Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Canberra City YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 813 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 813 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
20th May 2017
3.7

Awful staff very rude and unhelpful. Rooms are littered with bowls and plates and absolutely stink. Showers hardly work and the WiFi is shocking. Incredibly overpriced for what really is a very poor hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
19th May 2017
7.7

Nice and big YHA, great location, friendly staff, clean and good facilities. Only minus that you needed your key to go to the bathroom and showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
7.7

I stayed here for one night. It's location is good in the city and the hostel itself was nice but, especially considering it was a Friday night, there was no atmosphere at all and few people to socialise with.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2017
8.0

Location is good as its very close to bus stops, shops, cafe, offices of interest and eateries. Walking distance. Not so much to the Parliament but public transport is very close by. Hostel is clean, lockers in room, spacious room, kitchen is packed with utensils and storage, entertainment area and veranda is comfy and friendly staff (Dan). Only qualm is the music and crowd from bar nearby can be heard (from top level room) hence found sleeping difficult. But there's always earplugs

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
14th Apr 2017
7.4

Nice hostel, very big and not the best atmosphere. The kitchen is too small and things get stolen. Wifi only works in common areas..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
8.0

Kitchen is a bit too busy and often dirty on dinner time. Rooms and beds are comfortable. Wifi working well. Overall nice people and atmosphere. Very nice BYO in the kitchen and common lounge area. The hostel is also very central, book in advance if you want to secure your parking spot!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Apr 2017
7.4

The hostel is in a great location in the city, near to all the shops and a walking distance to the major attractions. It is also clean which is great. Issues I had was with the breakfast which was not great, the reception staff were not always the most helpful or knowledgeable as well. Otherwise, good experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
9.4

Overall, really nice hostel. Great location, clean, comfortable. There is free wifi on the main level, but no casual place to hang out besides the kitchen, which is unfortunate. There were a few times where my key stopped working but the front desk is open 24/7 so that helped.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2017
9.7

Oh my gosh, what wasn't to love about Canberra YHA?! Clean, cosy, lovely staff and plenty of facilities including a Sauna and a massive entertainment room. Loved every minute of staying here. Even if someone did steal my friends food, but hey that's the risk right? Just brilliant, fab location too, wish our stay could have been longer!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
8.9

There are only two hostels in Canberra and this yha is the best choice! Swimming pool and sauna!! What I didn't like are the many school groups and long term labourer. I was allowed to use all the facilities after my checkout until 11 pm. Everything nice, just a bit expensive!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.