X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Captain Cook Backpackers, Paddington Reviews

162 Flinders Street Paddington, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
119 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Staff are really friendly, the hostel and pub have a great atmosphere and its not far to walk town. good value with free beer on check-in, wifi also.. Small kitchen, but lovely roof area. homley type ofhostel- would stay again


100%

Very clean hostel, super friendly staff, cheapest accom I could find in Syd, cheap drink and food for anyone staying there, good live music, would recommend to anyone.

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good friendly atmosphere in the hostel and the pub below and staff are brilliant always wanting to help. Rooms are basic but exactly what you would expect for such a cheap place, would definitely stay here again

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Well, where do I start, i had a great time staying here in Capt cook backpackers. The staff on the bar were really cool and friendly and the hostel owner Tori was really sweet with us. Even if we were being awkward and changing rooms twice haha. She was very patient and always happy which made us feel welcome :D We would definitely come back and stay here again. We rated facilities average due to the kitchen being a bit small for the size of the hostel, and the place could do with a fresh paint

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Very nice and helpful bar staff all gave good tips for days out. Parking near to the hostel is hard to find for free and bathrooms were a bit run down but overall a good positioned homely hostel

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

Yes it is cheaper then most of the other hostels, BUT No soap at the toilet, no toiletpaper, gigantic spiderweb in the dorm, really small kitchen, oven was broken, no room in the fridge, 5-7 dollars for small beers at the bar downstairs (think there was 350 ml, so really expensive), the "Free Wifi" didn't worked and the staff didn't cared when I asked them about it - me and a girl from the hostel joked and laughed about how everything was out of function! Not worth 27 dollars at night.

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Was a cool hostle above a lively pub, really good backpackers menu for a good value, showers weren't great as well as toilets, along with my bed, which was very squeaky !

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Really bad cleaning and small kitchen and common room


43%

The bed was in very poor condition and i didnt get a decent sleep. Also the blind didn't shut which made it even harder to sleep. Bathroom light was out for 2 nights, and still out when i left.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The hostel was so far from Central Station,so it was hard to walk for there. And also it was difficult to get the reception,entrance. It was so loud in the night to midnight. The kitchen was dirty. However the receptionist was so kind and friendly!!


71%

Good kitchen. Good atmosphere. Room is clean. There is a pub at the ground floor and it is too noisy until late night. There is free Wifi but it's very poor, not available.


94%

The atmosphere in the bar here is fantastic! The staff are so welcoming and. Helpful! The location is perfect for visiting sydney! Highly recommend for hostel in sydney!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

I booked a room for 6 girls with Bathroom and got into a room with 4 beds because they Decided to close the Upper Level. The room was Way too small and so Dirty, the Same for the Shower.. The Way to the Hostel was longer then I thought with a lot of Creepy People in the Bar. The Staff was really nice but that's all good I can say.


97%

LOVE THIS PLACE!! All the staff were so friendly and helpful and I met some great people there! Free live music, cheap food and drinks and FREE WIFI (although it is a little slow). I would definately recommend to any backpacker on a budget as it's cheap and cheerful and feels like a home away from home.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback