Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cape Byron YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 557 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 557 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.2
Cape Byron YHA Located at Cnr Byron & Middleton Sts, Byron Bay, Byron Bay.
Cape Byron YHA
Australia
Byron Bay New South Wales 2481 Cnr Byron & Middleton Sts, Byron Bay
86% 557
-28.6438580 153.6148524
Cape Byron YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Dec 2016
9.1

Really good, chilled hostel close to beach, bars, shops etc. Good pool area and everything is really clean. Although rooms are quite small so get hot with no air con

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Dec 2016
8.3

Not a bad hostel at all- has some long termers, but that's every hostel in Australia and comes with its problems. The staff were great and the location was awesome. I'd go back if I were returning!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Dec 2016
6.9

Expensive

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Dec 2016
8.3

Cool hostel, quite chilled atmosphere generally but people there were super friendly. Weekly BBQ that happened to be held on my first night staying was a good way to make friends quickly. Staff were pleasant too. Only a couple on minutes from the main beach. Practicalities - rooms, toilet, showers etc were pretty decent, on hotter days lack of air-con might have been a problem but things were comfortable during my stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
8.9

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Not a party hostel at all, seemed to be quieter people staying who wanted a good nights sleep which suited fine! Amazing location in the middle of the town. Free bikes and surfboards and wifi in common area, lockers and luggage storage. Only issues were unstable water temp in the shower (constantly fluctuated) and the heat in the rooms. 5 bed dorm overheated so bad even with fan in the room many guests keep doors open at night to cope. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Oct 2016
8.0

This is a really cool hostel with some great people & good atmosphere. The deck area closes at 11pm which is a bit annoying but understandable since it's next to the owner's living quarters. Free wifi is worthless, I bought hi speed. Showers are good. Kitchen is EXTREMELY dirty. No clean sponges, lots of dirty dishes, & saw a couple cockroaches. Bring your own sponge. People steal food and dishes in the kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Oct 2016
9.4

After staying at two party hostels before this one in Byron Bay, I was relieved that this wasn't one. It has a nice social vibe but doesn't get out of control. Our dorms were checked daily by housekeeping emptying our bins regularly, and the restrooms were fairly clean as well. The only thing that's missing is special discounts for a nearby cafe because they don't offer food. They do, however, offer, special dinner deals twice a week. Super friendly staff as well!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Oct 2016
7.4

Staff were great, helpful and informative and embodied the laid back yet friendly Byron vibe. Lots of long term stays made the atmosphere slightly cliquey, and some of the rooms were very cluttered. Nevertheless it's a great hostel if you just want a base to go and explore Byron from, with all the facilities you could need (free body boards and bikes included)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Oct 2016
9.4

Really rated this hostel, everyone was really friendly. Only stayed one night so didn't get a proper feel for the place but the staff were very helpful and the rooms/facilities were good. I'd of stayed longer if I could. Stayed start of October 2016.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
9.1

Staff was really nice, also the free guided tour to the lighthouse. Very good atmosphere and close to the beach and Woolworth. One negative point, the window right above the showers are opend the whole time, so it showering was a little bit cold.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.