X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Captain's House Downtown Reviews

Opposite Pizza Hut, Hai Yun Road, Sanya, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
61 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

he stay felt very impersonal .and the rooms were not clean. I paid to have a bathroom with an en suite but was told I'd have to shower in the downstairs communal shower upon arrival. The location is nice--quiet area and close to the beach and shops/restaurant.


80%

I had a very good time, very nice and English speaking staff. it is in the best location in sanya. the room was royalty compared to other hostels ive stayed. the only part i did not enjoy is that the water pressure in that neighborhood sucks.

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

A nice little hostel in a great location! Very close to the beach and lots of food places. The rooms were basic but ok, could have done with a clean during our 4 night stay. Laundry service good. Staff were excellent! So helpful and made our stay much more pleasant.


86%

Stayed here for a week. A great location, very close to the beach and many restaurants/shopping. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hostel has much to offer their guests in relation of things to do/sights to see. My husband and I would definitely stay here again.


86%

awesome place to live.

  • 4th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

-Great location near the beach, supermarkets and night markets. -A relaxed and friendly vibe. -Great staff who genuinely cared about their guests and their own staff !! Thanks again for helping me to the bus stop with my luggage when I was ill ...... really kind !! XXX


89%

Really friendly and helpful staff: lots of useful information supplied on boards around the hostel. Great atmosphere,Lots of activities put on for guests inc quiz nights and drinking night.Room was ok. and supplied towels did smell slightly of damp.

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel is awesome. Great staff and a huge offer of activities made 6 days stay at captains to one of my holiday highlights. Very easy to reach with the local bus und a genial location next to da dong hai beach

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The location itself is excellent - about a 2 minute walk from the airport bus stop and beach. However it showed up in a different location on Google Maps, so it was hard to find. But once there, the rooms are clean and air conditioned, the bathrooms are clean, there are many activities - both run by the hostel and external ones that they will book for you. Oh, and there is a large variety of street food on sale every night right outside.

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This was a wonderful hostel with a very good location. We have 2 young children and it worked out well for our family. The food in the cafe is excellent and quite cheap for western food. The omelette, ceasar salad, and spaghetti are all exceptionally good. The staff was so helpful, especially tom. Thanks for all the help!

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Good hostel with lots of character. Lots of facilities like games and activities if you're there for a holiday but for RTW backpackers I found it lacked facilities for cooking your own food and even making tea. Staff do go out of there way to try to make sure they can help and you have a good time.

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I have emailed the hostel directly. We had a brilliant time and thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality the hostel offers. We were a school group of 16 and it suited our needs perfectly, the communal areas, the cafe and food and the general helpfulness made our stay very enjoyable

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place- basic but well worth the money. Fun bar on firstfloor. Lots of activities and great information for travelers.

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel was pretty nice, the rooms were ok but the staff was so helpful and friendly. The food was quite good for what it was. But the location is the best!

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff were very friendly and went out of the way to help out when required. Tom was a real good laugh

  • 3rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

delicious breakfast and friendly staff. toilet/shower room was a bit of an awkward lay out but not enough to spoil our time there!

  • 3rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice and clean central place to stay. Very friendly staff which are not that good in English but tried their best to be always helpful. Would stay there again!

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

i had a very good stay here. the staff are friendly and communicate well. clean, and the beds were nice with thick mattresses (not often the case in many places). Food can be avoided since Xian has so many choices but chinese dishes taste good. My only one suggestion is to include a pictoral description of the location as it may get a little confusing, but else very happy.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

good price for a very nice private room. very nice hostel in a goog location.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice hostel, good location, helpful staff. The rooms were clean and the beds were ok. The bathroom was tight and shower nosel was over the toilet which is pretty standard in a lot of places in China.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Sanya Hostels

Please give us your feedback