Hostelworld.com

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,789 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,789 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront Located at 149 The Esplanade, , Cairns.
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
Australia
Cairns Queensland 149 The Esplanade
85% 1789
-16.9151137 145.7726418
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Apr 2016
5.4

Bed sheets were stained, cockroaches in the room and bathroom, nobody talks, and as there was no locker on the bathrooms, a guy walked in while I was having a shower :o really bad experience!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
9.1

Really nice and helpful staff. The room was tidy, shower and toilet nice and clean.If I come to Cairns again I will definitely stay here again. I took a video of the room https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPTnp6FcJGY

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
10.0

I stayed 4 days in April 2016, thoroughly enjoyed it. Relaxed, friendly atmosphere, quiet at night for a good sleep, even during the day rooms quiet. Great deep pool to relax, can even do laps, pool surrounds nice. Staff very helpful and friendly, gave great advice about local spots , travel and booked tickets for tours. Airport shuttle came to door. Overall best place i have stayed. Rob

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Apr 2016
6.6

When scrolling through hostel world, I was happy to find a really high rated hostel for only $20. The bathroom was covered in hairs and rather gross, the kitchen wasn't very clean plus it didn't have main fridges, instead you got a mini fridge in your room which when you're sharing with 6 people who want to cook means there's no space for everyone's food! The free wifi was only decent early in the morning and hostel was a good 10-15 minute walk from everything of interest.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
5th Apr 2016
8.9

Relaxed hostel a little bit away from the madness but still close enough to be near the action. Showing its age a little but reasonably clean and good atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
8.6

Good value for the money, good location, overall a decent place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
9.1

Very friendly staff and clean comfortable rooms. Good kitchen that's never too crowded.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
8.9

Nice hostel to stay while passing. Great location. Pool. Good kitchen equipment. Room wasn't too clean but wasnt expecting much as only stayed 3 nights. Little ants were on the walls. Pool made a weird smell be left in your hair and on your clothes ect.. but overall a good hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2016
10.0

Caravella was a wonderful place to stay for a short trip to Cairns. It is right on the esplanade so it is quite close to all the city activities. It's a short walk from the main city though so it is a little quieter, which was nice. The staff were very friendly and gave great advice on how to maximise my short stay. The facilities were clean and well kept. Overall it was a great experience and I would gladly stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2016
6.0

Unfortunately the 15 min walk to central cairns let this place down. Especially when walking at night after a few drinks.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.