Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Canberra City YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 773 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 773 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Mar 2017
10.0

Nice hostel with friendly staff, good location. Canberra is a bit hard to get around on foot so recommend renting a bike or taking the bus. Kitchen was big and well-equipped, and they left the cafe open for extra seating, which was nice! T

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2017
8.3

Good place to visit in Canberra. The facilities provide everything you need. The place was very clean. Has a nice sitting area up the top of the building. Not much of an atmosphere but nice to relax with others.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Mar 2017
7.7

Have to pay for wifi and lockers which seems like it should be a given these days. Some staff were super helpful some weren't. The facilities are fabulous and clean. The location was super central.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
8.0

Easy to find and a great location. Excellent first impression with the entrance/reception, cafe on site and a warm welcome. The room was on the small side and the best way to describe it - well used. Functional and everything I needed. No complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2017
8.9

Great hostel, quiet and very clean! They tried to charge us extra for breakfast by mistake but they gave us our money back when we told them about it! Close to the center and big facilities

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Feb 2017
6.0

Seriously overpriced hostel with no atmosphere

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Feb 2017
7.7

Well located, exceptionally clean hostel. Only stayed one night so can't really comment on all aspects of the hostel, but I really liked the balcony area and the idea of bikes for hire. Hostel is a bit quiet but has the right ingredients to make it fun if you're there with a group. Rather expensive for what you get - but that is Canberra in general. If you have to stay in Canberra and want a hostel experience, and aren't afraid to be bold to make it a good one, I highly recommend this place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
7.1

Good central location, lots of places to relax and rooms spacious. Quite a large hostel and there were generally facilities to cater for this. Ddnt see many other hostel options so this seemedition best. Bad is fact key kept stopping working (about 6 times) so kept having to go to reception who kept saying I must be keeping it near something magnetic when it was either in my pocket on its own or tucked in my passport. 2 tier wifi system is frustrating and the cafe should have been open longer.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2017
8.3

Great location - close to the city centre and walking distance to a lot of highlights in town. The 8 dorm accommodation had a reasonable amount of room, a locker and bath towels are hired for $2. Would I stay here again? Yes

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jan 2017
6.0

Lot of long term stays. Didn't really feel like a backpacker hostel (for good and for bad). It's all right if you're going to Canberra but I wouldn't recommend you go there

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.