Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cape Byron YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 585 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 585 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Feb 2017
9.7

Perfect location, clean and well laid out rooms, large kitchen and heaps of socialising space. Pool is great when you've had too much beach! Loved it here would definitely go back!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Feb 2017
8.9

The staff at this hostel are LOVELY and give the place a great atmosphere. Bathrooms aren't the cleanest but it's manageable, the $5 BBQ on a Tuesday is great value for money! And free bike hire is amazing. Definitely do the walk to the lighthouse! If you need any advice on Byron just ask the reception they're so knowledgable and friendly. And they're right in the centre of town next to all the shops and cafes and 5/10 min walk to the beach! One con: If you want wifi in your room you have to pay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Feb 2017
10.0

3rd time here, never had a hassle. Everyone's easy going, had no problem sorting out after hours arrival too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Feb 2017
7.1

Good facilities and great location. I found tooms cool enough to sleep in even without aircon. Only downside was that there always felt like there were so many people and the kitchen was quite dirty

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
8.6

We arrived to the hostel to two younger members of staff who were very unhelpful and made us feel very awkward, however the staff for the following days (older men) were very helpful and happy to answer anything for us. Good location, alcohol allowed and kitchen was clean and massive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
8.9

Love this hostel! Helpful staff, nice big pool and kitchen that were both quite clean. The rooms are seriously hot at night because the fan situation is not great. Don't stay here if you just got to Australia and can't take the heat. Wifi is just in the common room. Other than that I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2017
9.7

Fantastic place to stay! One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in, and definitely my favourite in Byron. Perfect mix of everything - always something to do or people to meet, otherwise its so comfortable as a place to just chill by the pool and take it slow. Loved it and after only booking for a few days originally I kept on extending and extending and found it so hard to leave.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Feb 2017
7.4

Lots of long termers here. 6 bed dorm was big enough with lockers, but no air con so was ridiculously hot, having to sleep with doors open. Often found room door was open all day as long termers come and go. Bathroom facilities very dated and seemingly rarely cleaned. I know it's by the beach and things get sandy, therefore the showers should be cleaned more often. Kitchen was ok, but people reluctant to tidy up after themselves so it was messy. Good location with a pool though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
8.3

Sucks that the free wifi does not work so you have to pay for wifi anyway.. rooms are really hot and two small fans for 10 people is not enough at all.. had to sleep with the door open. Other than that the hostel is great. Pool and kitchen is nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
7.7

There is no air conditioning in the rooms and it is unbearable during the summer months!! My friend and I were so sad that the lack of air con forced us to leave Cape Byron YHA a day early and find alternative accommodation just so we could sleep through the night. It is a shame because everything else is great. Cool staff, great atmosphere, clean rooms. Only other issue was the poor WiFi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.