X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront Reviews

149 The Esplanade, Cairns, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1628 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

top hostel with good atmosphere and friendly staff


89%

Very nice establishment. Staff are very friendly and helpful with organizing excursions

  • 10th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We upgradet to a twin room, which was still a very good deal and had our own clean room with a bathroom for ourself in a very quiet buildung.The kitchen and all areas were clean and the staff just amazing! So friendly and helpful! Specially the location is great.Between two expensive hotels directly at the beach in 15 min walking distance to the harbour where all the touristsboats are leaving for daytrips and just at the end of the street with all the nice little bars and restaurants..

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Air conditioning was great plus on hot summer stay; only complaint is that it was a bit of a walk (15 min / 20 min) into town to buy groceries or go out, which wouldn't be bad in a temperate climate, but in the tropics it's not a pleasant experience because of the humidity and random rain.


97%

Definetly one of the best hostels I stayed in Australia, and I've stayed at a lot :) The staff is always friendly and helpful. The owner Ralph always wants to improve the facilities and is a very nice person. Caravella is more a resort than a hostel. The awesome pool, the kitchens and the rooms are very clean and nice. It's a good place to relax and enjoy your life.I had a really good time at this backpackers and would really recomend to stay there. You won't regret it.

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Nice staff! That's good to have a fridge inside our room. The room is okay but the bed is not comfortable enough. The free wifi is from 6am-6pm. It's too short for the backpackers. It would be better to have at least 18hr free wifi. Anyway, the rate and conditions are acceptable. Backpackers staying there are friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Wai Ying, I trust you had a pleasant stay at Caravellas. The wifi is now available 24 hours a day at twice the speed.

80%

Everyone (staff and backpackers both) was really friendly. Good location, about a nice 5-10 minute walk to the Lagoon and restaurants in the city. The free Wi-Fi was pretty terrible, so you pretty much have to purchase the other Wi-Fi if you plan to do anything. Cleanliness could be better, but it could also be much worse. The pool was a nice bonus! The price was quite reasonable.


97%

The owner Raphael is very aware of the goings on in the hostel and is constantly looking at ways to improve which I found very good! Place has a great atmosphere and also the free aircon in the room is beaut!

  • 9th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Wifi was only available from 7am-6pm in the common area which was annoying as we would be gone most of the day on trips so did not benefit from this facility.

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Really quiet and on the far side of the esplanade, not a rowdy hostel but the common area always had people around to talk to. It was easy to find your way into town straight down the seafront but it was 5-10minutes to the place for meal vouchers which was a really nice place to eat and socialise so it was worth it. Reception were really helpful in booking all of my trips for me and advising the best ones to go on. I really enjoyed all the ones they suggested and recommended to friends too.


100%

The Caravella Backpackers hostel is a good place where to stay when you visit Cairns and you are looking for a nice accommodation at a reasonable price. The location is good, just a couple of minutes by walk from the Esplanade and the waterfront, and the staff is very helpful. They also provide airport pick ups from and to Cairns airport.


83%

Nice and clean! Had a four share room with aircon and own bathroom for only little money! You have to walk about 15 mins to Woolworths but that's alright. The staff was great!!! We wanted to go diving and she booked a tour for the next day although it was already 8pm. The wifi was ok, you can book hostels, flights etc., check your mails. Didn't try skype but others did and it was not tooooo bad I think ;) Had a good stay and can definitely recommend the Caravella!


66%

The staff were very nice and more than happy to help out with everything. The people living in the hostel (workers) were very rude

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

One of the staff got me onto an excellent dive tour at the last minute. I was really happy with his suggestion!


89%

Top and very much satisfied,

  • 19th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff were over and above their duties. Thank you. If they could have contolled cyclone Dylan they would have done that too. Excellent position, lovely clean linen too. Must go back and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • 17th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Really big twin room. Nice and clean place. The staff were really helpfull and so friendly. We would definitely recommend this place!!


80%

Very clean place with good facilities and helpful staff. 5-10 min stroll to get to the esplanade and shops. Very chilled out atmosphere, not a party hostel like the ones closer to town.


94%

I really enjoyed my stay as I had been on a tour before and it was nice to get a room on my own and no bunk bed! In the room it had a fridge and air con. There is a pool to have a dip in to chill off, kitchens to cook in and free wifi from 0700-1800

  • 18th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

We really liked this place! The location was easily walkable to the main esplanade and the 4 bed dorm we stayed in was pretty spacious (we were actually pleased as we had booked a 6 man dorm!). The ensuite we had in the dorm was really handy and clean when we arrived - although didn't seem to be cleaned on a daily basis. The place was well secure and had a safe in reception. The only complaint is that wifi is only available in the common area and only between morning and 6pm.


(1221 results)


View all Cairns Hostels

Please give us your feedback