X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Capital Comfort Hostel Reviews

1610 7th street NW, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
297 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Tiny cramped rooms, coed bathroom, they don't have a key to give you for the main door, so if you want to be out at night, you have to call the guy so he can let you in. Fine for one night, but I wouldn't want to stay a whole weekend.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Second time staying here and very happy.

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


43%

there's no window and many resident people in there. they are not student. maybe they seems to illegal entrant. location is not safe. I felt dangerous one black guy is starring at me. It was terrible memory to me. I never go there again.

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I really want to thank all the staff for making most of my stay comfortable . The place is in a very popular location and offers the cheapest accommodation in the city. The staff are willing to take suggestions and are always receptive. I highly recommend this place for all sorts of travellers. It definitely is not

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Cheap but very basic place. Front door lock was broken. Wifi okay. Kitchen dirty and old equipment but had oven. Dirty / old linen on beds. Mixed gender bathroom with no changing areas and see through shower curtains. Loud nightclub next door and paperthin walls. Staff not around before 9am or after midnight. Cold.


94%

Very nice

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

This place is great, although I can see it being a bit dodgy if it gets busy. Basically there are 20 beds and only 1 (although really big) bathroom. When I stayed there, there were maybe 10 people, so this was fine. But if it was busier maybe it would become annoying. The staff are eager to please and very nice, although it's a 2 mile (3km for people who use sensible measuring systems) hike to the mall however, so unless you want to metro everywhere (which is still feasible) be fit.

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Good value for money for its location but as far facilities no no .just one shower and toilet for 24 people so if you OK with it ..rest it's jolly good like home away from home


100%

Very friendly and helpful staff. The hostel is within walking distance of all the major sites in dc. Rooms were warm even during the extreme cold in dc. it is also by far the cheapest hostel in the area.


77%

Common area was poorly furnished. There were no forks and only one blunt knife in the kitchen. But a lot of unusable bulky furniture on it.That brand new tvset in every room was unusable too because of lack of space. So a lot of goofy things were there. But this place have few distinctive advantages: grate location and low price and apparently therefore it's without a rival.


66%

The location was great and the staff really friendly, but the beds were not comfortable and it was not possible to close one of the windows so it was really cold. Oh and If your staying over the weekend you can expect loud music.


77%

David was awesome. Told me about all sort of places and helped me with printing and tickets! Excellent staff. The showers are not really private, as the walls are made of glass. The rooms were like WAY too hot. But it was adjusted when we went to the counter and told them. Music next to the room was extremely loud and stopped at two am. A very good hostel for the money I would say!


86%

The only potential issue was, guests are limited to one bathroom per approximately 20 people. However, if you are in no rush this isn't an issue. Rooms are a good size and you are within 30mins walk from main attractions. You can't do much better for the price 😄

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

One bathroom for over 20 people, and using the shower means the toilet cannot be accessed. I heard its temporary facilities, but still..


94%

The bathroom one day wasnt clean

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

After reading all the negative comments, I was quite apprehensive about staying here. However, the stay was quite alright – with no loud noises, friendly room mates, helpful staff, and working facilities.


80%

Staff was very friendly, room was perfect for the cheap price!


100%

Fantastic time there over 2 weeks. Staff very friendly and. most city facilities within walking distance. Great Smithonian museums all free! Very clean overall but not great privacy in the showers.....if you are female you can lock the door though! Met some really nice fellow travelers there. Slightly cold in the kitchen but not a big problem. Very reasonably priced indeed. Very handy supermarket just down the road. Also a VERY cool painting of a young Liz Taylor just around the corner as bonus!


74%

The lockers smallers and broke it. The bathroom pretty dirty and the toilet broken.

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Didn't have heat in the room (they provided me with a smaller heater) and the outlets in the room did not work (they had to plug into numerous extension cords from OUTSIDE of the room to provide me with electricy for my electronic devices.... which was a very dangerous situation). No one was there also to get my room key at the front desk and so I left it in the room. DO NOT GO HERE.

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback