X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront Reviews

149 The Esplanade, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1765 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Good enviroment. Friendly backpackers also workers. Need improve on 24 hours cafe Bagus Cafe. PEOPLE love EAT


77%

Staff very helpful, location great, but two very fundamental flaws to our room and one to the hostel itself. a) The air con didn't work, and the fan wasn't good enough...so it was really hot! b) Our room had a window onto a shared corridor...the light was kept on all night, hence so were we. c) Wifi is limited to the communal area, plus has a 10:30pm curfew! Wifi really shouldn't be restricted, especially when it is one of the most appreciated facilities a hostel can provide.


100%

I really enjoyed my stay at Caravella Backpackers. The staff was friendly and always helpful. Thank you!

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Caravelle was a great place to stay! It is very conveniently located. The owner and staff were awesome... Very friendly and helpful. And the facilities were well worth the price. I would definitely stay here again!

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Helpful and friendly staff who make sure every possible thing is done to make the stay enjoyable. Lovely pool and rooms. Only stayed for 2 nights at the Caravella but would highly recommend.


97%

The staffs at the reception are very helpful and friendly. The room is very clean and tidy. The hostel has a large and fully equipped kitchen. I will definitely come back to here when I visit Cairns again.


97%

The staff was lovely, and very helpful and accommodating. We got a room with a private bathroom, and were very pleased and comfortable.

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a good time at the hostel not much of an atmosphere more of a calm and chilled place but it's well looked after. Staff were excellent very helpful and friendly

  • 24th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

the staff does a good job!


60%

the airconditioner was so bad, it was so loud we couldn't sleep the rooms are so poorly insulated, it was so hot inside, almost unbearable the shower was badly made no wifi in the rooms, and the wifi available for purchase did not work and was a waste of $5


57%

Great location! This hostel is a very short walk to the center of town and the swimming lagoon. The facilities are clean, however the security is not exactly top notch. To get into the hostel at night there is a gate with a keypad. However, anyone can get past here without knowing in the code since you can easily slip your hand inside the bars and open the gate from the inside.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your stay at Caravellas and thank you for your feedback. I just wanted to let you know that the gate has been replaced and even people with very small hands will not be able to enter without the security code.

66%

Fridges in room were great, atmosphere very average. Location nice on waterfront


100%

The only downside to this hostel is that the wifi isn't hostel wide.

  • 21st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I think you should invest on spreading the wifi also to the rooms.

  • 22nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Pleasant hostel. Though the main 'social' area was very unsociable due to the free wifi. Rooms and beds were clean. Could have done with a few more toilets/showers near the rooms. Staff were helpful when booking trips. Overall an enjoyable stay.


100%

All was great only thing, in a mixed doorm and lock on bathroom door didnt work, and shows are weirdly low down. Apart from that all was perfect thanks

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a lovely stay at Caravella. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Good location also ☺

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

I found Caravella to be a really nice hostel and the staff always keen to help. The only criticisms I have were regarding the location (a little out for the main part of the esplanade) and the atmosphere. As the wifi was only available in the communial area it seemed everyone was only there to use their phone/tablet so no one was actually talking to one another? Maybe consider moving the wifi hostel wide to avoid a congregation to that area just to use the Internet?


83%

Great hostel, made it a base for 3 weeks of travelling around Cairns and Queensland. The staff are awesome and super helpful. There's a good kitchen a nice pool and wifi in the communal area. A couple of small things I would change would be to make the communal area, which is a great idea, more comfortable (a hammock or 2 would make me never want to leave!). Also some more environmentally concious choices like separating the rubbish. But overall recommended :)


94%

Good showers,clean rooms,very helpfull staff on reception,great location,great shuttle bus, free wifi and all at a good price. All you need in a hostel 😎✌🏻

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback