Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Carlton Arms Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 143 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 143 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2017
10.0

There is one word to describe this hotel and it is quirky! From the minute you enter the hotel you get a feel of the place! The art in the bedrooms and hallways is fantastic and each shared bathroom is decorated with a different theme! They let us check in early and even let us pick our room from the ones that were empty at that time. They don't have a daily room clean but encourage guests to let them know if you need linen or towels changed. Absolutely no complaints about this hotel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2017
7.7

interesting place, hotel rooms more than hostel bunk rooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2017
7.4

Room was clean and larger than we expected, but a bit dark. We were satisfied, although the staff seemed a little bit passive and indifferent. But otherwise we were happy about the stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2017
4.6

Upon check-in they seemed surprised that our reservation was made through the website and tried to overcharge us substantially and we're not very nice about it. Although the bedsheets seemed clean, the room smelled stuffy. I thought I just needed a bed to sleep in but I dreaded going back there in the evenings.. When we checked out, the man who took our keys was kind and friendly. I wish he had attended to us when we arrived. It might have helped our opinion of the hotel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • loliace3048
  • France, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Aug 2017
10.0

Really nice place to stay, really clean and close to the metro.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2017
8.0

We only stayed for one night*** Such an interesting interior! Definitely one of the most unique places I've stayed in. There were cats roaming around through open windows, so that definitely decreased the security points for me here. There was also no common space to meet people. Other than that, the rooms and bathroom were clean, and it suited our needs perfectly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2017
9.1

Carlton arms is a truly unique experience that I feel everyone must have atleast once. This place is not for the uncreative and requires an admiring soul. Our room was beautiful and airy with the most incredible green artwork that we could have stared at for hours. The only downside to the place was probably a noisy bed and the bustling street of New York roaring outside of our room. But Hey, it's New York and the pros certainly outweighed the cons!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
6.9

Cool rooms vs. poor equipment The location and atmosphere and great. The rooms are arty and very special. Stuff is helpful. BUT nearly everything in each room ist very old and doesn't work properly. I would expect much more when I pay 1000+ Dollars for 6 days (common bath !) Wifi quality is unsteady. Air conditioning is loud. The owner should invest in building equipment. SOON. Be aware there are house cats. I'd recommend this hotel only for adventurous guest who love art.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
9.7

Excellent hostel, the staff were so friendly and helpful. The whole place was clean and in an ideal location. My only negative comment would be regarding the lack of common space. The artwork is interesting the friendly resident cats mean this is a unique place to stay - highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
8.0

Good place to stay for open minded people, it's not a conventional hotel. The art work throughout the hotel makes a very unique and enjoyable stay and is the character of the place, some may have a very different opinion. Bed sheets and small shared shower were clean. It is, however an old building with squeaky floors. Window air conditioner blows directly onto the bed and shades cover the A/C, so you have to choose between privacy and darkness at night vs A/C.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×