Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Carlton Arms Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 113 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 113 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.0
Carlton Arms Hotel Located at 160 E. 25th Street, , New York.
Carlton Arms Hotel
USA
New York New York 10010 160 E. 25th Street
81% 113
40.7402237 -73.9826229
Carlton Arms Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jan 2017
9.7

I stayed at The Carlton Arms for three nights. It is a very special place. I started to feel so at home that I kind of miss it, even though FB I am now back in my actual home. The halls and pretty much every other surface have been decorated by artists who live or have little bed there, so each room is unique. Some fixtures are a little "antique " but it is very clean, and my bed was very comfortable. The location was great, too. Coffee and tea are provided, in a little room off the lobby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Dec 2016
8.6

The artwork and the cats were great! Good location and reasonable price. We would definately stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Dec 2016
8.9

This place had a great price for this time of year (early Dec), was in a accessible location, and had awesome art throughout the halls and rooms. I only gave the facilities a middle rating due to the showers only having cold/cool water during my stay. (On the bright side, taking a cold shower before heading outside to the cooler temperatures helped, just like taking a cold rinse before diving into a pool.)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Dec 2016
9.4

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed no matter how many stars they have. All staff are very kind and friendly. I will definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Nov 2016
9.7

Lovely quirky place. I stayed in room 7, a private room facing the street. The man in charge is very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
8.3

Good value place to stay in Manhattan, my stay went smoothly. I would recommend bringing ear plugs because manhatten is really loud and if you have a room overlooking the street it can be quite noisy. Everything was clean, not far from subway, not a fancy place but has character. I felt safe on my own walking outside the hotel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sarahdangerx
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Nov 2016
10.0

This was the coolest hostel I've ever stayed it. Don't love they gray cat too much he will love bite you. But over all it was such an awesome hotel. We got to choose which room we wanted.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
11th Oct 2016
8.9

Location is excellent, in a quiet neighborhood. Subway stations, restaurants etc. are really close. The hotel cats are the cutest! Not suitable for persons looking for basic hotel rooms. The place is really colorful and unique. Beds offer just pillows and a sheet, blankets are offered if asked. We got to choose our room from three options which was nice. The window in our room didn't close properly but a blanket and a radiator in our room kept us warm. Would go there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Oct 2016
5.4

The Carlton Arms is dirty & rundown, with flaking paint & mold on the walls. The sink backed up every time I used it & the carpet was stained. When I arrived, the man at reception was rude & acted like I was bothering him by checking in. The other staff were better but nobody was particularly friendly. There was no blanket on the bed & when I requested one, I was given a thin, cheap blanket which isn't really intended for use on a bed. The only saving graces were the art & the cats!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2016
9.7

Great bohemian-artsy style hotel to explore a great area of NY in. It's perfectly located, the area is really safe and it's easy to get anywhere around the city from here. The facilities were clean, the rooms were really awesome, and the staff were pleasant. Great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.