Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cape Byron YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 543 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 543 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
Cape Byron YHA Located at Cnr Byron & Middleton Sts, Byron Bay, Byron Bay.
Cape Byron YHA
Australia
Byron Bay New South Wales 2481 Cnr Byron & Middleton Sts, Byron Bay
87% 543
-28.6438580 153.6148524
Cape Byron YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
8.9

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Not a party hostel at all, seemed to be quieter people staying who wanted a good nights sleep which suited fine! Amazing location in the middle of the town. Free bikes and surfboards and wifi in common area, lockers and luggage storage. Only issues were unstable water temp in the shower (constantly fluctuated) and the heat in the rooms. 5 bed dorm overheated so bad even with fan in the room many guests keep doors open at night to cope. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Oct 2016
8.0

This is a really cool hostel with some great people & good atmosphere. The deck area closes at 11pm which is a bit annoying but understandable since it's next to the owner's living quarters. Free wifi is worthless, I bought hi speed. Showers are good. Kitchen is EXTREMELY dirty. No clean sponges, lots of dirty dishes, & saw a couple cockroaches. Bring your own sponge. People steal food and dishes in the kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Oct 2016
9.4

After staying at two party hostels before this one in Byron Bay, I was relieved that this wasn't one. It has a nice social vibe but doesn't get out of control. Our dorms were checked daily by housekeeping emptying our bins regularly, and the restrooms were fairly clean as well. The only thing that's missing is special discounts for a nearby cafe because they don't offer food. They do, however, offer, special dinner deals twice a week. Super friendly staff as well!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Oct 2016
7.4

Staff were great, helpful and informative and embodied the laid back yet friendly Byron vibe. Lots of long term stays made the atmosphere slightly cliquey, and some of the rooms were very cluttered. Nevertheless it's a great hostel if you just want a base to go and explore Byron from, with all the facilities you could need (free body boards and bikes included)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Oct 2016
9.4

Really rated this hostel, everyone was really friendly. Only stayed one night so didn't get a proper feel for the place but the staff were very helpful and the rooms/facilities were good. I'd of stayed longer if I could. Stayed start of October 2016.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
9.1

Staff was really nice, also the free guided tour to the lighthouse. Very good atmosphere and close to the beach and Woolworth. One negative point, the window right above the showers are opend the whole time, so it showering was a little bit cold.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
8.6

My week at Cape Byron YHA was a total blast. As a solo traveler I was able to meet some absolute gems. The hostel location is perfect, its close to all the fun times so getting home at night was no struggle, but it's not amongst the madness. The staff is terrific as well. There was always a great guy behind the counter ready to help out. Todd and Louis are legends. Todd runs a wicked walking tour on Tuesdays and Fridays. Definitely worth a go. I'd definitely stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
20th Sep 2016
9.1

I really loved this hostel it is one of the best I have stayed in. What really makes it great are they people who work there. The walking tour was fantastic! The place is very social and it's easy to meet new people as a solo traveller. Only thing I would say is that the rooms could have been a bit more modernised. Overall a really good stay and I wish I could have stayed for longer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
9.7

The free bike rental is brilliant!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2016
9.7

It has a really good location, just like 10 mins away from the main beach. The place in general and the bathrooms are realky clean and the atmosphere is cool, everyone is chillin all nights. bad wifi Chicos esta mega bien este hoatal por lo que cuesta, todk muy limpio, y el staff atento. Esta cerca de la main beach y siempre hay gente tomando en las arras sociales. El wifi no tan bien pero todk lo demas esta perfecto. Hay cocina grande y en realidad esta facik estacionarte si traes coche.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.