Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1273 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1273 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Feb 2017
8.9

Cute little hostel in a great location. It's got a lot of character inside. Just a 20 min walk from Union Station and just a 20 min walk to all the monuments and museums on the mall. Nice kitchen, clean rooms, good showers. Only complant was that the internet dropped fairly frequently.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Feb 2017
10.0

I felt safe, welcomed and everyone was so nice. The place is clean and close to everything. The uber rides were 7 dollars to the white house and it was just awesome! Phil was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
8.0

I had a great time. The staff was friendly, everything clean and confortable, the wifi didn't work very well in the bedroom though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Feb 2017
6.0

The bathroom was pretty dirty and the rest of the hostel didn't seem that clean either. A lot of the people there were kind of odd during my stay- one woman kept touching herself in the room and one guy followed my friend and I aren't the hostel and watched us at the sink while we were getting ready for bed. I didn't feel comfortable hanging out there. It is in a safe area close to metro, Chinatown, restaurants and coffee shops and its central to almost everything in DC.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
7.4

Good value for the location but I had two cold showers while I was there. In January. Others have commented on this in reviews in previous months so I hoped it would have been fixed. It wasn't.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hey there, we do agree that we can do a better job training guests, and we'll work on it! We have tank less water heaters that produce hot water on demand forever. However, if a guest is one of the first to take a shower in a long time, there is a BUNCH of cold water in the pipes, and it NEEDS to run through first - can take up to 5 minutes, depending on what level your room is, and how cold it is outside =)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
8.0

I had no trouble there and the facilities were adequate. One issue is the hot water for the showers- you cannot count on it staying hot long.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

The Capital View is a really nice hostel with very friendly staff. It is located only 7 minutes walk from the Union Square. The bedrooms and bathrooms are kept clean at all times. The hostel even offers free coffe and pancake mix for breakfast. I can highly recommend this place, it's cheap and provides great service!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Dec 2016
10.0

Close to Union Station, the place is an affordable option for all kind of travelers. The neighborhood is safe and there are plenty of dining options nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Kenya, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Dec 2016
6.0

There was a really laid back attitude by staff, after check-in there's limited contact they have (don't even have check out or proper/safe baggage storage) Cold water in the shower in winter was the worst experience The room kept overheating and understating with no internal controls Great company at the hostel though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • marko_lonnberg
  • Finland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 40 reviews
25th Nov 2016
7.1

Their wi-fi is pretty much nonexistent most of the time and when it works it's only in the lobby room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, we've fixed the wi-fi issue by getting better wifi extenders, thank you for your comments.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.