Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1,253 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1,253 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
Capital View Located at 301 i street NW, , Washington DC.
Capital View
USA
Washington DC District of Columbia 20001 301 i street NW
79% 1253
38.9012700 -77.0151472
Capital View
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • marko_lonnberg
  • Finland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 36 reviews
25th Nov 2016
7.1

Their wi-fi is pretty much nonexistent most of the time and when it works it's only in the lobby room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, we've fixed the wi-fi issue by getting better wifi extenders, thank you for your comments.

21st Nov 2016
7.4

Location is perfect, close to most atteactions. Chinatown is only a ten minute walk, so it is easy to find some cheap and delicious food. The room fee is quite cheap. Generally this hostel is nice. However, there are two things thatI need to mention. 1. The water supply system isterrible. Water comes out in a very small amount and temperature changes from times to times, which is a disaster In winter time. 2. Check in after10 pm will be charged 10USD. First hostel I met that charge this.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • pilgreen1350
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Nov 2016
6.9

Great location and the staff are really nice. The bathrooms are pretty gross and there were bloodstains on my pillowcase and actual pillow. Good thing I was exhausted the night I checked in and didn't realize it (the blood stains) until the morning (!)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for your comments. We throw out any such items right away (obviously), and we didn't see anything of this sort; however, it's likely that the cleaners already got rid of them, as they saw it in the morning. We want to make sure everyone has a pleasant stay, and we replace all of our sheets/towels/and even covers and pillows, including mattresses on a routine basis - essentially constantly.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Oct 2016
7.7

Staff are cool and location is prime. Main faults are that wifi does not work throughout hostel and that there is an issue with a hand dryer that goes on non stop next to the room where I stayed, it sounds like a vacuum cleaner.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Oct 2016
6.3

Out of 4 of the lights in our room 3 of them didn't work, and the fourth needed another bulb. In the bathroom near the private rooms, one of the lights was out. No hot water at the other bathroom sink that had lights. Bathrooms were pretty dirty. Shower Curtain was pull down on one shower and didn't appear to even have a shower rod. I'm pretty laid back when it comes to certain things but light and hot water are both. Location is decent.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hey there, sorry about the mishaps. We've replaced all the light bulbs that may have been overlooked or out. We also checked on the hot water, and since we use tank less water heaters with on demand hot water - we did see it work properly. For the next guest - keep in mind that it simply takes a bit of time, for hot water to arrive, as cold water is pushed through initially through the pipes. Thank you!

5th Oct 2016
6.3

The late check-in procedure is a little confusing but they were able to help me out. Although it seems as if someone should be on staff later than 10 pm. The office hours were such that I never saw any office staff (10-10). The showers were not hot. Many times I took a shower in cold water. I may have been able to blame it on an adequate supply of water but usually I was one of the first to take a shower. Additionally the bathrooms were not very clean. The room was clean but bad mattress.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hey there, thank you for your comments. We'll go through and look for any bad mattresses once again, or maybe if you read this, you could let us know where it was. We have mostly brand new mattresses acquired this year, with just a few from last year as we upgrade very often; however, as of last inspection they all seemed comfy. The showers do use tank less water heaters, so please just some patience when getting the hot water started if you're the first person to use it. We do pride ourselves on cleanliness, and have hired additional personnel, so as to have two cleaning staff on duty, to make sure we're able to turn the hostel over faster.

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Sep 2016
8.0

Great location. Food atmosphere. They should improve in cleanliness.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hey there, thank you for your comment. We do care, and we do act on it! We're retraining all of our cleaning staff to make sure guest expectations are met better.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Sep 2016
9.7

Great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
6.0

Stay somewhere else! The location is great, offers street parking but this is not a "luxury hostel" there is no A/C in the rooms so you will literally suffocate from the heat at night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hey there, thank you for your comment. We have multiple zone HVAC throughout the building, able to very effectively cool and heat every individual room and common rooms. In your case, there were quite a few people, who wanted the heat turned up, as they thought it was a bit cold. We do try to fit everyone's needs, but sometimes a difference of opinion does happen.

  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
4.3

The facilities are too bad especially for bathroom and lobby. Quite noisy during the night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hey there, sorry for any noise during your stay. We know it wasn't loud inside, as we have live in staff making sure of such things, and your room was far away from the roof top patio a floor up, and the common areas a floor down - both on the other side of the hostel. We do hope guests in rooms are considerate, but we apologize if they were keeping you up late. We'd love to hear more comments on how we could improve the facilities, as we have two common rooms; one with a projector, TV, and a foosball table just for hanging out and playing music or TV, another one set up as a living room and dining room with some couches, and another TV, and a cool roof top patio with hammocks, dart board, and some other games up there, while also with music playing.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.