Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1898 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1898 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
19th Jul 2017
9.7

Stayed In a private room, was really spacious. Pool was lovely but not heated and so cold because it was winter. Really chilled environment. A bit further out of town, but only 10 minute walk along the esplanade which I didn't mind too much. Kitchen facilities are good, but no ovens.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jul 2017
6.0

Quite expensive for the value. You have to pay for wifi in your room but it doesn't work 80% of the time. I tried to book some tours at reception and the receptionist (the tanned one with Australian accent) told me I was wasting her time because I was looking at other companies' prices as well. Contrarily, the other receptionists were lovely and super helpful. The kitchen utensils are a bit sparse and could be upgraded.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jun 2017
4.0

The room was filthy, the space between bunk beds was so small it felt like a coffin, no lockers in the room and no atmosphere. Didn't even stay the night!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2017
8.9

This hostel was clean,comfortable,quiet at night. The location was on the Esplanade and within walking distance to everything Cairns has to offer. The free pizza nite was great also the vouchers for the local meal and drink deal . All the staff were very helpful and polite

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th May 2017
8.9

Nice hostel overall. The only thing I could remark on is that I miss lockers in the room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th May 2017
6.0

Stayed in the same ensuite room twice over the course of two weeks and the bathroom wasn't cleaned a single time. Rooms near the kitchen have walls like paper, so be prepared to be woken at all hours. VERY poorly stocked kitchen. No communal refrigeration or dry goods storage, even though there's plenty of space. Decent location. Okay cafe out front. Nice pool area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • katieorr7
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
5th May 2017
8.9

We stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed it! It's in a great location, right on the esplanade near the swimming pool (a bit of a walk from the supermarket however). The kitchen facilities were great, and the bathrooms were kept really clean - it's a really well thought out hostel. The wifi worked well too. The only downside is a lot of people were staying here long term so it wasn't super easy to meet new people. Would definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Apr 2017
9.4

Pros: Lovely helpful staff A great pool Nice vibe from other travellers x2 big kitchens to cook your own food Cons: Gotta buy wifi if you want it in your room, only free in communal areas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • michaelkehoe
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2017
8.9

Great spot to chill out and enjoy Cairns. We stayed in a private room which was perfect. the waterfront is a two minute walk and 10 minutes walk to the centre of town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Apr 2017
8.9

Great people, great pool, great hostel! Short walk to town, bring your own fork though, there's only about 4 forks in the whole hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.