Hostelworld.com

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,802 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,802 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront Located at 149 The Esplanade, , Cairns.
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
Australia
Cairns Queensland 149 The Esplanade
88% 1802
-16.9151137 145.7726418
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
10.0

there was so much accomodation to pick from initially but i picked this one because of the waterfront location. I t proved to be much much more. Location staff helpfuness with our tours atmosphere cleaness everything was great. i,m only sorry that our stop was not more than a week.and when i go back i will be stopping there. Thank you so much for the opportunity to express this.veronica coonan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th May 2016
8.9

Great hostel, yes bit out of town but only 15 mins walk and nice walk along esplanade! Staff nice, security good. Pools excellent and lots of outside space. 2 kitchens also so always plenty of space, would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
7.7

Location was a bit away from the main terminal in Cairns - about a 15 minute walk (but a nice walk along the esplanade). Friendly staff helped me booked tours easily. No complaints about cleaniness of dorms/bathrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
8.6

Nice place, very open air. There's not much A/C because you're in a more tropical climate but I liked it because I wanted a place more tropical and beachy. Free Wifi and they have a pool! Staff was super nice and a nice walk down Esplanade to get to everything. Overall, really great :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Apr 2016
5.4

Bed sheets were stained, cockroaches in the room and bathroom, nobody talks, and as there was no locker on the bathrooms, a guy walked in while I was having a shower :o really bad experience!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2016
8.6

Great location steps from Esplanade. Nice atmosphere and staff. Rooms are big, beds comfortable. Wifi needs improvement.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
9.1

Really nice and helpful staff. The room was tidy, shower and toilet nice and clean.If I come to Cairns again I will definitely stay here again. I took a video of the room https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPTnp6FcJGY

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
10.0

I stayed 4 days in April 2016, thoroughly enjoyed it. Relaxed, friendly atmosphere, quiet at night for a good sleep, even during the day rooms quiet. Great deep pool to relax, can even do laps, pool surrounds nice. Staff very helpful and friendly, gave great advice about local spots , travel and booked tickets for tours. Airport shuttle came to door. Overall best place i have stayed. Rob

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
5th Apr 2016
6.6

When scrolling through hostel world, I was happy to find a really high rated hostel for only $20. The bathroom was covered in hairs and rather gross, the kitchen wasn't very clean plus it didn't have main fridges, instead you got a mini fridge in your room which when you're sharing with 6 people who want to cook means there's no space for everyone's food! The free wifi was only decent early in the morning and hostel was a good 10-15 minute walk from everything of interest.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
5th Apr 2016
8.9

Relaxed hostel a little bit away from the madness but still close enough to be near the action. Showing its age a little but reasonably clean and good atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.