Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Candela & Chocolate

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • machylane
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
7.7

Good price, comfortable beds. Not too clean but stayable. Close to markets and stores, over all a good place to stay. And you can leave your bags for free if you want to do the lost city trek or tayrona beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Feb 2017
5.4

Location is okay, but it's not very clean and the shower is like two raindrops, actually not even enough water to wash your hair. I wouldn't go again!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jan 2017
8.6

Friendly reception staff, very good value for money! Rooms were a little hot but lots of fans provided! Mosquitoes were a problem but that is everywhere in santa Marta- would recommend for a cheap bed for the night

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jan 2017
7.7

Definitely worth the money. The kitchen was better than I expected (decent pots, pans, knives etc), so easy to cook a meal. I stayed in the big dorm, which was fine. It's hot, but there are fans. Staff is always on hand to let you in, and there are safety deposit boxes for your valuables, no security issues. It's clean enough, and laundry service is fine also. It's right in the center of town, very close to the beach. Highly recommended if travelling on a budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
7.4

It is a pretty simple hostel, but overall it was pretty good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Jan 2017
7.1

We stayed for 3 nights and it was very good for the money. There is just one bathroom for the 10 beds dorm (it says there are 8 but is actually a 10 beds dorm) and it is amazingly dirty. The rest though is well maintained, wifi is just awesome quick and the overall feeling was OK.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2017
8.0

A good base for doing Santa Marta and the Ciudad Perdida trek, they let us leave our bags for the four days. There couple of hammocks and some benches. Overall a decent hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
8.6

The hostel was fairly basic but sufficient. The location was awesome, a few blocks from the beach and boardwalk. What really stood out was the amazing staff and owners. They were helpful and trustworthy. They held our bags for two days after our stay while we went to Parque Tayrona and they meticulously catalogued and checked each item and had they ready and safely waiting upon our return. They really went out of their way to be helpful even when we were no longer guests! Awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
6.6

i was fourt days in candela y chocolate hostel. the experience was good, so the place and the personal are very nice. however the cleaning it¨s no so good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
20th Dec 2016
8.0

Too many mosquitos at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.