Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Captain Cook Backpackers, Paddington

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.7
Rating 339 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 5.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 3.9
  • Facilities 4.8
BOOK NOW
5.7
Rating 339 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 5.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 3.9
  • Facilities 4.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
9.1

I stayed for a night before catching a flight out the next day. I was offered a free beer on arrival at the bar downstairs and was given a warm welcome by the staff. The rooms are standard and so are the facilities but it was all clean and tidy. I wanted to go out and so did some of the other guys. We couldn’t decide where to go so we just stayed and took advantage of happy hour at the bar. Great night considering I didn’t go anywhere. I will definitely be staying here when I come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
8.6

Cracking hostel like. Proper good location. All the staff here are great!! The bar isn't bad as well, definitely take advantage of happy hour! Great hostel for the summer as well with the rooftop!!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
9.1

Considering this is one of the cheapest hostels in Sydney I was pleasantly surprised with this place! It is in a great location with a 10/15 min walk to the CBD and a 2 min walk to access buses to Bondi/Coogee and the other beaches. It has a great rooftop area which has great views of most of the city and a great place to meet other Bpackers. A free drink at the bar downstairs on arrival always makes a good first impression and the staff were super friendly! Highly recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Jul 2017
8.0

Great hostel in a good location with good bus links. Really good backpacker meal deal in the pub downstairs. The rooms were absolutely freezing though and we had to buy extra clothes to stay alive but apart from that nice hostel with nice staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
2.9

I payed for two nights, but I could stay just for one. It was the worst and most disgusting place I have ever slept. The staff was nice. Also, $50 of bond to the keys was too much.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
5.4

Really needs to be done up, everything is broken. And pretty unclean

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
9.1

Fantastic hostel in perfect location just fifteen minutes from central and right by oxford street. Incredible food at next to nothing prices downstairs in the bar. Free table tennis and darts. Staff all very helpful and friendly would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2017
9.4

Really fun place to be .. Enjoyed the pub downstairs and access to the city . Would recommend- have stayed better hostels but it's welcoming

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2017
9.1

Good times ! Decent place , great vibe and people ! Be back in few months

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2017
4.0

The kitchen and bathrooms were always disgraceful. Our room was constantly left open by the person changing the trash bag. There was a mountain of garbage left in our tiny room from previous backpackers. Dirty and gross... staff had no control over rules and cleanliness

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×