X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront Reviews

149 The Esplanade, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1578 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Good pleasant stay - pretty chilled out vibe, not a party hostel which is good if thats what your after! Nice staff and extremely clean

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a great stay and the personal touch with the owner always being willing to stop and chat and ask us for any ways in which they could improve was great!

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

A most enjoyable stay. Lovely friendly staff and the atmosphere was welcoming. Clean and cosy rooms and close to CBD. Highly recommended, regards Helen & Carol


77%

we enjoy our stay at caravella especially thanks to the staff. they are really nice and helpful! and the deal they have with the pub for dinner is really good! only 6.5 dollars for a great meal and a drink! i totally suggest this hostel for young people.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Having two kitchens is great - makes it easy for everyone to cook (they are also kept extremely clean and tidy). The pool again is another great asset when the lagoon is closed. Friendly hostel, with a chilled out vibe - perfect if you're looking to relax.


94%

One of the best hostel I stayed in Australia. Amazing staff, super friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean, there is free wifi and a nice outdoor area by the pool :)


89%

Reception staff were very nice and friendly. Pool is nice and refreshing. Only thing to be improved would be to have WiFi through out the hostel

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel would have to be the cleanest, most friendliest that I have ever been to. Right outside the Cairns tour bus stop and promenade. An easy 2 minute walk into the main eateries, night life yet not in the loud hustle bustle. The facilities are immaculate and very comfortable. The staff are so lovely and helpful. The centre itself has amazing kitchen and BBQ areas, a clean pool and great lounge areas. Absolute value for money.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I really liked this hostel! Free wifi and a big Community area. The staff is awesome and so friendly. They have a really good meal deal with P.j.s thanks


71%

I felt the hostel was lacking in atmosphere as the communal spaces were so large. Didn't like the 'one bathroom or corridor' arrangement. Couldn't find a comfybplace to sit out of the rain.


74%

Overall I had a great stay however the kitchen is poorly equipt and not the cleanest. There are no sharp knives in the kitchen so if you plan on cooking you might want to bring your own. Also there isn't enough seating for all guests especially as this is the only place the wifi works.

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Beds are very comfortable!!! The hostel is not the best for making friends. I'm very outgoing and made almost none. There are people who don't speak any English and they just talk in groups and stare at you all day


71%

Overall the hostel was ok. There were 2 things that bothered me. The first is that there was no soap or paper in our bathroom, not very hygienic. The second and most important is that it wasn't super clean. The issue doesn't seem to be the facility but the people staying there. Every night I would see bags of food left in the hallways..... End result was cockroaches. Not a house pet I like to have!


86%

Great hostel. Thanks for an amazing time!

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

You can't polish a perfectly polished hostel. Well done !!

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Big kitchen area, a pool and fridge in every room!

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

only one bathroom for all those people? Need to improve upon that

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly staff, good location, chilled out atmosphere. Thanks for having us!


83%

A big shoutout to the staff, particularly Amy, you're amazing guys! Other than that, travelers need to know that the hostel, while not being impossibly far away from the interesting parts of town (shops, restaurants, bars, supermarkets...) is not the closest, it will take a 10 mins walk to get there. Facilities are great, with swimming pool, pool table, free internet access around the dining area, etc. but strangely enough there are no shelves or cupboards whatsoever in any room.


86%

Free wifi in communal areas. Nice pool that you can actually swim in unlike most hostels. Beds comfy. Needs a comfier sofa area where people can socialise other than just kitchen tables. Good location near esplanade and lagoon.


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback