Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,822 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,822 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.5
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront Located at 149 The Esplanade, , Cairns.
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
Australia
Cairns Queensland 149 The Esplanade
84% 1822
-16.9151137 145.7726418
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Aug 2016
5.4

Wasn't very clean, no lockers, and nothing to set your stuff on in the room other than the floor-which was dirty. The staff didn't really seem interested in the people staying there and there wasn't a sense of community in the hostel. Also it was cheap but they had so many additional fees-like wifi (which didn't even work in my room anyway even after I paid for it). The location is on the esplanade so that's nice but I wouldn't stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
8.3

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was great, walking distance for most places. Bathroom was okay, but lacked hooks or somewhere to put clothes or even towels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
9.7

Great hostel, super friendly staff, and excellent value for money. The free airport shuttle service was a huge draw for me, definitely worth it. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
5.7

This hostel was advertised with a rating of 8.5, maybe 5 years ago but defiantly not now. We stayed for 13 nights and the never changed the sheets once, even when asked, wifi was weak and had to pay extra to get it in room, oldest air con unit I have ever seen which made a terrible racket and give off an awful smell, the pool table was old ripped stained and cues where cracked and splintered making them dangerous, the pool was nice but lots of broken and dangerous loungers around the pool!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jul 2016
8.0

Pros: Fridge in room. Luggage storage for overnight tours. Helpful staff, booked cabs etc. Quiet location but only 5-10 mins walk from nightlife. Cons: No lockers, had to use safe which was only accessible during office hours. Rooms didn't lock behind you so had to rely on other guests locking the door when they went out...which they often didn't.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alexandrachisholm1197
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Jul 2016
9.4

Really clean and lots of kitchen space. The staff are very helpful and informative - definitely stay here if you're in cairns!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2016
9.4

Really enjoyed our stay :), very helpful staff. Let us leave our bags in the room extra time, perfect location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
8.0

Nice hostel, with swimming pool and free wifi

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
10.0

there was so much accomodation to pick from initially but i picked this one because of the waterfront location. I t proved to be much much more. Location staff helpfuness with our tours atmosphere cleaness everything was great. i,m only sorry that our stop was not more than a week.and when i go back i will be stopping there. Thank you so much for the opportunity to express this.veronica coonan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th May 2016
8.9

Great hostel, yes bit out of town but only 15 mins walk and nice walk along esplanade! Staff nice, security good. Pools excellent and lots of outside space. 2 kitchens also so always plenty of space, would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.