X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront Reviews

149 The Esplanade, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1614 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I was really pleased with the hostel all round, especially the staff on reception who were really helpful and polite. I throughly recommend this hostel to others.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The best hostel we have been to in the eastern coast, stands out as most other hostels along the coast were at about the same price or more and had really poor facilities in comparison to the great facilities of this hostel.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I first stayed in a private with share bathroom... It was good ! Later i upgraded to an ensuite... Perfect! Free wifi around the pooltable and payed wifi in the rooms... Love the place... Will stay there again !


100%

This hostel has a perfect location right along the water. The hostel was very clean...every day I saw the cleaners working hard. The kitchens were very nice and neat and had everything you need to cook. Security was impeccable. There was an awesome pool. It was full of fun, friendly people and had a great atmosphere. No one was ever loud or rude or anything. I could literally live in this hostel.


100%

A most enjoyable stay - well run, friendly, quiet and accessible to town without being in the centre of it.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Asked them to clean our room twice in the five nights we stayed but it never happened, had to change the sheets and towels ourselves. Fresh sheets and towels were ripped and stained. Fan and aircon are too noisy to sleep with them on plus mattresses are horrible. Room had no windows. Left early as the poorly drained bathroom smelt and uncleanliness was attracting cockroaches. This is meant to be one of the better backpackers in Cairns and I have stayed before but this time was very unimpressed.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice location, very friendly staff. Atmosphere in the hostel is good, easy to meet other people. The kitchen could have some more utensils.


89%

Amazing and helpfull staff. The only bad thing is the location. You are quirt a distance away from everything but its not worse than you can stilk walk around to everything.


91%

In my opinion the best budget choice in Cairns! Good place for chilling and a good nights sleep as well as partying in the CBD. Great outdoor area with a real pool and large sitting area (unlike most other hostels)! (Bath)rooms are nice and clean. For more security, some kind of lockers in the room would be nice. Free WiFi is only available a few meters around the pool table, thus many people sitting there just playing with their phones; Would be great if WiFi could be extended to the rooms!


97%

I stayed at Caravella for about 10 days and met some amazing people who I was really sad to say goodbye to! The staff is very friendly and helpful, you can book tours to anywhere in the Carins region through the hostel - I went on a day trip to Green Island which was amazing. The hostel is clean and the atmosphere is chilled out. The rooms are nice with own fridge and air-con or fan. There's always someone hanging out in the common area so it's easy to get to make new friends.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff is great here. The pool and two kitchens are awesome and so is the guitar playing during dinner. It's a bit outside the center (10 min walk) but better than many other hostels in Cairns. Will stay again


100%

Booked a last minute room at the property and opted for the private room en suite. Shower facilities were clean, room already had 2 towels on the bed and a small soap bar ( I only mention this, since at a different hostel I had stayed at the previous week, none were provided-despite being 'en suite'). Bed was comfortable and room quiet. All in all, a nice experience

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Location can't be beat, price for a private room can't really be beat either. The front desk is friendly and VERY helpful for booking tours or anything of that nature. The $7 dinner deals are a godsend for backpackers... oh my lord. They're not the healthiest but they are filling and yummy. SO grateful for cheap food in Australia. The rooms I wasn't too thrilled about, there were roaches and the flickering fluorescent lights gave me headaches and nausea. Bed was comfy though. I'd come back!


69%

There are no hand wash and hand towel in the bathroom, and some people talk in the aisle in the midnight.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

A lovely hostel to stay at. The staff were so friendly and extremely helpful. Brilliant location on the Esplanade - perfect for walking into town but not too backpackery (if that makes sense).


94%

What a hostel..I can say is a five star hotel! Friendly staff,good vibes and the best hostel in Australia! By Italian guy!

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Location at the Esplanade. 10min to city center/bus station/supermarket. No big fridge just small one in room. Thin walls so sometimes very noisy until 11pm. Clean room, little space between top and bottom bunk, could be claustrophobic... Free storage after check out is nice and staff always helpful. Big thanks!


77%

People are talking at the center under ur room after 23:00 even though 23:00 is the curfew for the place.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location, right on the Esplanade. Good nights sleep. Tours and activities can be booked directly from the hostel - v.handy.


80%

I thought it was a nice hostel, the rooms where very clean which is always good in a hostel. The swimming pool and common area where good to relax and also meet people. The staff where very friendly and always able to help. The one thing I'd say is the free wifi was extremely slow and you could only get it in the common area, no where else in the hostel which was sometimes a pain! Apart from that I enjoyed it :)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback