X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront Reviews

149 The Esplanade, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1633 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Bummer wifi is only in the common area, and bummer it closes at 11 pm. Restroom/Bathroom facilities are limited as there is only 1 toilet to 1 shower room so if somebody is showering on your floor, you'll have to wait to use the restroom or go to another restroom on another floor. Nice staff! A little far from the main street but worth the short good walk.

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Fairly enjoyabke visit. The front counter staff were very helpful with any information i needed. Vibe about the place wasn't very social, even though it is supposed to be a quiter hostel, guests tended to keep to themselves. Good for a stop over.


80%

Good points - clean, nice staff, location very good (away from all the tourists and busy promanade), swimming pool Bad points - not a great place to meet people - everyone in same area to use wifi and not very sociable. Kitchen has no fridges (these are located in rooms) so bringing stuff up and down stairs is long. No lockers (you have to leave stuff with reception which is a hassle as they close at 8pm) so not very flexible. Wifi poor (but you can use the free city one around the lagoon)


80%

Nice hostel with comfortable beds and a common area for using free WiFi. Recommend.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Amazing hostel! We had a tour to catch early one morning, and had to leave before the 7am so we couldn't leave our luggage in storage. Fortunately, there was a staff at the Hostel a bit early, and told us not to worry. We got back from the tour, 12 hours later, checked in, and was told that not only did they UPGRADE our room, but they also carried 2 large, heavy suitcases, up 2 flights of stairs to our room! I would recommend them to anyone travelling to Cairns!

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Melissa for your nice review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoy the rest of your travel.

89%

Good accomodation, I stay only 1 night, but was good, clean, quiete and close to the centre (5-10min walk). There is a swimming pool and the room is equiped with a fridge.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

This place is a bit of a walk from night life, so if you want to be right where everything is, don't stay here. Everything was clean, and they offer free wifi but only in the common area. Pool was nice enough. Staff was fine. No complaints about this place, but there was also nothing spectacular about it.


94%

I was really pleased with the hostel all round, especially the staff on reception who were really helpful and polite. I throughly recommend this hostel to others.


89%

The best hostel we have been to in the eastern coast, stands out as most other hostels along the coast were at about the same price or more and had really poor facilities in comparison to the great facilities of this hostel.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I first stayed in a private with share bathroom... It was good ! Later i upgraded to an ensuite... Perfect! Free wifi around the pooltable and payed wifi in the rooms... Love the place... Will stay there again !


100%

This hostel has a perfect location right along the water. The hostel was very clean...every day I saw the cleaners working hard. The kitchens were very nice and neat and had everything you need to cook. Security was impeccable. There was an awesome pool. It was full of fun, friendly people and had a great atmosphere. No one was ever loud or rude or anything. I could literally live in this hostel.


100%

A most enjoyable stay - well run, friendly, quiet and accessible to town without being in the centre of it.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Asked them to clean our room twice in the five nights we stayed but it never happened, had to change the sheets and towels ourselves. Fresh sheets and towels were ripped and stained. Fan and aircon are too noisy to sleep with them on plus mattresses are horrible. Room had no windows. Left early as the poorly drained bathroom smelt and uncleanliness was attracting cockroaches. This is meant to be one of the better backpackers in Cairns and I have stayed before but this time was very unimpressed.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice location, very friendly staff. Atmosphere in the hostel is good, easy to meet other people. The kitchen could have some more utensils.


89%

Amazing and helpfull staff. The only bad thing is the location. You are quirt a distance away from everything but its not worse than you can stilk walk around to everything.


91%

In my opinion the best budget choice in Cairns! Good place for chilling and a good nights sleep as well as partying in the CBD. Great outdoor area with a real pool and large sitting area (unlike most other hostels)! (Bath)rooms are nice and clean. For more security, some kind of lockers in the room would be nice. Free WiFi is only available a few meters around the pool table, thus many people sitting there just playing with their phones; Would be great if WiFi could be extended to the rooms!


97%

I stayed at Caravella for about 10 days and met some amazing people who I was really sad to say goodbye to! The staff is very friendly and helpful, you can book tours to anywhere in the Carins region through the hostel - I went on a day trip to Green Island which was amazing. The hostel is clean and the atmosphere is chilled out. The rooms are nice with own fridge and air-con or fan. There's always someone hanging out in the common area so it's easy to get to make new friends.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff is great here. The pool and two kitchens are awesome and so is the guitar playing during dinner. It's a bit outside the center (10 min walk) but better than many other hostels in Cairns. Will stay again


100%

Booked a last minute room at the property and opted for the private room en suite. Shower facilities were clean, room already had 2 towels on the bed and a small soap bar ( I only mention this, since at a different hostel I had stayed at the previous week, none were provided-despite being 'en suite'). Bed was comfortable and room quiet. All in all, a nice experience

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Location can't be beat, price for a private room can't really be beat either. The front desk is friendly and VERY helpful for booking tours or anything of that nature. The $7 dinner deals are a godsend for backpackers... oh my lord. They're not the healthiest but they are filling and yummy. SO grateful for cheap food in Australia. The rooms I wasn't too thrilled about, there were roaches and the flickering fluorescent lights gave me headaches and nausea. Bed was comfy though. I'd come back!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)


View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback