X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Capital View Reviews

301 i street NW, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1007 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Excellent position. Very safe and decent neighborhood. There is a really nice big supermarket 2b locks away. Unique building. Staff is very nice, helped me print out some necessary documents I need to use the second day. Cons: girl's bathroom could be improved. Sometimes no toilet paper, sometimes flush won't work.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Was a great place no complaints here!!

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thanks so much!

60%

Silly and annoying "no shoes" policy.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thanks for your review. Let us explain - when it rained every other day, during your stay - it would be very inconvenient for all of the guests to walk around the dirty hostel. Even if we clean throughout, we would not be able to ENTER the rooms after certain time. Your room floor would be disgusting, and you would have to sleep with shoes on, or wake up and be careful not to step on anything. We provide FREE HOTEL QUALITY slippers to make this policy awesome! thanks

74%

Nice house in walking distance to the Capitol. Generaly fine hostel, could be fiendlier and more relaxed. I did not like the impossibility to check-in after 10 pm. Unfortunately we got delayed on the way and arrived late in night. The staff dont stay in the hostel overnight so we had to spend the rest of the night outside.. :( Otherwise not a bad place. B.R.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thanks for your positive review on the hostel. To elaborate on this for other guests - we have 24 hour check-in - we simply NEED to know if you are arriving. You can let us know ANYTIME, up until 10PM of that same day. We have staff that STAYS ON-SITE, and if they know of an arrival they are able to check you in any time. Communication is key in life! thanks again for your review!

100%

This Hostel was absolutly nice! It's close to the centre and to grocery stores. The people there where very nice and helped us with every question we had. the roof of the hostel is amazing to have a good ending of your day! If you want to have a nice and cheap stay in Washington DC, go to capital view :)

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

I must say, I expected more, especially for that price. Very good location, but anothet things nothing special.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, you booked into the most expensive private room we have - it surely could have been way cheaper, in any other room. We ARE ALWAYS not the most expensive option in DC for the types of rooms that we provide - like other guest who stayed in your room said "hotel quality". We have awesome roof top BBQ area with hammocks, free POOL and Jacuzzi on weekdays, Yoga on Wednesdays, $5 gym access, wall sized HD projector for movies, etc - slightly special, no? =). Just join in next time.

71%

The yelp reviews were pretty accurate: major hot water and plumbing problems, and they do not seem to screen to keep shifty-seaming locals out in favor of travelers. I'm pretty sure a girl snuck a dog into the room I was in. But facility felt safe and staff was responsive whenever I raised an issue.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, we appreciate your review. We are very diligent at "screening" people, but we cannot discriminate. Additionally, no one else complained about the person in your room - who was not local. We DO NOT ALLOW locals to stay at our hostels. There was no dog inside the hostel (we checked the cameras), so maybe the guests were just loud. I'm happy to see you enjoyed our responsiveness, and thought the hostel was awesome aside from that one guest in your room, thanks!

89%

Convenient location - within walking distance of the Union Station (buses, Amtrak). No shoes rule may seem weird at first but is actually quite nice - slippers help to keep the place clean. Unfortunately, wasn't able to enjoy the roof-top terrace due to rainy weather but it looked like a cool place to chill out. But you can hang out indoors as well - plenty of movies, sat TV, coffee and tea.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thanks for a lengthy review describing what you can find here. The roof top patio is a nice bonus on almost any summer day, as long as it's not raining like crazy - sorry you weren't able to relax on the hammocks there, as it's my favorite spot!

71%

Slippers provided bybtge staff don't fit everyone.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Rooftop was brilliant. Hostel was an average hostel,bit hard to find but pretty central.


69%

The location is excellent, but that's about it. Staff friendliness varied considerably from day to day, and so did cleanliness. Something must have been wrong with the A7C, the room was constantly boiling hot. They have problems with the wifi connection, and there should be a manual for how to operate the showers. On stripping the pillow when I left, I found it covered in brown stains. Maybe you should go to Europe and see what hostels are like there, regarding how much you charge...

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thanks for your comments, as we do listen to all of them. We did have a few of our staff (less friendly) somewhat let go, and cleanliness should be something that does not fluctuate. The ac in your room - with controls in your room - was set to hot. You could have changed it, or alert the staff to do it. Showers are pretty easy - turn to hot, and hot water comes out - sorry if there were any complications. We will happily check out, and change the mattress to a new one.

83%

Not breckfast include!


60%

There are not enough bathrooms! Always waited for one no matter the time of day. Comparing this hostel to ones in Europe or even South America the price is high for what you get.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thank you for your review. We usually never into the issue as you described with the bathrooms, as there are 6 around the hostel always available - maybe you were just waiting for a specific one or two? We will monitor the situation, and add more if needed. We do agree with the price though! DC is very very pricey, and the lodging accommodations reflect that as well, as we have highest rent/sales tax/taxes in usa. thanks

80%

The hostel was really conveniently located just a few blocks off Union Station and the Capitol. The rooms were spacious and clean, although our matresses were quite old and uncomfortable. The bathrooms were nice and clean, but not too numerous. The staff was friendly and helpful, but sometimes it was difficult to find somebody to answer your questions since there was just one person on duty and sometimes we could not find them for over an hour. Nevertheless, I would recommend this hostel!

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Would help if there was some notice to say which door was the entrance. From the outside, appearance looked as if the hostel was closed. Also rearrange the dining table so that it doesn't block the TV area.

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thanks for your review and your input. The main door, as you walk up from the street is the entrance door, and is well visible from far away, as the check-in area is also visible from the outside when the blinds are open, during office hours. Also, the dining table is in the back of the living room, so slightly confused - is this about us or another hostel? thanks anyways!

57%

The hostel is not bad but surely not worthing the price, even for Washington! Beds are REALLY old (please, do something about that!) so I didn't sleep well. Bathrooms were not clean and some staff members not really sympathic. Not a great atmosphere in the common areas because of the TV screen in the center of the room, so nobody was talking to each other. It's not the worst hostel ever but if you have the choice, go somewhere else!


80%

I enjoyed the stay an this hostel, as it's clean, rooms are nice and the kitchen was equipped, common aread is very nice too. It's also not far away from train and bus station and from the very centre. Would stay definitely again. I also liked that it was quite easy to chat a bit with the other guests.


1 2 Next » last »
(37 results)


View all Washington DC Hostels

Please give us your feedback