Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1309 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1309 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Jun 2017
8.6

Good location. Helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2017
7.4

Great location within walking distance of National Mall. Close to a Capital Bikes rental port. Staff overcharged us and wouldn't let us into our room unless we paid the amount they told us to, even with us showing them the confirmation email from hostelworld! After our vacation was over we were able to secure a refund for the amount they overcharged us. Free beer Fridays is awesome. Room and bedding were good and clean. Bathrooms were dysfunctional.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jun 2017
6.3

The staff are really odd. The facilities are fairly average. My bed had springs sticking out. Some of the showers didn't have hot water. The location was fairly good and there were locks on all the doors which was nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
6.0

We were a little disappointed with our stay at capital view. The rooms are quite cramped and it was extremely hot sleeping at night as the staff didn't turn on the air conditioner. Cleanliness was a little poor also.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2017
5.1

The staff I met were friendly, and helpful to the extent they could be. Location was great. The rest, pretty 'meh.' Clean? Passable. The carpets were filthy, the charm of an old building is overshadowed by how tired and worn the decor is, like dead plants on windowsills and just random stuff. The whole shower situation is ridiculous- finicky, hit or miss hot water with loose leaky faucets, no filters on the sink drains, missing light bulbs. The feeling was minimal effort and I wouldn't return.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2017
9.1

Very conveniently located and helpful staff. The facilities are a little old but are functional. Good place to stay if you have a train ride the next day, as it's near union station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th May 2017
5.7

The mattress was the worst thing I have ever slept on. The bathroom was old , there was no soap to wash your hands after using the toilet. There were only 3 showers for the persons on the floor that I was on. On the upside the staff was incredibly friendly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
7.4

Comfortable with helpful staff. Interesting building in accessible location. Old building could use some maintenance e.g. faucets loose, hard to get hot water if you don't know the tricks. Interesting people from many places. Could use a few more items for breakfast. Good for the price and area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
8.0

Great price, location. Wish there had been better hot water for showers on 2nd floor. Would have been nice to have way to recycle bottles etc. Extra blanket in case of cold as it was last night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • yakyazdy4738
  • Austria, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2017
3.4

Very very very Basic.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.