X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Cape Town Backpackers Reviews

New Church Street 81, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
804 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

I liked it, the staff were great fun. The beds are very clean; which is important. Good mix of people. Spent Christmas day there, the staff tried very hard to make it fun and as Christmassy as they could. If I have concerns it's the room security. You get a lock box for valuables but is small, couldn't fit my kindle in. Nothing for the backpack. You can leave computers and the likes at reception but that didn't suit me. Toilets were too few and far between so a lot of waiting required.

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

Private room: blood and stains on the sheets, bathroom dirty and mouldy, balcony door unlockable (staff wasn't interrested). Very loud and noisy. The pictures on internet didn't portray the truth! Whole room made the impression that it wasn't cleaded before arrival. No value for money!

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The stay was wonderfull but security was lacking as my car was burgaled in the secured parking and received menial help from the staff

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Great location for a hostel. Level of service from the majority of staff was very poor and unfriendly. Not a great hostel experience in terms of meeting new people on your travels.


80%

Great hostel. Very social without being too noisy at night. Had a good sleep every night I stayed here. Loved the bar! Only negative thing about this otherwise charming hostel was the kitchen which was often dirty and didn't have a proper stove to cook. But there was a breakfast menu every day and many places to eat nearby. Would visit this hostel again.


66%

Very basic hostel. Reflected in the affordable price. Nice staff. The hostel does not have lockers but only small safes. My car got broken into right outside the hostel so be sure to make use of the off street parking offered. Very basic hostel. Clean enough. The Backpacker (about 100m away) is more expensive but a better hostel. The bar is very affordable and met some cool people.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

We stayed 6 nights here, 5 in the 10 bed dorm and 1 in a private ensuite double. The dorm was good apart from the floor hadn't been swept for a while and it sounded like a heard of elephant were in the bar upstairs from 6am every morning (cleaners). The double room was ok. It was clean but a little dated, the thin walls and noisy stairs didn't give us the best nights sleep. The kitchen equipment needs updating but was clean. Wifi is good. General atmosphere is good with friendly staff.


94%

Could not recommend Cape Town Backpackers more highly! I stayed for 6 nights and had a fabulous time. Very easy to meet people as a solo traveller. Big ups to the staff who were all legends.


89%

This hostel is in a great location in CT with heaps of restaurants and cafes in walking distance. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Great is the daily breakfast offered by the hostel - good value for money. One point of critic is the toilet and bathroom situation. There are just not enough toilets and bathrooms in the hostel and the fact that toilet and bathroom are often times in the same room makes it even worse.


80%

Sometimes loud due to the street but pretty calm at night, cleanliness okay but not outstanding. All in all a very nice stay, cool location, friendly Staff and good breakfast. Would definitely book again

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

2200 hour quiet time not observed. Staff indifferent to our concerns.

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

my bed sheets were stained in an off-puting way... otherwise the hostel was great!

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Good hostel but not well taken care of. Light fixtures are broken. Bathrooms not very clean but manageable. Saw a dead cockroach from the day before which again goes to the point for the need to take care of the place. Staff were nice and helpful. Location was really great and quiet.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a great stay at Cape Town Backpackers. If you go to Cape Town stay at Cape Town Backpackers and ask for Room Nr. 4. Try the Sowetan Toilet at the bar. Thanks to Lena and Sarah for making the days in the hostel even more fun.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This place was excellent, really good end to my rtw trip. The staff were like friends, great advice on tours, where to shop etc. My bed was clean, the room was clean, the bathroom was clean, it's got a great vibe but the bar shuts in time for sleep, great mixed cloud, it's in a great location. Just a good hostel, like a proper hostel should be. You can tell I liked it ;)


100%

Had a great experience! Really appreciate the advice Andy gave me about tours and overlanding. Now on my way to Kenya:)


89%

Good breakfast!

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic experience, meeting people was incredibly easy and even with people in and out on a daily basis my stuff was fine.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff are fantastic, very enthusiastic and excited to help you make the most of your time in Cape Town.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Breakfast is delicious, so are the drinks at the bar. Staff was very accommodating. Wi-Fi is very poor and should be fixed.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback