Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1281 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1281 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Apr 2017
8.3

Basic accommodations in a great part town. Friendly staff and fellow guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.6

The hostel is in a good location, you can walk anywhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
8.6

This is my second stay at HostelWorlds in Washington DC and overall it was good. The location was great, only a 10 dollar cab fare to any attraction. The staff were very helpful and answered all my inquiries. My room at Capital View didn't have an overhead light nor did it have a shelf or hanger bar in the closet. The electric hand blower in the bathroom was going on and off on its own . Pretty scary when you're in the shower. Would I stay there again ? Yes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
9.1

Although I read about cold water in shower in the reviews before booking but it still came as shock. I stayed just one night and don't really mind cold shower unless it was freezing outside. It was a moderately cold morning so I was ok. Other than that's its safe and ok to live if you are not too fussy about things.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
8.6

It's nice hostel close to Chinatown. It's safe area and only two metro stations from museums and the Mall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2017
8.9

Cute little hostel in a great location. It's got a lot of character inside. Just a 20 min walk from Union Station and just a 20 min walk to all the monuments and museums on the mall. Nice kitchen, clean rooms, good showers. Only complant was that the internet dropped fairly frequently.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Feb 2017
10.0

I felt safe, welcomed and everyone was so nice. The place is clean and close to everything. The uber rides were 7 dollars to the white house and it was just awesome! Phil was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Feb 2017
8.0

I had a great time. The staff was friendly, everything clean and confortable, the wifi didn't work very well in the bedroom though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Feb 2017
6.0

The bathroom was pretty dirty and the rest of the hostel didn't seem that clean either. A lot of the people there were kind of odd during my stay- one woman kept touching herself in the room and one guy followed my friend and I aren't the hostel and watched us at the sink while we were getting ready for bed. I didn't feel comfortable hanging out there. It is in a safe area close to metro, Chinatown, restaurants and coffee shops and its central to almost everything in DC.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
7.4

Good value for the location but I had two cold showers while I was there. In January. Others have commented on this in reviews in previous months so I hoped it would have been fixed. It wasn't.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hey there, we do agree that we can do a better job training guests, and we'll work on it! We have tank less water heaters that produce hot water on demand forever. However, if a guest is one of the first to take a shower in a long time, there is a BUNCH of cold water in the pipes, and it NEEDS to run through first - can take up to 5 minutes, depending on what level your room is, and how cold it is outside =)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.