Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Canguru Hostel Paraty

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
8.9

Loved this hostel. A bit away from the main square but the walk is nice. All the staff was really helpful and made our stay really enjoyable. We loved the dogs too!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
8.9

Such a laid back hostel with awesome staff! Definitely make sure to check out the art work, chill with the dogs and ding that bell for cachaca ;D

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
10.0

This hostel is amazing...booked 3 nights stayed 6 and had to force myself to leave even though i didnt want to.... one guy had been there 2 months lol. super safe and secure and the staff are fantastic. lots of activities to do and things to see. Also theres a supermarket right next door and the beach is 40meters away if that. Big shout out to Andre and the team...... oh did i mention free cachasa.... hmmm

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
21st Feb 2017
8.3

Great friendly staff, good vibe at the hostel. Quite a walk from the town/bus station but easily done and nice to relax by the beach. Ham and cheese toasties were a breakfast highlight.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • s_walshy961
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Feb 2017
10.0

Amazing place. Really nice homely feel and the staff make you feel super welcome. It's about a 10 minute walk from town but don't let that put you off, it is totally worth it. I could spend a long time at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
14th Feb 2017
10.0

We had an amazing stay at Canguru. The hostel staff are great... so friendly and helpful and they really want to make sure you have the best stay. The breakfast is awesome, the rooms and bathrooms are spacious and the location is great... it's a 12-15 min walk into the historic centre but it's much nicer staying near the beach! The hostel also has lots of lovely dogs... it's a home away from home :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
10th Feb 2017
9.7

One of the best hostels I have stayed in in South America! Great social atmosphere and a cool bar. Staff are super friendly and helpful, telling you about what you can do in the area. Comfy beds and good WiFi with a great cinema room! There is also a supermarket 2 mins away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Feb 2017
9.1

Awesome homemade ham and cheese sandwiches for breakfast, dog's wondering round like they own the place, Super Mario on the N64 projected onto the wall of the chill out room, and a stone's throw from a beach where the water is like a bath. Safe to say on my return to Paraty I will be staying at Canguru! Thanks Bruno, Andre and the gang for making our stay so enjoyable. Bubbleboy (spot me on the wall up the stairs).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2017
6.3

Good on paper but lacks a good vibe. Also... we were told that booking a transfer to Ilha Grande with the hostel was the cheapest option. Sadly it isn't.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Feb 2017
10.0

Staying at Canguru was a home away from home. Security was excellent, as well as cleanliness - and the atmosphere was the best I have experienced in South America. The staff were always helpful and would go out of their way to help - I didn't want to leave! Location is only 15 mins walk from the city centre - which was perfect to be out of the hustle and bustle, VERY close to the beach as well as a supermarket. Andre and the team, thank you for having me, I had a wonderful time in Paraty.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.