awesome, the staff is really helpful (although I expected a little more welcoming) and everything was perfect. Keep up the good work, guys =)

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again soon!

77%

Best Location. Nice Staff. We would come back again. Our room was facing the street so bit noisy at night. also when other guests come back, the sound of closing door is noisy too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. Unfortunately being right in the heart of downtown Toronto it can be a bit noisy on the city streets. We do have free earplugs available at reception if you are having trouble sleeping!

80%

Good location and good facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review!

89%

Canadiana feels like a family. We eat breakfast together. The atmosphere is pretty relaxed and quiet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We strive to make the Canadiana feel like home. Our large common area and patio allow guests to meet each other and make lasting friendships.

100%

What an amazing place! Very clean, organized, and had very helpful staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the fantastic review! We hope that you will stay with us again soon!

83%

Is exactly in downtown, 2 minutes from the subway and from the cntower. Is full of nice people, great breakfasts, pool table and activities. Very nice.. the onely thing is that it wasn't so clean and I bet I saw a rat trap in the atrium, witch stinks a bit... over this I raccomand the place! Beautiful stay and a lot of people. Good prices for students!


80%

The best part about this hostel was the patio that most of the travellers would hang out and drink their own alcohol and there was also a free pool table that was fun. The breakfast was only available until 11 - I only got the chance to have it one day and it was just toast. Overall I would probably stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! Not having a bar on site allows travelers to drink their own beverages on the patio and enjoy some friendly pool tournaments. Hope to see you again soon!

46%

Es roch in dem gesamten Gebäude nach Katzen!,,, die Matrazen waren durchgelegen. Es ist wirklich nur etwas für Leute die eine woche oder mehr auf einem Campingplatz verbacht haben, oder nicht besseres finden konnten. Ich war ävor einigen Jehren dort und muss sagen, abgesehen vor der Lage hat diese Unterkunft nichts zu bieten.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Es tut uns leid, dass Sie nicht genießen Sie Ihre Zeit mit uns. Wir erlauben keine Haustiere in dem Gebäude, so dass ich nicht sicher, wo die Katze Geruch herkam, aber wir haben alle Zimmer überprüft, um sicherzustellen, dass sie sauber sind bin.

(1007 results)


View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback