Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cape Town Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1030 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1030 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
8.3

The hostel stay was wonderful. Great central location to walk to places (Waterfront) and a close to drive to Table Mountain & Lions Head Mountain. Facilities were kept clean, water was hot. Staff was very helpful, it was great someone was available 24/7 if needed. If i was to add a few things i would add More outlets into 6 person dorm rooms (2 is not enough.) Some of the beds could use either being oiled or replaced as they were extremely squeaky. Street parking was fine no issues.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • danielsant1401
  • Malta, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
6th May 2017
9.4

+++Very nice and helpful staff, good internet connection throughout and clean facilities. Location is great - at the centre of Cape Town and a fifteen minute walk from the feet of Signal Hill, Lion's Head and Table Mountain. ---No individual power outlets for each bed (just two outlets for a dorm of six people!). A 5% charge applies on credit/debit cards.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • road2parin
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
9.4

I stayed at this place for 7 nights with my parents and it was a good experience. This place is located in the center of the city which is a plus point. The healthy breakfast was included during the stay where they served combination of Muesli-yoghurt-fruits which was nice but daily, it was the same and no variety. I think they need to plan to install a fan in the rooms as it gets hotter in the daytime. Overall, these are minor things otherwise we were always welcomed and helped with a smile.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Parin, Thank you for your review. It is great to hear you had a good experience. We are definitely working on changes to our complimentary breakfast. We also have fans in our rooms, and i checked the room you have stayed in. It was on the top of the cupboard, could be that one of the ladies moved it whilst cleaning I do apologize for that. Our team wish you all the best with your travels and hope you will visit again. :) Best Regards CTBP team

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Mar 2017
10.0

Lovely, helpful and friendly staffs, Camille, Doniel, Leo. While i stayed in this hostel everything was just perfect. And I liked theirs breakfast. It was my first stop in cape town. After spend first day and I decided to stay here a few days longer. Location is good for walk to long street and vert quiet at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Yerin, Thank you so much for making time to write us a review. It was great to have you here with us!! We wishing you all the best with your journey of exploring the world and hope that one day you will visit us again. Best wishes CTBP Team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
10.0

I can't say enough about this property. James and Doniel were extremely welcoming hosts, as well as the rest of the staff. There was always someone there 24/7 to happily assist with questions about the area. I like this property because while there are areas to socialize it isn't a party hostel. I like that it's a very short walk/uber to long st because you avoid the loud scene but can access it easily. I had room 10 and it was clean with my own bath and patio. Highly reccommend to my clients.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good day, Hope you doing well.:) It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Thank you for your feedback. Wishing you all the best and hope you will visit our beautiful city again soon. Best regards Doniel

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Mar 2017
7.7

Clean and nice hostel. Good location. Sometimes the staff was rude and we hade to wait a lot to get some service.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
6.0

Nothing more than a warm bed really. Staff was weird and gave off a good vibe and there was no vibe at all among visitors. A lot of strict rules for absolutely no reason it seemed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2017
10.0

Would strongly recommend go anyone looking for a place. Couldn't ask for more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
10.0

I loved staying at the Cape Town BackPackers. I didnt have any problems, I spent two great weeks. I would especially like to thank the Staffs! Very polite.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
10.0

Really enjoyed my stay and will go back any day. I can however advise that signs should be put up to remind the visitors that there is a water shortage and that taps need to be closed properly, especially in the showers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.