X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Capital View Reviews

301 i street NW, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1051 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

I spent 3 days in the Capital View (Fri-Sun). In that short period I needed the help of the staff members and twice they were not there. First, on saturday 9:30AM, and the second sunday 3:30PM. In my opinion, any hostel should have a staff member available for their guests 24/7. I chose to stay in a four bed room. However, the room I stayed didn't have a nice smell and the mattress was old and warped. All really clean. It was the good point .

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

THE GOOD: Convenient location, full kitchen, nice staff, comfortable rooms. THE BAD: Mattress sagged, showers unnecessarily squalid, final price "to pay on arrival" listed by Hostelworld was wrong (you have to pay extra for taxes etc. when you arrive), inconsiderate guests in the next room were very noisy after midnight (because hostel staff leave at 10 PM so there's nobody to solve problems). THE UGLY: Saw a gun shooting outside our window Saturday night, scared a huge rat in the kitchen.


77%

+Security at each door +Space to chill out -Shower was not truly warm and water flow was not adequate. -Beds were not comfortable at all. -WIFI signal very weak in some rooms


86%

Staff is very friendly and helpful. You have to take off your shoes and walking with sox.


89%

We had a great time staying in Capital view, we met a lot of nice people. The staff were always willing to help. It is likely that we'll stay again in this hostel whenever we visit DC. Nevertheless, there are some key points that they should be keeping in mind. There was only one bathroom and a trash basket shared by 10 people, imagine the rest... sometimes is crazy. Plus it wasn't the cleanest place in world. Also, the soap dispenser was broke for almost whole week. No free soap

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Just perfect combination of quality/price. The stuff is very welcome and ready to help. The only problem was that the kitchen was a bit dirty. They have even catch a mouse on it, but it is good that they have finally found it. Apart from this it was just great to stay there.


37%

This hostel has BED BUGS and RATS! In the first day we arrived we found bed bugs in our beds and we asked to change the sheets but didnt work. We would like to change the hostel but all of the hostels were occupied. We talked to the staff about the rat in the kitchen but they say that they could do nothing about it. They were never nice to us and the bathroom it was always smelling. I would not recommend this hostel.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Sara at the front desk rocks! Overall good experience, a bit expensive but I think all f DC is. It was very quiet when I stayed there so I felt pretty comfortable.

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Fantastic apartment, fluffy towels. Great stove & utensils. Couch a tad small for 2 . TV in Lounge & bedroom. Quiet at night. Pool & spa excellent.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

There was only 1 toilet for two 6-bed rooms on my floor. Otherwise it was handy for the city centre but semi quiet and felt safe/secure. Warm too, as the weather was beginning to turn chilly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. The other room on your floor is actually only a 2bed dorm, so there are 2 showers and a restroom for 8 people, best ratio for hostels in town.

89%

Had a great stay at Capital View. Good location and clean, and the rooftop was an added plus. Met some great people there, and the staff was real chill and nice -- Stanley was quite the man! Except I would be careful when taking his advice for directions haha ;)

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Check-in was smooth and the receptionist was lovely. We had to leave our luggage in the hallway because we arrived few hours prior to the marked check-in time. It would seem much safer if there were a luggage room for these occasions. The room itself was ok, nothing special but everything necessary was there. Although the bathroom was also ok, we had some problems with hot water - sometimes there wasn't any and few of us had to shower with cold water. Overall it was an ok and a basic hostel.


57%

- Even though it was promised on the website, the wi-fi was not working anywhere except the reception hall! - There was mold in the bathroom - Bedsheets were not clean enough - There was constant noise coming from the washing room, which was always heard in the common living room and the kitchen.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really nice place! Friendly staff and clean hotel!


97%

The hostel is great.


74%

I spent 2nights at this hostel,i booked a female dorm and on the last night we just got a guy roommate,he was snoring so loud i bearly slept that night.The staff was good,but it wasn't the cleaniest hostel.


69%

We arrived after 10pm but were unable to gain access to the hostel because the email containing our door code was only sent on the morning of our arrival date. Being visitors from overseas our phones can't pick up emails unless we are connected to WiFi, so we were stranded outside for close to an hour before somebody on the roof terrace heard us shouting for help! Once we were let in, the chap who checked us in was really friendly and helpful.


66%

On arrival we got a nice welcome from the staff, but having to take your shoes off was quite weird.in the room we were staying in, we could barely connect to the WiFi.the bathroom was REALLY small and not that clean. We even saw a rat running down the hallway.the rooftop patio is actually quite nice, but it was really noisy for the rooms next to it.normally you wouldn't be able to stay on the patio after 00:00 but apparently that doesn't matter when the staff are the ones making all the noise..

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Fantastic hostel, located within walking distance of all the sights in DC. Definitely check out the bar/restaurant on 4th and i, just over the road, which has a late happy hour after 10pm. Busboys and Poets was also a great place to grab a bite. Roof terrace of this hostel is ideal for a few late night beers!


100%

We booked a private room with en suite which turned out to be awesome. We stayed at a site separate from the hostel which was a fully furnished luxury apartment. That was a pleasant surprise. I wish we had stayed longer. We hope we will back sooner rather than later.


« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback