Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Captain Cook Backpackers, Paddington

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.0
Good 297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 4.3
  • Facilities 5.1
BOOK NOW
6.0
Good 297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 4.3
  • Facilities 5.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
10th Mar 2017
3.4

It was like a kindergarten. Guests didn't clean their dishes after use. The dining table was in awful condition in the mornings. Fridges were leaking the water out. The common room was really worn out... Showers were O-K-A-Y. Toilet had a broken window. Carpets in the rooms haven't seen vacuum in A VERY LONG TIME! Mattresses and pillows need to be renew. Parties every single night, bar downstairs!!! Don't follow who is guest and who isn't. One outsider was staying in my room...! AVOID!!!!!!!!!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
8.9

At first I was worried because of the cheap price but there was no need. I had such a good time there. The staff were really friendly and helpful. I met a load of really nice people here. The bar and rooftop are really cool and the backpacker happy hour was a biiiig help :) You can get almost anywhere by bus or train and Central station is a 10-15 minute walk. A bit of the standard backpackers mess but at least the place is clean. I will definitely stay here again on my way back through Sydney.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
5.7

Kitchen has a million knives, some plates and not much else so having cereal for breakfast gets interesting; sink always full with dirty dishes. Lockers in bedroom were great, really big, but locks are broken so no use for valuables. Mattress was shaped like a bowl.... Shower goes really hot when someone flushes the toilet beside it, then really cold again. Staff are ok, as friendly with customers as any barmen are. Location is great for busesOnly allowed alcohol in hostel if you buy it at the bar.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
6.6

the good parts 15/20 min walk to cbd, 15/20 min walk to central station, above a bar so you get a free beer token upon arrival, Woolworths 5 mins away, decent wifi throughout, awesome rooftop veranda, loads of fridge space the bad parts very unstable bunk beds, right next to a road, loud/live music till late on Thursdays,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
4.9

The reason we stayed here was because of how close it is to the rugby stadium. However, it is not the nicest, cleanest and most welcoming hostel. Our first night we were kept awake by the live band downstairs in the bar and the beds are ridiculously squeaky. No aircon/fan in the rooms and they hadn't cleaned the room before we arrived! The kitchen is too small and there is no oven. There is so much they could do with the space they have got! It seems the bar is the priority. Price is cheap tho

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2017
8.6

Great fun atmosphere and friendly staff. I had a blast with the rooftop DJ party. The place could do with a little maintenance though and they could use some fans or aircon in the rooms. Still, had a good time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
3.4

There are dirty hostels and then there's Captain Cook. There are a couple of families of Cockroaches living in the kitchen. The showers are dirty and one of them doesn't even have a light. The matresses are old and unconfortable and the room is incredibly hot. The common room is dirty and there's only one table. The only good thing they have is the bar but on weekdays it closes at 10pm. They do give you a free drink when you get there, but We wouldn't stay there again and we don't recommend it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
9.4

Nice place. Good lay out to meet each other and chill out. Roof top, terrace and pub downstairs. The pub fills up with an interesting crowd of aussiz on cricket match nights. Perfect to get a touch of true Sydney dwellers. What else? The place's clean. You get to sleep alright when working the next morning. There's a piano downstairs for you muse charmers. Cheers to everyone. See ya

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
6.0

This place is really well located if you want to go to the city. The only big problem with this hostel is that it is unwell manage and really dirty. The price is way too expensive compared to the quality of this one ! However, I kept extend my stay up there for one reason particularly, the atmosphere. The people are amazing there and I have to admit that the rooftop is a fabulous place. Another good point will be the staff which is really friendly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
6.9

Pros; cheap hostel quite close to Kings Cross! Cons; the kitchen needs more cutlery - The room was pretty dirty. - Nice balcony but too small.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.