Hostelworld.com

Captain Cook Backpackers, Paddington

Prices
map
reviews
6.0
Good 205 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 5.2
BOOK NOW
6.0
Good 205 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 5.2
Captain Cook Backpackers, Paddington Located at 162 Flinders Street Paddington, , Sydney.
Captain Cook Backpackers, Paddington
Australia
Sydney NSW 2021 162 Flinders Street Paddington
60% 205
-33.8864954 151.2190859
Captain Cook Backpackers, Paddington
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2016
9.7

This is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in! The people are amazing and the staff are the friendliest most helpful people, especially Scarlett she is brilliant! It is cleaned daily by two wicked girls who always cheer me up in the morning! Cheap drinks and amazing food in the bar downstairs! If you are looking for a fun, clean and energetic hostel this is the place for you!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Mar 2016
4.9

I did not enjoy my stay at that hostel at all and tried to stay away from it as long as I could. But well, that is no problem in Sydney. It is such a filthy place! The showers were disgusting, they never cleaned them. Same with the toilets and sinks, try not to touch too much! Mould everywhere! Seriously, that is not healthy. The matresses are worn out, you will definitely have backpain in the morning. Rooms not clean. I would definitely not recommend the hostel!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • smrckovamarketa2886
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Mar 2016
4.0

Not worth the money, avoid in any costs: 1) no lockers despite terrible security (basically anybody from the bar or from the street could get to hostel 2) it was dirty, but not normaly dirty after other guest but weeks of uncleaned bathroom, halls, rooms 3) longtermers behaved like it is theirs and your are just bothering them, no responsibility to clean after themsleves 4) when we told that to the staff, the excuse was: we are going through some renovation etc., no apology, nothing.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2016
5.4

The place is filthy, cockroaches all over the kitchen and the bathrooms are beyond grimey. The atmosphere is great though, definitely a place to stay if you want to party!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2016
10.0

My time at the cook was amazing, very friendly staff and a good atmosphere to be around. The housekeepers do a fantastic job cleaning the rooms daily and the kitchen and living room at least twice a day. The food is brilliant and there prices are very good for the amount of food that you get! The only downfall is that you are not allowed to drink alcohol upstairs no exceptions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Mar 2016
8.9

Classic hostel. Cheap and dirty......but I'll rather stay there than anywhere else in the Big smoke. People are fun. The notorious Captain Cook gang, led by Jamie Wood (who by the way, wreck the kitchen!!!! very funny lol) provided the in-house entertainment! Cool people, though Kelsey Smith, the receptionist, would be so prettier (she's extremely pretty already) if she smiles a lot. Lol

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Mar 2016
7.4

Pros: Good location, in the city, close to Central Station. Cheapest I could find in Sydney. Staff were very friendly and helpful. When I checked out, they allowed me to store my baggage in the back room for the day, as I had a very late flight out of Sydney. Cons: Quite messy. Despite naming and bagging my food in the fridge, it kept getting stolen. (Both of those things were more a fellow patron issue, not to do with the hostel) Overall, a bit messy, but a acceptable hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Mar 2016
3.1

What a horrible place... I really regret that i ever put my foot in this hostel. I have never stayed in a hostel worse than this. And i've travelled quite a lot in my life already. Do not stay here. It will ruin your Sydney-experience. -Staff...What staff? -Dirty place. Bathroom & toilets are a hygienic disaster. The place is full of trash and smells horrible. -The guests are responsible for washing dishes = no one does it = disgusting -Smelly fridge -Loud pub downstairs. -Too hot no aircon

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • stacruz14
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Feb 2016
10.0

It conpensates for the amount you paid for

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jan 2016
8.9

Originally booked for two nights and ended up staying five staff are so friendly and everyone in the hostel had a good laugh together I could have easily stayed longer. Kitchen facilities available if you want to cook and the bar underneath serves food an the portions are huge

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.