Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Carlton Arms Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 103 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 103 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.3
Carlton Arms Hotel Located at 160 E. 25th Street, , New York.
Carlton Arms Hotel
USA
New York New York 10010 160 E. 25th Street
83% 103
40.7402237 -73.9826229
Carlton Arms Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Nov 2016
9.7

Lovely quirky place. I stayed in room 7, a private room facing the street. The man in charge is very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
8.3

Good value place to stay in Manhattan, my stay went smoothly. I would recommend bringing ear plugs because manhatten is really loud and if you have a room overlooking the street it can be quite noisy. Everything was clean, not far from subway, not a fancy place but has character. I felt safe on my own walking outside the hotel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sarahdangerx
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Nov 2016
10.0

This was the coolest hostel I've ever stayed it. Don't love they gray cat too much he will love bite you. But over all it was such an awesome hotel. We got to choose which room we wanted.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
11th Oct 2016
8.9

Location is excellent, in a quiet neighborhood. Subway stations, restaurants etc. are really close. The hotel cats are the cutest! Not suitable for persons looking for basic hotel rooms. The place is really colorful and unique. Beds offer just pillows and a sheet, blankets are offered if asked. We got to choose our room from three options which was nice. The window in our room didn't close properly but a blanket and a radiator in our room kept us warm. Would go there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Oct 2016
5.4

The Carlton Arms is dirty & rundown, with flaking paint & mold on the walls. The sink backed up every time I used it & the carpet was stained. When I arrived, the man at reception was rude & acted like I was bothering him by checking in. The other staff were better but nobody was particularly friendly. There was no blanket on the bed & when I requested one, I was given a thin, cheap blanket which isn't really intended for use on a bed. The only saving graces were the art & the cats!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2016
9.7

Great bohemian-artsy style hotel to explore a great area of NY in. It's perfectly located, the area is really safe and it's easy to get anywhere around the city from here. The facilities were clean, the rooms were really awesome, and the staff were pleasant. Great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Sep 2016
10.0

I was very skeptical in booking a New York hostel but was really taken by surprise on how amazing this hostel is. The staff was great, rooms and bathrooms clean, and the art decorations were phenomenal. Would definitely highly recommend it to all travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
10.0

Very comfortable, minimal hotel with amazing decor and ambiance. The location was perfect, with lots to see and do within a short walk (Madison Square Park, Flatiron Building, Empire State Building, many bars, restaurants, diners, bagels and coffeeshops). The manager was very friendly and our one night stay was wonderful. We will return next time we're in NY.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
8.9

Highly recommend Carlton Arms to people who aren't too fussy about the aesthetic nature of the rooms. The walls are painted with colourful murals, which add to the quirkiness of the hotel. Rooms contain basic furniture but the double bed in the private room that I had was very comfortable. The air con unit was in perfect working condition as well. The combined toilet and shower were located next door to my room, which was very convenient, and were kept clean at all times. Great location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
8.3

I'm a fairly easy going person so this hotel was perfect! Plus I like cats and they have two. My room didn't have a window to the street, rather to a brick wall which was fine because it was lovely and quiet. Beds weren't the most comfortable but you get what you pay for. Had a cool location with plenty of bars surrounding and walking distance to Times Square. I would definitely go back if I came to New York again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.