Hostelworld.com

Cape Town Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 946 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 946 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.5
Cape Town Backpackers Located at New Church Street 81, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town.
Cape Town Backpackers
South Africa
Cape Town 8001 New Church Street 81, Tamboerskloof
81% 946
-33.9285903 18.4094085
Cape Town Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Apr 2016
9.1

Excelent location with good atmosfere, good hostel to stay in Cape Town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
6.6

we left our car in the car park up the road and they broke into it and stole our shoes that we had left... apart from that we had an ok stay. the stuff wasn't too friendly and seemed rather bored but the hostel itself was ok. make sure to get a room in the back it is a lot nicer :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2016
8.9

Its a good hostel for a short stay. I had no problems during my two night stay. Had to buy my breakfast but that was ok. Plenty of room the chill out and relax.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2016
8.9

Good location, calm but close to center, friendly and helpful staff, excellent atmosphere, was a great time in Cape Town!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Mar 2016
9.1

Very nice hostel with good size rooms and clean showers, very helpful sfaff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2016
9.1

Cape Town Backpackers was a great hostel! It was a great atmosphere with a lot of great places to hang out. I would absolutely stay here again. The only downsides were that the refrigerators that everyone could use clearly hadn't been cleaned in weeks. They smelled like rotting foods. There was also a shortage of working bathrooms (we only had 2 for two 8 person dorms and a 6 person dorms) and outlets (there were 3 in our room for 6 people. Also, the bunk beds in our room were not very stable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2016
9.1

Really helpful and friendly staff, clean dorms, nice communial areas and close to lots of restaurants. Only negative were the bathrooms which were old and tired. Special thanks to Lindy, super helpful and friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2016
9.1

The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. I thought the bathrooms were a bit tired and could do with either a good cleaning or paint job. The staff made up for that though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2016
6.0

Hostel was nicely located with decent rooms and facilities; lets say you've got what you paid for. Girl working on the reception had really unpleasant attitude. It is not like we were there to spend time with her, but you would expect somebody more fun and positive in a hostel to make you feel this amazing backpackers atmosphere. She was just ruin it with every single interaction.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jan 2016
7.7

As amazing as the staff and the location was I couldn't get over the dirt and grim in the hostel. The bed sheets were dirty and stained in our private room and there was piles of dust in the corners. I felt really uncomfortable taking showers there. Our private room was right beside the kitchen where there were people talking all night. We moved to a dorm room and it was much quieter (still not clean) The dorm room was much better value for money. The entire hostel needed a thorough clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.