Hostelworld.com
Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,195 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,195 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7
Capital View Located at 301 i street NW, , Washington DC.
Capital View
USA
Washington DC District of Columbia 20001 301 i street NW
84% 1195
38.9012700 -77.0151472
Capital View
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
9.7

Awesome place. My first time in hostel. It was totally worth. Was there for couple of hours and made good friends. Will be back again. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
8.6

Very nice staff. Location was good, but it was about a half-mile to the nearest metro stop. Still a nice neighborhood. Beds were a bit uncomfortable, mostly because I could feel the wire in the mattress, so my back hurt from that (or I'm just getting old!) The outlets in one of the bathrooms didn't work at all, but I just went upstairs and used the other ones. It could be kind of difficult to get a shower in the morning (only 2-3 showers per floor.) Really enjoyed the people and the atmosphere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • gustavoschv8612
  • Brazil, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
13th May 2016
4.6

Wow, this was a bad hostel. Aside from the very good location (easy to get around by foot), it was bad in all aspects. Beds and linen extremely uncomfortable. Blinds would only go down up to 3/4 of the window, which means waking up at 6am by sunshine. Staff shrugged upon complaint. Few and tiny bathrooms for all rooms (even in private room). Water ran cold in the middle of the shower. Reception only open after 10am. "Storage room" was a wide open hallway, accessible to everyone with even a door.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th May 2016
10.0

Brilliant location with really friendly staff, great value for money would definitely stay again!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Apr 2016
8.9

Great staff, Very kind and helpfull. The location is amazin! Just a fell blocks a part of the main attractions. The only problem was the shower, it hadn't hot water! The water was hot only for 1 minute and than become cold! Than happend all the times that I take a shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
8.6

This hostel is located mid-way between Mt. Vernon, Union Station metro stations and is slightly closer to the Gallery/Chinatown stop. It is a great location on a quiet street. They offer access to Gold's Gym and a pool (I did not use these). There is a washer and dryer but it was unavailable before 3 pm as it was in use by the facility for linens. When I tried to access it late at night the door was locked :( . A note on the office door says staff is available between 10am-10pm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
8.0

Spotless, basic hostel within twenty minutes' walk of the centre: bit scary outside late at night but great security inside and lots of taxis nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Apr 2016
8.0

Decent hostel just outside the main touristy bit of DC. One restroom per floor can be a problem but showers were fine. Only other problem was heater blowing hot air all night, don't get a top bunk!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
5.7

I've stayed at 10 hostels in the last few years and this was the worst one. Checkin took forever, the staff is completely incompetent they had my reservation all messed up and came into our private room twice w/o knocking b/c of it. Bathrooms were disgusting - some had no hand soap, showers were cold and low pressure, lots of mold in one shower. It's obvious they aren't going to fix anything b/c the block it's on will soon be taken over by a new condo building (just look at google earth peop

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your input. It was actually only the second shift for the girl who checked you in, we apologize if you thought she took too long. The reservation was very clear on our end though, 5 nights in the same room, so not sure what mess up you are referring to. Water pressure is great everywhere, possibly you were here while city was doing water main repairs. We have a professional housekeeper every morning for 4 hours and staff stays vigilant throughout the rest of the day. We clean and fix everything (like missing hand-soap dispenser). Google earth has only us, as it has present buildings and not future plans. We also are not aware of anyone trying to build a condo here any time soon. While we are here, we strive to improve every day.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
9.1

really good hostel, brut the mattress really should be changed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hey there, We went ahead and changed it. For future guests - pleaaaaaassssse mention this to us. We get new mattresses YEARLY, so if any one of them don't feel right, let us know, and we'll get it taken care of!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.