X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Captain Cook Backpackers, Paddington Reviews

162 Flinders Street Paddington, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
142 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 63%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Very dirty place. Very dirty roommates. Bathrooms not cleaned. RUN AWAY !!!

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Our stay at this hostel was less than pleasant. The room we were put in had a hole in the ceiling, mould all over the walls and ceiling, had one powerpoint for four people and no storage facilities. After the night, where a cockroach dropped from the hole in the ceiling onto our pillow, and the noise from the other guests and traffic prohibited us from sleeping, we didn't return to stay for the second night. We also didn't receive a refund which we were well entitled to. Do not recommend.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Not worth the money ! The ONLY ventilation in the dorms and bathrooms is by keeping all doors and windows open, our dorm had a piece of ceiling that had been patched in but not finished so all of the dust from the inner floor cavity was falling onto bed. Also due to poor venting the bathrooms were mouldy and smelt terrible.. The property Erected since 1912 so ventilation is needed. We were feeling ill after day 1. Good staff and nice ale in the bar below is the only bonus at this dump....


26%

This place should be condemned!! DONT STAY HERE!

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Alright, the good: Cheapish partial refund when I moved my flight The bad: -Horrible beds that you couldnt comfortably sleep on -dirty with bonus cockroaches -kitchen is not a kitchen. It is a room with hotplates and a microwave -bar was only place to get wifi but had horrible sound coming from slot machines and wifi sucked -shower moldy and all knobs fell off (small issue but shows how little owners care) -room doors slam all night because of automatic shutting Avoid if possible


74%

Not too bad of a place, but run down and dirty but it's okay for the price. Rooms get hot and kitchen could do with more cutlery. Showers were okay but no lockers in the rooms. Couple of long terms in my room which meant it was a bit messier than it would usually be. Bar downstairs has $10 meals and $6 beers. About 15mins walk to Central station, however walk is uphill going to the hostel but it's not that bad


51%

The place is dirty and the facilities are in bad conditions, people staying there were not respectfull to each other so we really didnt enjoy our stay there. At least it's well located and we didn't see any cocrouchies or rats (which was surprising btw) Will not recommend definitelly

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had the best time here, Tori the lady who booked me in was legit the most wonderful person I have ever met! She was so kind, informative and just generally lush! And she has the most welcoming vibe ever. Captain cook is the best run hostel I have ever stayed in, there are so many opportunitys to meet really nice wonderful people, so many social events or just time to put your feet up and relax! I Deffo recommend this hostel to anyone that wants to have a great time in sydney!


80%

Kitchen and the common room are rediculously small. No cutlery and you have to walk down to reception which is at the bar in the pub downstairs to trade your key or ID for pots and pans. Other then that everything else was great. Girls 8 bed dorm was great value for money with a lovely private balcony

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Not worth the money.


86%

Very nice staff, available terrace on the roof - good for watching stars


91%

a best place for travelers.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

The facilities and rooms were dirty, not what was expected. We were also not informed that as our check out date was a public holiday, that there would be no one to check us out or return our security deposit for our room key. Over a week later, I am still waiting for my key deposit to be credited to my bank account.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We would like to reiterate that every person in the hostel was informed both on check in and through notices through out the hostel that the hostel would be closed on New Years Day. This was also stated on hostelworld at the time of your booking. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused, however the information was adequately provided. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels :)

89%

Girl who checked us in and was wround most of the time was really nice, very polite and really helpful with directions an was to get into the city!


86%

Staff are really friendly, the hostel and pub have a great atmosphere and its not far to walk town. good value with free beer on check-in, wifi also.. Small kitchen, but lovely roof area. homley type ofhostel- would stay again


94%

Had an absolute blast at The Captain Cook Hotel. It was my home for many months and I met some great people there. All of the staff, especially the hostel manager Tori were so friendly and were always ready to help with whatever I needed. The beers were pretty cheap and the new backpacker menu is amazing!! The building in general could do with a bit of a make over but the rooftop was a great place to hang out! I would definitely recommend!

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Albania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very clean hostel, super friendly staff, cheapest accom I could find in Syd, cheap drink and food for anyone staying there, good live music, would recommend to anyone.

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good friendly atmosphere in the hostel and the pub below and staff are brilliant always wanting to help. Rooms are basic but exactly what you would expect for such a cheap place, would definitely stay here again

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Well, where do I start, i had a great time staying here in Capt cook backpackers. The staff on the bar were really cool and friendly and the hostel owner Tori was really sweet with us. Even if we were being awkward and changing rooms twice haha. She was very patient and always happy which made us feel welcome :D We would definitely come back and stay here again. We rated facilities average due to the kitchen being a bit small for the size of the hostel, and the place could do with a fresh paint

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Very nice and helpful bar staff all gave good tips for days out. Parking near to the hostel is hard to find for free and bathrooms were a bit run down but overall a good positioned homely hostel

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback