X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Capsule Ryokan Kyoto Reviews

204 Tshuchihashicho, Shimogyo-Ku, Kyoto, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
51 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 94%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Fantastic. The staff were extremely helpful.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Certainly one of our best experiences- the staff was super-friendly, chatted with us, had some demonstrations in the lobby (though we were too tired to attend), was very helpful, and spoke English well. Along with that, they has a great guidebook they made that felt very earnest (besides being informative and thorough). Bonus points for being affordable and a short walk from the main train station. If we're ever back in Kyoto, we'll be coming back to the Capsule Ryokan.


97%

Excellent, super friendly stuff, just go for it.

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Great,thanks!


97%

The staff here were so friendly and helpful! The rooms are clean, modern and so efficiently designed! We had the best time here, one of our favourite places to stay on the trip. Can't recommend enough! Thanks for the parting gift too :)

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Really well thought out concept. Hotel is really near the train station which means not extremely central to a lot of tourist sites but this wasn't an issue at all as the excellent reception staff were always more than happy to help with maps and expert guidance. Hotel is clean and modern. Stayed in a double room and futons were really comfortable. Would recommend here to anyone

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were well worth there cost.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
83%

A cheap place to stay, but not for those who get claustrophobic. We were staying in a delux double and my partner found it hard to sleep in the tiny room, particularly as the window didn't open. Otherwise a good place to stay.


100%

Loved our stay. The staff was very helpful and even gave us a going away gift.


94%

Great stay!


94%

This place is fantastic!

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

i dont write many reviews, but i was so impressed with this hostel! stayed 7 days, which seems like alot, but in kyoto it isnt. have no complaints. stayed in a single room, and i lacked for nothing. the staff was outstanding, and i can only hope i get to go back there someday. tremendous value for the $, great location, excellent english speaking skills, and a great desire to help. thank you to everyone who works there.


86%

I stayed in a single room (yeah I missed the capsule experience) but it's by far the best hostel I've been to since I started to travel around Asia. The staff helps a lot and even provide a small map with useful spots for breakfast, convenience store and bus stop. I would definitely recommend it and go back on my next visit to Kyoto.

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • El Salvador
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Fabulous staff who are attentive and knowledgeable. We enjoyed everything about the hostel and it was great value for what we paid. They even give you a gift when you leave!


80%

nice rooms and capsules,not expensive,

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Honduras
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

the room is a bit cramped but the staff is extremely friendly and helpful


86%

A very nice stay.


89%

Nice location and friendly staff. The room is very very compact though.. good use of limited space.. WIFI is only limited to 1st floor which was rather inconvenient


83%

Everything was wonderful!!! I just tought that the rooms could be bigger...


66%

I was probably too old for this kind of place and would not have been able to spend more than one night there. I knew, what a capsule was meant to be, but this place has nothing to do with a ryokan, except the existence of a tatami mat.

  • 30th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback