X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cape Town Backpackers Reviews

New Church Street 81, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
882 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The staff was super helpful and the secure parking was an added bonus. Good location, fun environment.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Cape Town Backpackers was a fantastic place to stay as a solo traveler! It was inexpensive, within walking distance of most attractions, and the staff was incredibly helpful! They helped arrange airport pickup, car rental and gave lots of good solid advice about exploring logistics. There are always other solo travelers who are game to explore with you! I extended my stay after a few days and would definitely stay there again if I ever head to Cape Town!

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff is fantastic and helpful and the location was great, as well. The bar had good options at good prices, the wifi worked pretty well, and the breakfast was basic but inexpensive. It's not the cleanest place, and there were several very long-term guests being shuffled around different rooms/beds which created an interesting, not always good, dynamic. The hostel also had a good layout/common area for chatting with other guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We did have some long term guests here that were studying English at a language school not so far from us or that had just moved to Cape Town around the time you were here. Glad to hear you that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed our facilities. Thanks for the review!

66%

This was hostel is a great price and you get what you pay for. We stayed there for three nights and unfortunately the bathrooms were never clean while we were there. There were some people who seemed to be living at the hostel/staying for several weeks and they often were loud and did not show much regard for the regular guests. However, the staff were very help, friendly, and great to talk to. This hostel has great location with lots of restaurants, bars, and cafes nearby. Wifi was reliable.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Happy to hear that our staff lived up to their great reputation! Our location is fantastic and can't be beaten!. Our bathrooms are cleaned daily but sometimes guests use them after our staff have done their rounds. We had some guests that were staying long term studying English at a language school close by and other guests that had just moved to CT. They did create a lively atmosphere at the bar! I guess that's to be expected when you move to an exciting city like this. Thanks for the review!

89%

Great location and value for money, Wifi wasn't working for a bit but the staff fixed it. All in all great place to stay and would highly recommend it.

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We just can't be beaten for location! Glad to hear you enjoyed your time here with us.Thanks for the review!

71%

Good value and location in Cape Town, but not super sociable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jo, sorry to hear that the atmosphere was not what you expected - it is the middle of winter and it is a bit quieter than summer... but for the most part there is still a good vibe at our newly decorated outside seating area with people braving the Cape Town winter in order to get some pints down their throats! thanks for the review!

91%

It would be nice in the shower to have a soap and shampoo holder as you need to put it on the floor. It will also be nice to have a light next to each bed as I stayed in a 6 bed dorm and there was only one lamp in the room although luckily I was the only person in the room and could use it,yah!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good call with the soap holders - we'll certainly look in to that. Also, we're re-doing our dorms, and putting light fixtures and plug points by each bed - the dorm you were in was previously a private room, so we have't gotten to it just yet! Appreciate your review - feedback like yours really helps ! Hope to see you again soon!

80%

Good Hostel , hostel no 206 on my list so yep , seen a lot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
WoW! 206 hostels! That's incredible! Glad you've enjoyed being with us, and thanks for the review!

83%

Good place, facilities good , nice special came in handy for me in my time of need.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I see that you've also extended your stay with us.- glad to hear that you've enjoyed being here. Thanks for the review!

100%

Very nice thanks I had a good stay everyone was cool

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review - when you have a break from your work out in Somerset West pop by again, it is basically just up the road - and definitely pop by again before you head back home to NZ!!! :-)

100%

Friendly Staff who is knowledgeable about the area and willing to help you with anything!

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review Ms S :-) We're fortunate to be located in a cool area and our team does tend to get about a lot because of that, so know the area well (mostly the local bars ;-) ) Hope to see you again soon!

100%

Thanks you guys! Loved Cape and loved the backpackers. Would definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review "Jrelias" :-) Sorry about the weather, we did order sun, but unfortunately it was not delivered. Hope you've enjoyed all the tours you've booked with us and gotten the most out of your stay, despite the downpour of rain we've had!

49%

Our rooms weren't cleaned and very dirty on arrival, doors locked but always opened after return. Breakfast was good though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your constructive criticism. Our cleaning staff tend to each room daily, and mess may be created after the staff have done their rounds. Our housekeepers lock the doors after tending to each occupied room and it is likely that another guest may have left the room unlocked - with our 24hr staffing, CCTV cameras scattered around the hostel and key code access to the hostel, you items are still secure :-) Thanks for the review!

91%

Great staff, the atmosphere with the other people backpacking is awesome. It's ideally located 1min far from kloof street and 5min far from long street. Ottherwise it's also close to public transports, shops, and touristic sites like table mountain or the waterfront. If I go back to cape town I'll go there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed yourself - our location in the city center does make the hostel really special - hope to see you again soon, and thanks fr the review!

60%

There was no wifi for most of our time there and staff did nothing to help this. If you need wifi to communicate, get ubers, online bank, etc. do not stay here.

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, It is Africa, and sometimes our internet service providers are not altogether reliable! Our Wifi issues are now resolved so you can Uber to heart's content next time you're in town (or we can call a cab for you)! Hopefully the lack of internet access to not detract from the wonderful sights in the city and you still had a great holiday. Thanks for the review!

100%

Five star! As a visiting student, Cape Town Backpackers was a great place to stay while I was sorting out more long term accommodation. The staff was friendly and very helpful and the vibe was super chill. Thanks for a great introduction to Cape Town!

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Enjoy Cape Town and best of luck with your research here. Thanks for the review!

80%

Sorry I ran off with your luggage room key!

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Not a problem at all, we've got spare keys for days!!!!! Hope you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for the review!!! :-)

100%

funny staff, good food and place in the city and happy people :-) perfect

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad you enjoyed the stay and we loved having you here, We were all a bit sad to hear that you won't be coming back to Cape Town soon, but hope that you do come back eventually! Thanks for the review!

69%

it was quite dirty, inlcuding bathrooms, kitchen and bedrooms. i would have felt much more comfortable in a cleaner environment.dish washing is supposed to be done after using it and not left behind dirty till the next morning. apart from that did i enjoy the stay there. close to bus stopps and long street, nice staff and good prices as well as infos on trips. and i met really nice ppl there ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The bathrooms and bedrooms will tend to be a bit "used" when the hostel is very busy, but our hardworking housekeeping staff do get into every corner of the house each day, and sometimes facilities are used after they have done their rounds. The kitchen... you are 100% right!!! It is a communal kitchen and users are supposed to wash their own dishes after use. If they don't it may sit until our housekeeping staff get on duty and are able to clean up after them. Thanks for the review!!!

100%

Great and, clean and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Cape Town Hostels

Please give us your feedback