Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,843 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,843 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.1
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront Located at 149 The Esplanade, , Cairns.
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
Australia
Cairns Queensland 149 The Esplanade
84% 1843
-16.9151137 145.7726418
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • whitbye
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2016
6.3

Fab location, just a short walk down esplanade to the lagoon. Good facilities pool etc but room and kitchen wasn't very clean. Lots of ants everywhere. Showers were basic. Also as a solo traveller i struggled to meet other people, think there were a lot of groups working.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • adrianrivera358274
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Nov 2016
10.0

Great stay, extremely satisfied with our stay! Felt like home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Sep 2016
8.0

Out of the 4 places we stayed at Caravella was probably our favourite for value. The location is a bit of a walk away from the Cairns central but that suited us fine. The staff were friendly, rooms clean (with mini fridge), good air-conditioning, beds were comfortable and a great overall vibe. Only critique would be that the shower is a little small, being tall it was quite cramped when trying to shampoo or even move around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Sep 2016
10.0

Very helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
5.4

Wasn't very clean, no lockers, and nothing to set your stuff on in the room other than the floor-which was dirty. The staff didn't really seem interested in the people staying there and there wasn't a sense of community in the hostel. Also it was cheap but they had so many additional fees-like wifi (which didn't even work in my room anyway even after I paid for it). The location is on the esplanade so that's nice but I wouldn't stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
8.3

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was great, walking distance for most places. Bathroom was okay, but lacked hooks or somewhere to put clothes or even towels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
9.7

Great hostel, super friendly staff, and excellent value for money. The free airport shuttle service was a huge draw for me, definitely worth it. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
5.7

This hostel was advertised with a rating of 8.5, maybe 5 years ago but defiantly not now. We stayed for 13 nights and the never changed the sheets once, even when asked, wifi was weak and had to pay extra to get it in room, oldest air con unit I have ever seen which made a terrible racket and give off an awful smell, the pool table was old ripped stained and cues where cracked and splintered making them dangerous, the pool was nice but lots of broken and dangerous loungers around the pool!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jul 2016
8.0

Pros: Fridge in room. Luggage storage for overnight tours. Helpful staff, booked cabs etc. Quiet location but only 5-10 mins walk from nightlife. Cons: No lockers, had to use safe which was only accessible during office hours. Rooms didn't lock behind you so had to rely on other guests locking the door when they went out...which they often didn't.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alexandrachisholm1197
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Jul 2016
9.4

Really clean and lots of kitchen space. The staff are very helpful and informative - definitely stay here if you're in cairns!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.