Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Captain Cook Backpackers, Paddington

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 239 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.5
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 239 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.5
Captain Cook Backpackers, Paddington Located at 162 Flinders Street Paddington, , Sydney.
Captain Cook Backpackers, Paddington
Australia
Sydney NSW 2021 162 Flinders Street Paddington
64% 239
-33.8864954 151.2190859
Captain Cook Backpackers, Paddington
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
8.6

Really enjoyed my stay. Definite value for money and great location for everything you want to see and do in Sydney with buses close by if yoy fancy a lazy day. Friendly helpful staff which always helps

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
9.1

Super friendly, lovely rooftop and location . Rooms are budget , but clean and there is cheap meals in the pub downstairs. I enjoyed it .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • timstephenson24
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
4.3

Not a good place to stay. Poor facilities, back door is left open for anyone to access the building, room wasn't ready and stank. I didn't even get to stay in my room, had to sleep in our truck because my bed got double booked. Walked into our room to find someone sleeping in my bed...didn't give me my money back either. 7$ steak was good though

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Oct 2016
9.1

Loved this place, not a flash packer but welcoming . Above the pub which has a bit going on every night and does cheap meals. Location is great and staff are very helpful. Good vibe here, will be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Oct 2016
3.4

Terrible hostel. old and dirty toilets. The staff is not friendly. The rooms are very dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Oct 2016
5.1

The place is not that bad.. There are many backpackers living long term. They should invest a bit more in the building is very old.. and have regular cleaners for common spaces

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Oct 2016
6.6

The all-girls room is on the top floor and they call it the Penthouse. It's pretty nice because it's a huge room with a tiny kitchen, 2 toilets and a shower. The only downside to this is that you might be trying to sleep at 8am and other girls are cooking... The main kitchen is on the smaller side, with not many pots and pans. Location is good though; close to the city but not too far from the beach. For $24/night during the week its a decent place to stay. I'm not really digging it, though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Oct 2016
6.3

Was okay. The could have told me earlier that the wifi more or less only works on the higher floors... I was already frustrated...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
3.4

Quite possibly the worst place I've ever stayed. We turned up for our room of 4 and we're told that we were split up into 2 in one room and 2 in another, the manager said 'people paid to stay longer - that happens' he didn't care at all! Not happy we went to our room and there was people in our beds!! The manager said to another guy 'why is he still here, he should have checked out this morning'.. so obviously not organised at all! Bathrooms in the 'pent house' gross! Bad! Would not recommend!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
6th Oct 2016
6.9

The location of the hostel is a little bit out of town and if you are a single female I feel the walk back to the hostel is one that should be done in daylight! The hostel has a LOT of long stayers ( just need to look at all the work boots outside the form doors!!) and as such does not have the atmosphere of a hostel... The rooms are also untidy and overcrowded.... However we got moved to the girls penthouse area and WOW this was amazing!!! don't think you can directly book this area though?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.