Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cape Town Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 984 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 984 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.3
Cape Town Backpackers Located at New Church Street 81, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town.
Cape Town Backpackers
South Africa
Cape Town 8001 New Church Street 81, Tamboerskloof
79% 984
-33.9285903 18.4094085
Cape Town Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
5.4

A lot of sand on the floor and no bed mats to remove the sand from the feet. Just not what we have expected from the photos that we have seen. Motor cars are not secure although it was said on the website.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
6.3

Definitely could do with installing few more power points in the dorms or bathrooms. Make sure you charge your batteries before you visit, and buy some cereal for breakfast as it isn't provided

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
8.0

The staff was absolutely outstanding and very helpful throughout my stay. The facilities themselves were decent, but not the cleanest I stayed in during my stay in Cape Town. There's a bar within the hostel that makes a great atmosphere for meeting other backpackers and socializing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
5.4

They do not have secured car parking. We need park on the road . Someone broke into our car and robbed all our stuff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
6.9

After 5 nights in the dorms wouldn't recommend. The rooms are clean, the showers and kitchen satisfactory. But with the exception of the girl in reception on day shifts who was extremely friendly and helpful, I found the staff surprisingly rude at times. main culprits the English owner of the hostel and the guy behind the bar. It didn't seem rare for stuff to be stolen in and around the hostel, the 10 o'clock noise curfew killed the vibe. And my bed kept being given away. Overcharge on tours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Nov 2016
4.9

I wouldnt reccomend this hostel. The showers and bathroom facilities were rather dirty and rundown. Some of the staffmembers acted a bit weird and unfriendly, pushing to buy expensive bustickets or not willing to tell the charge of a small amount of laundry (and charging a 100 rand, way too much, afterwards). My most expensive shorts 'disappeared' during laundry. The guy thats probably the manager didnt do good to the atmosphere, quite a dominant character (shouting at staff, etc.).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th Nov 2016
9.1

I did enjoy this hostel a lot, but I also fell in love with Cape Town. Staying at this hostel helped with that experience, it made me feel like I was at home, which was something I've needed since I started traveling. The staff, the breakfast chef, and the managers have been nothing, but hospitable. The location was great as far as restaurants and bars go, which wasn't a big deal because Uber is soon cheap here. Also, the laundry service was fantastic!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Oct 2016
8.6

Great staff who helped us organise everything and good location near long Street and lots of nice bars and restaurants. Unfortunately the atmosphere was spoiled by a large group booking in the hostel which was a shame so not many chances to meet other people etc this time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
7.4

Thanks to James for the winery suggestions - Rainbows End experience was amazing! Wouldn't have seen it without your suggestion.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2016
10.0

Really friendly staff, clean facilities, and a great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.