Hostelworld.com

Canterbury House Christchurch

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 8.4
Canterbury House Christchurch Located at 257 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, , Christchurch.
Canterbury House Christchurch
New Zealand
Christchurch 8013 257 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch
86% 256
-43.5202158 172.6438181
Canterbury House Christchurch
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
8.9

Really easy to walk to everything you need, owners were always offering me a lift if I needed it or advice on where to visit. I just think the price was probably a bit high for me to stay there again in a single private room. It was very quiet & a good nights sleep with a cute cat.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st May 2016
10.0

Good place, no complaints

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 36 reviews
21st Apr 2016
8.0

A very hospitable hostel adapted for short stays - 7 days. With full conveniences including kitchen & dining facilities, quiet areas, garden & daily housekeeping. Close to bus transport & next door to a pub/restaurant.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Apr 2016
7.4

One of the cleanest places we've stayed, good security and not too far from Christchurch's recovering city centre. Only complaint would be that all available bathroom and kitchen facilities become closed for use from around 10 for cleaning which can be quite inconvenient if you need to shower or use the loo!! Also being part of the owners house made for quite a quiet atmosphere - perfect if that's what you want but not if you're after a more convivial time. Very welcoming and helpful hosts.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st Apr 2016
8.6

Went you first walk into Canterbury House you might a little surprised, this is basically a converted house. However our stay at Canterbury House was extremely pleasant with both the owners being polite and helpful. The house itself house a wonderful garden, is spotlessly clean and is well located being only a 20 minute walk to the centre of town. As typical for New Zealand 100mb of internet data was available for free per evening.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
7.4

Nice and quite place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2016
9.1

Nice wee hostel. Everything's all good, if a bit precious. Really safe and sweet sort of place - for the upstanding sort of folks.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2016
9.7

Wonderful clean hostel. Great showers and the kitchen was clear about what to use. The hosts were kind and helpful. Just a tiny bit farther from the downtown than we thought but a bus goes right by their street. Bar restaurant next door and good food shopping in walking distance. Would recommend to anyone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kebeliever101
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
13th Feb 2016
8.6

Lovely place. I was warmly greeted and given a tour on my arrival by a great member of staff and Alan, the owner, dropped me off at the bus station the next morning saving me an hours walk, so kind! The hostel is great, with excellent showers and comfy beds, plus a really good atmosphere that makes it very easy to meet people. Another bonus was the free washing machine + clothes lines!! Could improve by supplying lockers, but not essential. Highly recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2016
9.7

They were so kind and accommodating. I felt very comfortable and right at home. Beautiful garden in the back to relax. Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.