Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1879 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1879 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
9.7

It was so good backpackers. I wanna stay here when i come to cairns.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2017
8.0

Chose to stay here as I was on a budget and it was relatively cheap, offered an airport pick up for free and had good reviews. Chilled atmosphere, lots of people just in the communal area on their phones as it's the only place you get free wifi but after staying here for over a week made friends. Biggest downside would have to be the distance away from the nearest supermarket and perhaps the mini fridge in the rooms not being big enough but apart from that great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
8.9

The best part of the hostel is the location. Right on the Esplanade, it is just an easy 15 minute walk to the CBD and lagoon. Hostel itself is great: quiet nights, friendly staff, well stocked kitchen/cooking utensils, mostly clean - kitchen is cleaned twice a day but mini-fridges in rooms could use a good deep clean (door jam). Overall, good place to stay as an individual (but also OK for small groups) to hang out, plan the next trip and meet others (or keep to yourself and relax).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
9.1

Great stay! Brilliant! Loved the rooms. Would have wanted more kitchen things like forks, knives glasses and "yougurt bowls". 👍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2017
10.0

Great experience, close to main streets but still far enough to have some quiet. Clean, staff very helpful. Good prices. Wifi was a bit spotty, only negative.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2017
8.3

This hostel is at a quite nice location. Easy walking distance to everything (5-10mins). Near the airport and great staff. Private room with bathroom inside was absolutely okay. Nothing super special but like I said it is definitely okay for a hostel. Would recommend this one 👍🏾

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Mar 2017
8.0

Pretty good, chilled out hostel, not loud at night , pools great , kitchens are good enough, fridge in our private room was very useful . No wifi in our room and only in the common area outside , so it was bloody hot, but you know,just one of those things.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
12th Mar 2017
8.9

It's great the hostel offered a free airport transfer and also they allowed us to take a shower long after we did checked out. First hostel I see that does this! The fridge in the room was great, as well as the AC. Comfortable beds in a spacious room. The shower was good but not meant for tall people! There is no individual locker to keep valuables, but a common safe in reception.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
8.0

Right in the water which is nice. No fridges in the kitchen so you have to keep all your food in the room. Staff is friendly. Doesn't have the most social vibes among guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
9.7

Love this place! It's so peaceful, clean and in such a good location. Everything is within 5 minutes walk, they have a lovely cafe across the road for breakfast and a coffee. Very clean, lots of insects everywhere but that can't really be helped. Pool is so nice aswell especially after a warm day or walk around the town! Will definitely stay here when I return to Cairns.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.