Hostelworld.com
Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1,179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1,179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
Capital View Located at 301 i street NW, , Washington DC.
Capital View
USA
Washington DC District of Columbia 20001 301 i street NW
82% 1179
38.9012700 -77.0151472
Capital View
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Apr 2016
8.6

This hostel is located mid-way between Mt. Vernon, Union Station metro stations and is slightly closer to the Gallery/Chinatown stop. It is a great location on a quiet street. They offer access to Gold's Gym and a pool (I did not use these). There is a washer and dryer but it was unavailable before 3 pm as it was in use by the facility for linens. When I tried to access it late at night the door was locked :( . A note on the office door says staff is available between 10am-10pm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
8.0

Spotless, basic hostel within twenty minutes' walk of the centre: bit scary outside late at night but great security inside and lots of taxis nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Apr 2016
8.0

Decent hostel just outside the main touristy bit of DC. One restroom per floor can be a problem but showers were fine. Only other problem was heater blowing hot air all night, don't get a top bunk!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
5.7

I've stayed at 10 hostels in the last few years and this was the worst one. Checkin took forever, the staff is completely incompetent they had my reservation all messed up and came into our private room twice w/o knocking b/c of it. Bathrooms were disgusting - some had no hand soap, showers were cold and low pressure, lots of mold in one shower. It's obvious they aren't going to fix anything b/c the block it's on will soon be taken over by a new condo building (just look at google earth peop

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your input. It was actually only the second shift for the girl who checked you in, we apologize if you thought she took too long. The reservation was very clear on our end though, 5 nights in the same room, so not sure what mess up you are referring to. Water pressure is great everywhere, possibly you were here while city was doing water main repairs. We have a professional housekeeper every morning for 4 hours and staff stays vigilant throughout the rest of the day. We clean and fix everything (like missing hand-soap dispenser). Google earth has only us, as it has present buildings and not future plans. We also are not aware of anyone trying to build a condo here any time soon. While we are here, we strive to improve every day.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
9.1

really good hostel, brut the mattress really should be changed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hey there, We went ahead and changed it. For future guests - pleaaaaaassssse mention this to us. We get new mattresses YEARLY, so if any one of them don't feel right, let us know, and we'll get it taken care of!

18th Mar 2016
9.7

Nice, clean, quiet hostel in a good neighborhood in D.C. The facilities are clean, there is a well-stocked kitchen, and the bathrooms are well-placed. Some of the shower pressure in the bathrooms can be a bit weak. The rooms are kept frequently clean and tidy, although they are comparatively small. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Mar 2016
8.0

The hostel is nice and in walking distance of the National Mall. The staff was friendly and it felt safe. Bathrooms are clean, kitchen not so much. Overall, this hostel is great if you just need a place to sleep for a few nights. But there are definitely better hostels out there for the same money, like the Downtown DC Hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lhahn9585
  • Austria, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2016
8.9

My pillow was not very clean and as soon as I indicated that, they immediately addressed the issue in a very professional manner and to my full satisfaction.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Feb 2016
8.3

Enjoyed my stay at this hostel, the staff was very friendly and helpful! The kitchen & bathrooms were clean, this in combination with free pancakemix and coffee made it a pleasant stay for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Feb 2016
9.1

I really enjoyed my stay here! It's in a great area so you can walk to the museums, monuments, and even Walmart/cvs in 15 minutes or less. The staff was friendly and helpful. The people in my room were friendly and respectful as well. I took off a few points for atmosphere because the way it's set up it seems like most people come in and go right to their rooms, so it's harder to make friends with those not staying in your rooms. The rooftop deck was super cool!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.