Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Canguru Hostel Paraty

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Sep 2017
9.4

Loved the hostel and Paraty so much I stayed two extra nights. There was a huge kitchen, really nice garden and a bar. The dogs and cat were lovely too. The location is about 15 mins walk from the centre but it's easy enough and really scenic so wasn't a problem. There is also a supermarket literally 30 seconds away. The staff were great and really made you feel at home, especially Andre and Marcelo who helped us made Brazillian food. The bathroom could do with a deep clean. Hope to return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Aug 2017
9.4

I really liked this hostel. The place was great and the staff was even better!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2017
9.1

Excellent hostel! I really recommend it if you are coming to Paraty! Genuinly one of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed at, the facilities and rooms are clean and basic and what you would expect (if not better) but it is the staff which really make Canguru so fantastic - they go the extra mile to do everything and anything for you and really make you feel welcome! I will defenitely be back! And they have very nice dogs and a very friendly cat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Aug 2017
10.0

It takes truly special people to treat strangers like family. Not only do the Canguru staff do this, they also make sure all the guests talk to one another. Even a rainy, cloudy Paraty was unforgettable because of the beautiful people here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel with amazing staff in an incredible location. Everyone at the hostel really becomes your friend! There are two medium sized dogs that live at the hostel so if you are not a dog person you may want to think twice about staying there. It was an incredible experience and one of the best hostels ever!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2017
9.4

Great hostel with super nice and super attentive staff!! Everyone was very kind and generous and really cared that we had a good stay. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Jul 2017
9.1

Staff were brilliant, they made us feel at home and even took us to the bus station when we had to leave. Lots to do there and lots of social events too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
9.7

The hostal wasn't full during my stay but staff did a great job creating a nice and welcoming atmosphere. We went out dancing, visited some beaches and waterfalls nearby and even meditated and did morning yoga. Everything was clean and the shared kitchen is pretty complete. The place itself is amazing with Guri's graffiti everywhere!! Even though it isn't located in the city center, the 15-20 min walk there is very nice. Loved the dogs too! Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
8.9

Nice hostel a bit further away from the main town compared to many other hostels in Paraty, but right next to a nice beach and I didn't mind the stroll into town. Was very quiet when I was there since it's low season but the staff were friendly and the three dogs and cat really livened the place up. Great facilities and a nice chill room with a massive screen for video games, netflix, etc. No lockers in the rooms however, and the ones available in the main lobby were small. Enjoyed my stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
25th May 2017
10.0

Loved Cangaru! This friendly, low key, super clean hostel is one of my favourites so far. It's most exceptional feature is the staff - I felt welcome from the moment I arrived which is particularly nice when traveling solo. There's a big kitchen, tons of garden to lounge in, a fun bar, great cinema room with projector and my room with en suite was spacious and fresh. Not in town but loved being by the beach. Can't speak highly enough of the staff ...plus friendly dogs that love a cuddle :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×