Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Canterbury House Christchurch

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 294 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 294 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
12th Mar 2017
7.7

Overall nice place, friendly and helpful owners. A bit far away from town though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • amcgrathwnec8854
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Mar 2017
10.0

Had a wonderful stay at Canterbury! It was very quiet and comfortable. Especially loved the garden out back. The owner was very welcoming, let me store my bag all day after check out and even offered me a lift to the bus station that evening. Will definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
9.7

Great place to stay for the budget-minded traveler!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Jan 2017
10.0

We had a fantastic stay. The hostel was impeccably clean, great facilities, beautiful garden and comfy beds. The owners were really helpful, giving us tips on trips and an annotated map of places not to miss. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • janeats
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
9.7

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The location is ideal for a quiet stay. To say that this place is clean is an understatement! It is extremely tidy. The hosts, Alan and Kieko, are AMAZING and very helpful with ANY questions you may have. I just want them to adopt me! :) The facilities are great and I felt safe at all times. If I were to come back to Christchurch I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jan 2017
9.4

Fabulous kitchen, beautiful garden, great hospitality. Would stay again and recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
9.4

Lovely stay at Canterbury House in Christchurch. Very quiet and homely place, and Keiko and Alan were wonderful hosts.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • KuribosShoe
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 60 reviews
7th Nov 2016
6.9

Good place all around. Extremely knowledgeable and helpful staff. Very quiet atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.