X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront Reviews

149 The Esplanade, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1643 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Noisy trucks in the morning (picking up rubbish?); noisy air con - tried to use the ceiling fan instead but it was very dusty; floor was very clean throughout


94%

Staff is absolutely great and open for any possible request. Bathrooms could have soap for handwashing. Lockers in the rooms would be cool.


91%

Super helpful and friendly staff!


97%

Excellent all round!!! Quite a lot of rooms so you think it would feel rally busy, but it doesn't at all! Warm and welcoming with excellent staff. Clean and friendly atmosphere, even has a pool!


83%

Probably the best hostel in Cairns! Friendly staff, clean

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Is's a perfect place to stay. The crew is very helpfull and kind. We loved our stay. Talking to them gives you really the feeling of "no worries mate".

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

We were so happy to have the spacious double-room with en-suite. It was really more like a flat and would have been fantastic for a longer stay (we were only there 1 night). Great value for a couple. Can't comment on dorm rooms as didn't see them.


94%

staff was amazing! We had a really good time. Free WiFi area, working a/c, and fridge in our suite. Common areas were good, clean, and locker storage for baggage available. Free events, free shuttle on arrival, and meal coupons really made our trip even more enjoyable.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Bummer wifi is only in the common area, and bummer it closes at 11 pm. Restroom/Bathroom facilities are limited as there is only 1 toilet to 1 shower room so if somebody is showering on your floor, you'll have to wait to use the restroom or go to another restroom on another floor. Nice staff! A little far from the main street but worth the short good walk.

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Fairly enjoyabke visit. The front counter staff were very helpful with any information i needed. Vibe about the place wasn't very social, even though it is supposed to be a quiter hostel, guests tended to keep to themselves. Good for a stop over.


80%

Good points - clean, nice staff, location very good (away from all the tourists and busy promanade), swimming pool Bad points - not a great place to meet people - everyone in same area to use wifi and not very sociable. Kitchen has no fridges (these are located in rooms) so bringing stuff up and down stairs is long. No lockers (you have to leave stuff with reception which is a hassle as they close at 8pm) so not very flexible. Wifi poor (but you can use the free city one around the lagoon)


80%

Nice hostel with comfortable beds and a common area for using free WiFi. Recommend.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Amazing hostel! We had a tour to catch early one morning, and had to leave before the 7am so we couldn't leave our luggage in storage. Fortunately, there was a staff at the Hostel a bit early, and told us not to worry. We got back from the tour, 12 hours later, checked in, and was told that not only did they UPGRADE our room, but they also carried 2 large, heavy suitcases, up 2 flights of stairs to our room! I would recommend them to anyone travelling to Cairns!

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Melissa for your nice review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoy the rest of your travel.

89%

Good accomodation, I stay only 1 night, but was good, clean, quiete and close to the centre (5-10min walk). There is a swimming pool and the room is equiped with a fridge.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

This place is a bit of a walk from night life, so if you want to be right where everything is, don't stay here. Everything was clean, and they offer free wifi but only in the common area. Pool was nice enough. Staff was fine. No complaints about this place, but there was also nothing spectacular about it.


94%

I was really pleased with the hostel all round, especially the staff on reception who were really helpful and polite. I throughly recommend this hostel to others.


89%

The best hostel we have been to in the eastern coast, stands out as most other hostels along the coast were at about the same price or more and had really poor facilities in comparison to the great facilities of this hostel.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I first stayed in a private with share bathroom... It was good ! Later i upgraded to an ensuite... Perfect! Free wifi around the pooltable and payed wifi in the rooms... Love the place... Will stay there again !


100%

This hostel has a perfect location right along the water. The hostel was very clean...every day I saw the cleaners working hard. The kitchens were very nice and neat and had everything you need to cook. Security was impeccable. There was an awesome pool. It was full of fun, friendly people and had a great atmosphere. No one was ever loud or rude or anything. I could literally live in this hostel.


100%

A most enjoyable stay - well run, friendly, quiet and accessible to town without being in the centre of it.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(43 results)


View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback