Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Captain Cook Backpackers, Paddington

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.5
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 5.5
Captain Cook Backpackers, Paddington Located at 162 Flinders Street Paddington, , Sydney.
Captain Cook Backpackers, Paddington
Australia
Sydney NSW 2021 162 Flinders Street Paddington
63% 267
-33.8864954 151.2190859
Captain Cook Backpackers, Paddington
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jan 2017
4.9

This place was disgusting. There were roaches all over the kitchen. The beds were falling apart (no litterally, there were 3 bars missing on my lower bunk so if you sat there the matress would fall through). I could smell the mold growing from the holes in the ceiling and I was very worried about the electrical outlets that were falling out of the wall. It's not a question of if this place burns down its when. The staff were really friendly tho. But don't stay here, it's to gross.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
3.4

There are dirty hostels and then there's Captain Cook. There are a couple of families of Cockroaches living in the kitchen. The showers are dirty and one of them doesn't even have a light. The matresses are old and unconfortable and the room is incredibly hot. The common room is dirty and there's only one table. The only good thing they have is the bar but on weekdays it closes at 10pm. They do give you a free drink when you get there, but We wouldn't stay there again and we don't recommend it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
9.4

Nice place. Good lay out to meet each other and chill out. Roof top, terrace and pub downstairs. The pub fills up with an interesting crowd of aussiz on cricket match nights. Perfect to get a touch of true Sydney dwellers. What else? The place's clean. You get to sleep alright when working the next morning. There's a piano downstairs for you muse charmers. Cheers to everyone. See ya

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
6.0

This place is really well located if you want to go to the city. The only big problem with this hostel is that it is unwell manage and really dirty. The price is way too expensive compared to the quality of this one ! However, I kept extend my stay up there for one reason particularly, the atmosphere. The people are amazing there and I have to admit that the rooftop is a fabulous place. Another good point will be the staff which is really friendly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
6.9

Pros; cheap hostel quite close to Kings Cross! Cons; the kitchen needs more cutlery - The room was pretty dirty. - Nice balcony but too small.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
8.9

Cheap and Cheerful .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
4.6

This Hostel is very dirty, from the beds, bedrooms , kitchens, toilets and hallways.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
2.0

avoid at all costs. its just not very clean

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Dec 2016
9.1

Friendly pub with plenty of fun people and staff. Would go back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Dec 2016
9.1

friendly hostel, location is good . Free drink also ! so all in all ..pretty good !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.