Hostelworld.com
Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1,203 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1,203 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.3
Capital View Located at 301 i street NW, , Washington DC.
Capital View
USA
Washington DC District of Columbia 20001 301 i street NW
82% 1203
38.9012700 -77.0151472
Capital View
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jun 2016
6.6

Only stay in dorm bed. Private room astronomically expensive. Only redeeming feature ability to cook. Power fused on two occasions. Problem with fridge. No hot water in kitchen. Not enough bathrooms/toilets sometimes clean sometimes not. No bbq on roof as advertised. Staff however welcoming and friendly. Only stay at this hostel as last resort.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • sabzilic9666
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jun 2016
4.6

The only good thing about this hostel is the location otherwise I would highly recommend not staying there. I only stayed one night however I had no sleep! There was a school group staying there for what must have been a few nights. There seemed to be no supervision from the teacher therefore allowing the kids to run riot all night. They were running up and down the stairs, screaming and slamming doors. What was even worse was after no sleep all night was there was no running hot water!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th May 2016
5.7

Capital View is in a great location and has good features... However many of them weren't working! Very little maintenance or cleaning is happening. E.g. 2/3 fridges in the kitchen were out of order, the tap in the bathroom sink wasn't attached, the door to my room wouldn't close properly, there was a lot of damage to the walls and carpets. In general the places was quite dirty: the bathroom wasn't cleaned and everything in the kitchen was sticky. Fine to sleep and get out but not for the co

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
9.7

Awesome place. My first time in hostel. It was totally worth. Was there for couple of hours and made good friends. Will be back again. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
8.6

Very nice staff. Location was good, but it was about a half-mile to the nearest metro stop. Still a nice neighborhood. Beds were a bit uncomfortable, mostly because I could feel the wire in the mattress, so my back hurt from that (or I'm just getting old!) The outlets in one of the bathrooms didn't work at all, but I just went upstairs and used the other ones. It could be kind of difficult to get a shower in the morning (only 2-3 showers per floor.) Really enjoyed the people and the atmosphere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • gustavoschv8612
  • Brazil, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
13th May 2016
4.6

Wow, this was a bad hostel. Aside from the very good location (easy to get around by foot), it was bad in all aspects. Beds and linen extremely uncomfortable. Blinds would only go down up to 3/4 of the window, which means waking up at 6am by sunshine. Staff shrugged upon complaint. Few and tiny bathrooms for all rooms (even in private room). Water ran cold in the middle of the shower. Reception only open after 10am. "Storage room" was a wide open hallway, accessible to everyone with even a door.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th May 2016
10.0

Brilliant location with really friendly staff, great value for money would definitely stay again!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Apr 2016
8.9

Great staff, Very kind and helpfull. The location is amazin! Just a fell blocks a part of the main attractions. The only problem was the shower, it hadn't hot water! The water was hot only for 1 minute and than become cold! Than happend all the times that I take a shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
8.6

This hostel is located mid-way between Mt. Vernon, Union Station metro stations and is slightly closer to the Gallery/Chinatown stop. It is a great location on a quiet street. They offer access to Gold's Gym and a pool (I did not use these). There is a washer and dryer but it was unavailable before 3 pm as it was in use by the facility for linens. When I tried to access it late at night the door was locked :( . A note on the office door says staff is available between 10am-10pm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
8.0

Spotless, basic hostel within twenty minutes' walk of the centre: bit scary outside late at night but great security inside and lots of taxis nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.