Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Caravella Central

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 742 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 742 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.6
Caravella Central Located at 72 Grafton St, , Cairns.
Caravella Central
Australia
Cairns Queensland 4870 72 Grafton St
78% 742
-16.9239308 145.7758927
Caravella Central
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
9.4

Great place to stay.would recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in cairns

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
8.9

Right across from Gilligans so it's good if you want to go out, but also quiet so you can get a good nights sleep. It's a small but comfortable hostel with free Wifi 24h. The staff is very friendly . Only things missing is a common room. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Julesibug
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Aug 2016
4.6

Unclean with cockroaches everywhere. Really bad low bunk beds with a claustrophobic feel and poor facilities. People weren't real friendly and there's no real common space. Some members of staff were lovely but an older guy, I assumed was the owner, accused me of having snuck in and made me show my room key to prove I was actually staying there. Awkward.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
8.3

This was a great hostel for my quick trip to Cairns. It's right across the street from Gilligan's, so easy access to their bar. I stayed in a private room that (although not en-suite) had a sink, which I love, and a mini-fridge! Air conditioning at night was clutch too. The room was clean, bathrooms were standard. Checked in during the siesta hour, but was still able to get in my room. But if you are looking to meet people in the hostel, pick a social one with more common areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
12th Aug 2016
6.6

Beds are so small, top bunk not far from your face. Place is a little on the shabby side and could use a bit of tlc. Very cheap and good location but very noisy at night, sound travels easily throughout the building.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • alexb97
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Aug 2016
8.9

Hands down the cleanest hostel I've been to. Right opposite gilligan's so you can party but get a good nights sleep at the same time. Free wifi which is strong enough to stream Netflix etc. There isn't a common room but the kitchen is fine to sit in. Rooms are really big and spacey, a very comfortable hostel, would definitely recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • CampbellMcIntosh
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved my stay! Best hostel in Cairns at only $18, great free wifi in rooms. Spacious 4 bed rooms with sinks, mirrors and aircon. Quiet in the evenings but close to nightlife scene. Best part is the hostel community! Especially lovely Thari at reception! Sad I'm leaving!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Nepal, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Jul 2016
7.7

Right across from Gilligans so great location for going out. Beds werent that great, a bit squeaky and bad mattresses. The kitchen is quite small, not really a common area so its quite hard to meet people (but that might just be my experience). Pretty cheap and the staff are nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jun 2016
6.3

The hostel ha got a very good location in the heart of Cairns and close to almost everything. The staff was always very friendly and tried to help as good as they could. It was often very loud in the hostel and there is no chill out area, so the only place you can hang around is your room. Kitchen closes at 22.30pm, so bad luck if you are hungry past that time. The rooms aren't really nice. I didn't like the atmosphere there and it was difficult to feel comfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
9.4

Nice hostel- just what I was looking for! Clean, great receptionist, decent kitchen. Only thing it lacked was a common area. Hard to meet people outside of those in your room. But altogether a very nice experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.