X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Carpe Noctem Original Reviews

Szobi utca 5, 3/8a, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
2567 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I have stayed in many hostels both expensive and cheap in a number of continents and this is by far the best hostel I have ever had the pleasure to be apart of. It is especially appropriate for people travelling solo as the small hostel has a very family vibe and is great for making friends. I cancelled two flights during my stay in order to extend my visit so I would definitely recommend it!

  • 9th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

OG has a special place in my heart. It's true one can never leave!


100%

Without a doubt the best hostel in existence. Kinda like staying at a friends home, except not really because it's better in every single way. Every single day there's crazy stuff on, the staff are the craziest coolest cats, everything has been thought of, hostelworld doesn't give me enough characters to list them all. Money may not buy happiness, but it pays for a bed here and that's more than anyone could want or need.


100%

JUST BOOK IT ALREADY. I tried to write an entirely thorough review, but the character limit cramped my style (and prose). You don't know me but I never lie and I'm not easily impressed- that being said, you MUST stay here. You're safe (so is your stuff), you can walk everywhere, and it's (very) clean & cheap. But it's the spectacular staff that makes this place completely fantastic; they create a family, and you will be so sorry to leave. Love, LOVE Carpe Noctem! Until we meet again!


97%

The staff is really awesome. I extended my stay by 2 days just to experience Budapest more. The environment is incredibly friendly and easy to make friends, some days I even explored the city with other travelers. Every night you can opt into going out with the hostel, they have different themes each night. They have a laundry option you can pay for, the showers are the biggest I've seen in all my hostels. And around 11am each day they start cleaning and sweeping.


97%

OJ is Absolutely Heaven for Solos!What abt kissing each time Bar Cruise through a bridge on Thurday nite?What abt drinking at diversified bars&clubs finally wasted at a unique underground club on Friday nite?Workers Gigles, Ed and Gemma all fantastcally cool.Particularly,Gigles was an engine of making fun,Ed was dragging me whole nite to talk &dance with her nice friends.Hostel mates became a lovely family so naturally.In Krakow I met solos heading back to Buda only to enjoy OJ's parties again!


97%

We had originally only planned on staying for 2 nights but ended up staying 4. So I guess you could say it was twice as good as we were expecting. The city is amazing, cheap and very fun. The hostel looks very nice, the beds are comfy and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel ever!


94%

Great nice hostel with amazing people and staff that were fun,hilarious and helpful. Made me feel at ease the minute I stepped in. Definitely a good choice for solo travellers. Whether or not you decide to party it's up to you and they always try to make you feel inclusive. One of those places I know I definately want to go back again to. Highly recommend.

  • 30th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Holy poop!!! Budapest! Freaking Budapest. Who would have thought that after hitting Paris, London, Amaterdam, etc., that the best time I would have on thia trip would be in Budapest. I guess it goes to show, it's more about the hostel, staff, and the people you meet. Carpe Noctem Original was literally the best. The place I had the most fun. The place I met the nicest people. The place that I was saddest to leave. I'll never forget my time there. Thanks Giggles, Jewma, Shitsu, and Ellie.


100%

Carpe noctum, jewma, giggles and staff! Gorgeous people creating a friendly, welcoming and home like place to stay and party in Budapest! The added extras of a drink on arrival after along day of travel, their smiles and interested banter while providing a immaculately clean hostel is admirable!! Lovesies Cat and Case xxx


100%

Had a killer time. Shout out to the amazing crew for putting so much effort into making their fellow back packers feel right at home.


100%

This hostel was one of the best places I have ever stayed. Even though I was only there two nights this hostel felt like home. You can get everything you need to explore the city at the hostel. The staff was amazing as well. They knew me by name and helped me with everything I needed. I have recommended this hostel to every single person I know who is going to Budapest. I will, with a doubt, be staying here again when I go back to Budapest.


100%

It's hard to put in words how great this hostel and the crew are. I was like a newborn exiting the womb when I arrived at Carpe Noctem, but Jewma, Giggles, Shitzhu, Elly & Big Ed shaped me into the tall, fun, sexy man I am today. I've regularly been covered in beanbags on the couch as they clean the hostel at least three times a day. Seriously I would eat the family dinner the staff cook every night for us from the shower that Shitzhu scrubs every day if I needed to. You need to stay here!


100%

The hostel was definitely one of the best hostels I have ever been to. The staff was like a family and made ​​you feel right at home. The hostels location was perfect, very easy to get around and see the city. The parties were amazing, best place to go crazy, have the time of your life and meet lovely people.

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is about everything I could have asked for. Friendly staff who were willing to help in any way and even cooked a traditional Thanksgiving dinner. The people at the hostel were all adventurous people willing to join in on any activity you were up to. And the activities planned were fun and energetic. Note that this is a party hostel as in they go out every single night of the week. However there are usually a few people who are less engaged in staying up all night.

  • 23rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Definitely one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Most friendly staff I've had. I arrived at 1am and one of the staff members (giggles) left me out some food which was awesome! Family dinners are good to get to know everyone before a night out. If I'm ever back in Budapest I'll be back here for sure!


100%

Carpe Noctem is without a doubt the best hostel I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. There is an amazing family atmosphere cultivated by the staff. From the moment i walked in I was greeted like an old friend. Family dinner is a must along with all the other great activities they have planned out. They give amazing tips for things to do all around Budapest and sell tickets to just about everything so you can skip the lines. I would highly recommend this amazing hostel

  • 23rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The team are absolute legends. Im almost 100% sure my girlfriend booked us in on the wrong day (hope she doesn't see this review) but they still found a place for us to stay and we even ended up extending. We were due to go to Amsterdam for new yrs but have now decided to come back and stay with the crew, my karaoke still needs some work but each hour i am beginning to feel more and more like i have the vouce of an angel in preperation. Regardless everyone must stay here, best hostel weve stayed

  • 21st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It was my first time traveling alone, but the staff & guests made it feel like I was surrounded by friends from the very start. If you want a great combo of friendly & party, stay here. Make sure to bring treats for Shitsu, he's such a silly dog. Watch out for Elly, she always trying to pick people up. Giggles is liable to get you plastered at the Sparty, & Gemma's cooking was out of this world. The family meals were a great way to bond before a crazy night of drinking. Definitely going back! :)

  • 19th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(133 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback