X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront Reviews

149 The Esplanade, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1603 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

we enjoy our stay at caravella especially thanks to the staff. they are really nice and helpful! and the deal they have with the pub for dinner is really good! only 6.5 dollars for a great meal and a drink! i totally suggest this hostel for young people.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Having two kitchens is great - makes it easy for everyone to cook (they are also kept extremely clean and tidy). The pool again is another great asset when the lagoon is closed. Friendly hostel, with a chilled out vibe - perfect if you're looking to relax.


94%

One of the best hostel I stayed in Australia. Amazing staff, super friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean, there is free wifi and a nice outdoor area by the pool :)


89%

Reception staff were very nice and friendly. Pool is nice and refreshing. Only thing to be improved would be to have WiFi through out the hostel

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel would have to be the cleanest, most friendliest that I have ever been to. Right outside the Cairns tour bus stop and promenade. An easy 2 minute walk into the main eateries, night life yet not in the loud hustle bustle. The facilities are immaculate and very comfortable. The staff are so lovely and helpful. The centre itself has amazing kitchen and BBQ areas, a clean pool and great lounge areas. Absolute value for money.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I really liked this hostel! Free wifi and a big Community area. The staff is awesome and so friendly. They have a really good meal deal with P.j.s thanks


71%

I felt the hostel was lacking in atmosphere as the communal spaces were so large. Didn't like the 'one bathroom or corridor' arrangement. Couldn't find a comfybplace to sit out of the rain.


74%

Overall I had a great stay however the kitchen is poorly equipt and not the cleanest. There are no sharp knives in the kitchen so if you plan on cooking you might want to bring your own. Also there isn't enough seating for all guests especially as this is the only place the wifi works.

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Beds are very comfortable!!! The hostel is not the best for making friends. I'm very outgoing and made almost none. There are people who don't speak any English and they just talk in groups and stare at you all day


71%

Overall the hostel was ok. There were 2 things that bothered me. The first is that there was no soap or paper in our bathroom, not very hygienic. The second and most important is that it wasn't super clean. The issue doesn't seem to be the facility but the people staying there. Every night I would see bags of food left in the hallways..... End result was cockroaches. Not a house pet I like to have!


86%

Great hostel. Thanks for an amazing time!

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

You can't polish a perfectly polished hostel. Well done !!

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Big kitchen area, a pool and fridge in every room!

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

only one bathroom for all those people? Need to improve upon that

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly staff, good location, chilled out atmosphere. Thanks for having us!


83%

A big shoutout to the staff, particularly Amy, you're amazing guys! Other than that, travelers need to know that the hostel, while not being impossibly far away from the interesting parts of town (shops, restaurants, bars, supermarkets...) is not the closest, it will take a 10 mins walk to get there. Facilities are great, with swimming pool, pool table, free internet access around the dining area, etc. but strangely enough there are no shelves or cupboards whatsoever in any room.


86%

Free wifi in communal areas. Nice pool that you can actually swim in unlike most hostels. Beds comfy. Needs a comfier sofa area where people can socialise other than just kitchen tables. Good location near esplanade and lagoon.


71%

The kitchens are great. Good for people loves cooking. I stayed with them during cyclone and was very frustrated since there is no wifi in rooms so you have to stay at the common area to access internet but this means that you have to stand the big wind and rains(and it was very dangerous as things may blown up and may hit people). But I have to say the boss is good as he always offer helps and ask if you are ok.


86%

Great hostel and very helpful and nice staff. We will recommend this hostel to others. We stayed there 10 days. Only downside was our room cleaning: we told twice to reception that our room needs cleaning and new sheets, but it never happened. Summa summarum very good hostel. :)


66%

Yeah, meh.... Linen hasn't been changed, need to use My sleeping bag. Friendly staff, not enough fridge space, no lockers, cool Pool area, free aircon, big and free luggage storage.


1 2 Next » last »
(40 results)


View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback