Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Caravella Central

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 791 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 791 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Feb 2017
6.0

We saw a cockroach running down our hallway one night, the bathrooms are clean though. There isn't a common area for people to hang out other then the kitchen which has limited amounts of pots and pans and a small cooking space. The sheets I was given had stains on them and if you're in a room with no AC it's not worth what you're paying since the heat is a killer and there are other hostels for less per night which have AC. However the staff was extremely helpful!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • jesspaxman
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Feb 2017
7.1

Can't complain for the price. Location perfect, right opposite gilligans but a quiet hostel so you can still sleep. No lounge area. Very good free wifi 24/7 everywhere. Small kitchen but was fine. Get a deluxe as otherwise you won't have air con! I stayed here and gilligans and for the price difference wish I had only stayed here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Jan 2017
8.6

The girl at the reception is really nice and helpful! Great location, everything is nearby. But everyone can walk into the hostel at all time and things got stolen from us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
9.1

Amy was awesome! Such a sweet angel, and so very accommodating! I got in at 10am and she let me check in and get settled straight away. The other guests staying at the hostel were also so nice, would definitely stay here again. Right across the street from Gilligan's so was easy to run back and forth. It did get hot at night, but there is a fan, so if you keep your window open during the day it's not too bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jan 2017
8.0

Location of this hostel is amazing, 5 min walk from lagoon and everywhere you want to go. The rooms upstairs have aircon which was v effective at night. Wifi was good all round hostel and kitchen was well equipped too! No common area though which was a shame. Staff were lovely apart from one lady who mixed up the deposits. Defo recommend it as it's close to party scene but you can get a good night's sleep too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
7.7

The location of this hostel is great. The rooms are fairly basic, the air con and fridge in the room was a plus. The kitchen is okay, the facilities in the kitchen weren't bad but it got very hot in there when cooking in the evening and could get crowded. The showers and toilets were fairly clean however at times they seemed as though they had been left for days without anyone cleaning them.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
9.7

Originally only booked 4 nights at Caravella but ended up extending our stay. Some rooms have air con and some don't, depends if you can handle the heat. The hostel had free wifi which was rare compared to most hostels in cairns. Basic but clean kitchen area and great location to other hostels and the lagoon. Not the liveliest of places but doesn't matter if you're just using it as a place to sleep. Would definitely recommend and stay again if ever we were back in Cairns.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
6.9

they dont have air- condition, it was really hard to sleep at night because the room was really hot! the kitchen was good but too small!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
8.0

In a really good location 5 minutes walk from the lagoon, kitchen is well equipped and has a big table in, rooms were clean and spacious. However there was no air con in the room so it was extremely hot and meant we didn't sleep well at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Oct 2016
9.4

A really nice hostel in the centre of town only downfall is not all rooms have air conditioning so when it's hot it can be a very uncomfortable nights sleep and the bunk beds on the first floor need replacing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.