Hostelworld.com

Canberra City YHA

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 649 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 649 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3
Canberra City YHA Located at 7 Akuna Street, City, Canberra.
Canberra City YHA
Australia
Canberra Australian Capitol Territory ACT 2601 7 Akuna Street, City
81% 649
-35.2817371 149.1324520
Canberra City YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th May 2016
6.9

Hostel was nice, staff friendly, and had nice chillout area with free foxtel. Decent location next to shopping centre. Hostel was fairly quiet for a Saturday night, mix bag of people staying. Decent enough stay for one night to crash and check out Canberra.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd May 2016
6.9

The staff was blur, probably new to the place. didnt even know what YHA stands for and got our rooms mixed up. Good location and clean nevertheless

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • NJWanless
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
21st Apr 2016
8.3

Clean, tidy, good location and some great facilities (though I didn't get chance to look at them all). But there is no atmosphere at all. Found it very difficult to meet other guests let alone become friends with any of them. Maybe it was just quiet when I was there, I've found this to be an issue at other YHA's too. Need more power outlets in rooms, I could only find 2 in a 4 bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Apr 2016
8.6

Nice clean hostel - feels like a hotel after staying in some backpackers in Sydney - but incredibly quiet and the only people we saw regularly were much older. Great facilities but basically no atmosphere. Very expensive per night, free wifi was sketchy for us and when they were changing beds they didn't change the pillow cases or duvet covers, only the fitted sheet and loose sheet. That said, it's your only choice in Canberra so enjoy...!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2016
8.9

Excellent

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • francescaweil
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Apr 2016
9.4

Great hostel if you want some peace and quiet Pros: -Cleanest hostel I've stayed at down the east coast - kitchen was cleaner than my one at home -Kitchen large with lots of utensils/ cooking areas -Rooms are comfy and spacious -There's a pool, spa and steam room you can use ! -Very central location - Quiet so you get a good nights sleep Cons: - You have to pay to store your luggage - Not much atmosphere:lots of older people, workers and families: definitely not a party hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
7.4

kept awake til 2am because of the nightclub in the same street. great if you're heading out to party, not if you're trying to be up early for sight seeing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Mar 2016
7.1

Super clean, good infrastructure, well sized kitchen, excellent location. Sauna and pool. Lots of families and elders. They rent towels for 2 dollars and bikes for 20/day. Every door has to be opened with the card key - even the bathrooms. All doors slam the hell out of it (not good if you have a light sleep). I would say it was good... but I felt it didn't have a soul. Just a perfect neet business... with no heart.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ethiopia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
5.7

Please provide lockers with keypad. Staff need to be more friendly. When i arrived at 11pm which was already mentioned in the booking, front door was locked and the staff inside was looking at me like i had nothing to do there. Cleaness of showers and toilets need improvement as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
20th Mar 2016
8.6

Great rooftop space. Always clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.