Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Canberra City YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 753 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 753 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Feb 2017
6.0

Seriously overpriced hostel with no atmosphere

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Feb 2017
7.7

Well located, exceptionally clean hostel. Only stayed one night so can't really comment on all aspects of the hostel, but I really liked the balcony area and the idea of bikes for hire. Hostel is a bit quiet but has the right ingredients to make it fun if you're there with a group. Rather expensive for what you get - but that is Canberra in general. If you have to stay in Canberra and want a hostel experience, and aren't afraid to be bold to make it a good one, I highly recommend this place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
7.1

Good central location, lots of places to relax and rooms spacious. Quite a large hostel and there were generally facilities to cater for this. Ddnt see many other hostel options so this seemedition best. Bad is fact key kept stopping working (about 6 times) so kept having to go to reception who kept saying I must be keeping it near something magnetic when it was either in my pocket on its own or tucked in my passport. 2 tier wifi system is frustrating and the cafe should have been open longer.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2017
8.3

Great location - close to the city centre and walking distance to a lot of highlights in town. The 8 dorm accommodation had a reasonable amount of room, a locker and bath towels are hired for $2. Would I stay here again? Yes

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jan 2017
8.9

Jonathan in reception was super helpful :) had a great stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
9.7

A very good hostel in an awesome city. I stayed in Canberra for only two nights but it was enough to see everything. The rooms were pretty big and the air conditioning worked very well. Everything was clean and there were a lot of places to relax.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.0

Canberra itself was boring but hostel was cleanest I've stayed in - great showers. Nice rooftop area, Indoor pool & sauna made it feel like a spa after the places we'd stayed in, shame the pool was indoors and the jacuzzi/spa part of it wasn't working but can't complain too much. They said wifi was only in reception but it worked in rooms which was a bonus. Good sized lockers in the room with two plugs in them too. Great hostel but very pricey - could've included breakfast to soften the blow!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
8.6

Staff were a little rude on check in. Location good however canberra doesn't have much to offer... good swimming pool and sauna. Big kitchen with lots equipment to use, loads of fridge space. Really nice showers and toilets. Good air con and wifi. Nice rooftop/chill area. Stay here if you do go to canberra however wouldn't recommend staying in canberra, skip it if you can! Nothing to do

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

This place was great. Friendly and helpful staff, very clean rooms and located near a beautiful park and shopping area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Dec 2016
8.3

Located right next to the main mall in Canberra, this big hostel offers everything you want, except much chance to meet fellow travellers. All rooms are clean, there are enough bathrooms with good showers, a roof-top and huge common-area, a big kitchen, spacious dorms with dorms and tables, elevators, stable and fast wifi and even the staff is friendly and very helpful. Just because Canberra is a place where people stay for a short time meeting new friends is difficult.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.