Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Captain Youth Hostel (Fuzhou Road. The Bund)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 491 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 6.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 491 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 6.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.7
Captain Youth Hostel (Fuzhou Road. The Bund) Located at No. 37 Fuzhou Road, , Shanghai.
Captain Youth Hostel (Fuzhou Road. The Bund)
China
Shanghai No. 37 Fuzhou Road
73% 491
31.2353896 121.4902496
Captain Youth Hostel (Fuzhou Road. The Bund)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Sep 2016
8.0

Guy on the reception spent an eternity to find my reservation, but never succeed. Better to call them after the booking to check.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Aug 2016
7.1

No wifi in rooms or common areas - need to go to the bar and pay 50 yuan per person minimum for a drink to enjoy the wifi (and the fantastic view)!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Aug 2016
7.1

Location is very good. That's all

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2016
7.4

The hostel itself is clean and comfortable, washing facilities are ok but could be better. Main points, you literally are 5 seconds from the bund. Location is perfect. Secondly the bar above the hostel will give you an unforgettable view of what Shanghai has to offer. The bar is a hidden gem in Shanghai, nothing fancy just a great view.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
7.1

Bar is good, rooms are ok. Bathroom is nasty. Staff downstairs sucks and is totally rude, they try to charge you for sitting in the lobby chairs insisting that it is a "cafe", leaving absolutely no public gathering space which is unusual for a youth hostel. The only reason I would stay here is for the location, in the future I will avoid it because the staff is just tryna take your money at any opportunity and shows no attention to customer service.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
8.3

It's a nice hostel right in the center of Shanghai near the Bund. There's also a tiny supermarket next door and walking distance to the subway. It has a nice boats and marine theme in the rooms and downstairs. The people at the desk are okay but quite busy mostly. There's not a lot of space to sit with large groups, so 4+ groups are difficult to place. I'm glad there was an elevator, even though it was small, it saved me the stairs to the fourth floor. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
6.0

Staff in the lobby was not friendly. Even trying to find toilet shout at me when I was going to the office by mistake. My room was so so. Quite disgusting smell from the bathroom . As well in the bathroom then there was a cockroach. The best of the hotel is the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
7.4

Most of the guests here are domestic travelers from China so don't expect to meet as many foreign travelers as other hostels. The rooftop bar was nice. Don't sit in the cafe lounge area to use internet, they will ask for you to order something. No toilet paper. Overall, not bad for what you pay for. Biggest plus was the location being walking distance to so many views in shanghai!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
9.4

fantastic location for exploring shanghai, right on the bund and within easy walking distance of the Nanjing pedestrian walkway. staff were helpful with questions and directions. bathrooms were very clean! make sure you bring your own tissues as there is no toilet paper. restaurant/bar on the roof has great food, and an amazing view! otherwise there was bot a great central place to hang out and meet other people in the hostel. had more of a friendly hotel feel to it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
6.3

The location cannot be beat, and the price is cheap. Those are the good things. On to the bad: You need to bring your own soap. Own toilet paper. Towels. Mosquito netting (there's no screens and all the windows are open - I got 40+ mosquito bites in two nights, to the point that I woke up at 4 am on the last day and walked to a 24-hour pharmacy to buy antihistamines, I was in so much pain). I recommend putting your toiletries in a bag that dries easy, everything in the bathroom is soaking wet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.