X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront Reviews

149 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1539 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Really enjoyed my stay at his hostel, staff were incredibly helpful in booking any activities I wanted to do. Nice location on the esplanade and not too far a walk into town. Shared bathrooms and private bedroom were both clean and nice. Would defo return here.

  • 11th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Awsome 10/10


69%

The luggage storage room could be in a better location, for people to feel safe to leave their belongings behind.

  • 7th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel is in a great location, short stroll along the waterfront to the lagoon and pier. The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful in booking tours and airport transfer. The only thing that was a bit of a shame was the bedframe was so squeaky that it would wake me up rollign over in the night (room 45). Other than that it was a really well placed, chilled out hostel.


77%

I found that the way Hostelworld set up information on various backpackers and check in times was a bit misleading. Reviews on the site I also found more than generous.... but after seeing some other hostels we liked ours much more! Very clean and location great with a bus stop right out the back.

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The location is ideal, not right in the center so you don't get too much noise, but only a 10min walk away from the supermarkets, bars, and other necessary stuff. Ideal if you want to walk places but don't want the party noise. The staff (especially Jodi) was also incredibly helpful in helping us find a snorkeling tour that fit our needs.


100%

This is a lovely,friendly hostel. The owner talks to everyone and makes you feel very welcome.The rooms are spacious and the outdoor pool is large and clean. Definitely a lovely place to stay.

  • 27th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The front staff were very friendly. Am not sure though the beds are up to current standard and requirements at least in the female dorm I stayed in. The room and bathroom was clean, but I must have been ogled by the biggest cockroach I have ever seen sitting in the outside area in the evening.


94%

I loved this place; one of my favorite hostels ever


89%

loved it there :) nice and quiet nice staff - helped with bookings, very friendly and knew the best places to visit

  • 19th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The room was quite big with our own fridge and a nice bathroom. The kitchen is well equipped and also clean like the rest of the backpacker. After 11pm it's all quiet there to get a lot of sleep. One thing we were disappointed about:The Backpacker advertised to help you with your tour bookings. But when we asked for a tour it was "fully booked" - later we called that tour host on our own and there was plenty of space. The girl at the reception just wanted to sell a more expensive tour!


77%

It's a bit far from the city so we spent literally hours looking for a cab, the room was clean and nice though!

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

This hostel is about 10 to 15 minutes walk from the main streets of Cairns, which is good because it means it's pretty quiet. It's right on the water front, so it's a really nice walk into town though. Inside the hostel is OK, but the communal seating and eating area is pretty small and you're allowed to smoke everywhere, which isn't great for non-smokers. Top tip, head towards the lagoon in the centre of town for free wi-fi!


89%

Rooms are nice and clean. Internet is not free and very very slow. The staff is great and very helpful. Location is quite good though not super central. The biggest con is the fact that the ladies' bathrooms are right next to the reception.

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Clean and cheap :) perfect accommodation !!!


89%

We stayed in a private twin room, with shared bathrooms. The room was nice, not the most comfortable bed but it was OK and that's expected in hostels! The place was clean and had a friendly atmosphere, with nice and helpful staff members. The only complaint we had was that they cleaned the bathrooms at about 8-8:30am so you had to plan showers in the morning carefully, but that's only a minor thing, and we would definitely stay here again!


100%

We loved our stay at Caravella though asked for different rooms as there was too much traffic noise at the back house. We stayed in other backpackers as we travelled but didn't find anywhere better.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

A great place to stay. Close to the city centre, without the bustle and noise. Had a private room with ensuite, clean and comfortable. Community kitchen and pool were clean and well maintained.


77%

yes, stay here - our visit went very well! clean, great location right on the Esplanade, spacious room with air-con, which was definitely needed!


71%

Good price/quality ratio.


(1164 results)


View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback