Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Canberra City YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 667 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 667 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
Canberra City YHA Located at 7 Akuna Street, City, Canberra.
Canberra City YHA
Australia
Canberra Australian Capitol Territory ACT 2601 7 Akuna Street, City
80% 667
-35.2817371 149.1324520
Canberra City YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Jul 2016
6.6

This place charges you for everythinggg (using wifi in your room is $5 for 24 hours or $10 for 72 hours; no free luggage storage; $4 for washing and $4 for drying clothes; etc). The place was also full of a school group when I was there who ran up and down the hallway for a lot of the evening. My dorm was for six people but there was only one power outlet in the corner of the room. Showers were like a game of goldilocks, always too hot or too cold and rarely just right. One plus: huge kitchen.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
6.6

I went for a night out, I had a warm place and bed to stay, if it werent for the other inconsiderate people in the room that took my bed it would've been ideal

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
8.9

Not much going on atmosphere wise, But that didn't bother me too much as I was only there two nights. Rooms were a good size, bathrooms were clean and the desk staff were very helpful when my key stopped working, and good about explaining the busses I needed to catch. Good central location too, near the bus stations and shops. You have to pay for storage after checkout, which is annoying, and there's not wifi on the ground floor and not a great connection. Altogether it's fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
27th Jun 2016
6.6

The common areas of the hostel were all freezing with no heating. However the hostel staff did provide extra blankets upon request. The kitchen was spacious with plenty of facilities and the bathrooms and bedrooms are clean. The breakfast offered by the hostel is also good. The hostel has a weird vibe though and is more for older people with full time work and no backpackers in sight. Only plugs in one corner of the room, and then only 5 sockets for a 8 bed dorm?

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
6.6

atmosphere?

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jun 2016
7.1

Nice hostel, just had a poor atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
6.9

Great Location. However being used by many locals including the friendly neighbourhood ice addict who shared our dorm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2016
9.1

Bike rental was great. This hostel was very clean and secure, but the atmosphere was almost clinical. Hard to meet other backpacker types, as there was a large noisy group of elementary schoolers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th May 2016
6.9

Hostel was nice, staff friendly, and had nice chillout area with free foxtel. Decent location next to shopping centre. Hostel was fairly quiet for a Saturday night, mix bag of people staying. Decent enough stay for one night to crash and check out Canberra.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd May 2016
6.9

The staff was blur, probably new to the place. didnt even know what YHA stands for and got our rooms mixed up. Good location and clean nevertheless

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.