Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cape Byron YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 638 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 638 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st May 2017
8.6

Great location, majority of staff were nice and helpful. Not much atmosphere due to being out of season. Rooms clean. free wifi only in lounge area not in rooms. A focus on promoting social events would help especially being out of season.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2017
8.3

Brilliant location right near the beach with a great chilled atmosphere. The staff are helpful and friendly whilst the facilities check all the boxes. Would definitely stay here again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Apr 2017
8.6

Was an ok hostel, amazing location (right in town, close to the beach and an Aldi). Small lockers in rooms, good sized kitchen, slightly chilly pool! Didn't find it incredibly social, there wasn't much going on to get people together and found the social space was just everyone not talking and on their phones. But reception were lovely and so helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
10.0

Fab hostel! Amazing location in the middle of town and decent facilities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
9th Apr 2017
6.3

Really expensive for what you get, bad wifi that only works in the reception area, dirty kitchen with bad pans and not not even a drop of oil or some salt.. The crowd was not the best either, lots of long termers and older (cranky) people, that I don't get why they are staying at a youth-hostel...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.6

we had a nice stay here! you can rent bikes for free, very friendly staff and the facilities are okay. though there is no wifi in the rooms and the one in the reception area is really bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • robertgardner6
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Mar 2017
6.3

Not the greatest place I've ever stayed, the rooms had no air con and were really small meaning they got very hot at night when there was 5 people in there, even when the temperature was in the mid 20s. Despite the staff where pretty friendly and helpful and it's close to the beach and town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
6.9

Not bad but room got real hot with only 1 fan and it was only in the mid twenties. Couldn't sleep and there was no where else to sit or try to sleep outside the room as all the lounge / pool areas are closed off during the night.. I feel the lounge area should be 24/7 at least... the pool makes sense. Don't rely on the free parking, we were lucky and there was 1 spot left underground.. it is a nice secure park but only limited spots so you might miss out and have to park on the metered street!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
7.7

Don't know about this one. Staff is nice. Pool and facilities are good, but Internet is truly terrible and they close the common area and internet at 10PM. A bit painful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Mar 2017
8.3

Very well located hostel. Quite lively, music playing during the day but despite being in a five bed dorm I did get a good nights sleep. The only downside is that I was one of the lucky ones to get a parking space as there are VERY FEW and parking in Byron is not free! I feel that the very limited parking should be stated in the hostel website. Good showers and kitchen and helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.