X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Carpe Noctem Vitae Reviews

Erzsebet korut 50, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
2160 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

What do I say about this indescribable wonderland. First a guest in February for a week, extended to a month, worked until September. I've never felt so far away from the real world and so happy partying. By far the closest most intimate friendships I've ever made. Ive never felt so relaxed and at ease with life. I'll never take away unforgettable life memories that come close to these. I'll never feel more at home with my family. I'll never be this free again. Careful it might happen to you.

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I've stayed at Carpe Noctem a couple times, but this was my first visit to Vitae. Great location, directly across the street from the 4/6 tram line and a couple blocks from the Metro. Very secure building and an AMAZING wristband system for room access (so no creepers getting in!). Staff were awesome and always down to suggest fun activities. I did a couple evening activities and they were well organized. Definitely a party hostel, and a guaranteed good time. A favorite spot, must come back!


83%

You truly get what is advertised. Every night there are pubevents for the partyhungry person and a lot of people from the hostel join in the fun. As a solotraveller I found the atmosphere extremely open and friendly and I quickly made a group of friends with the same idea of this stay as I had and we had great fun together. (I dearly missed some washing facilities, had forgot to check if they had this before I mad the booking, so that one is on me.)

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff at Vitae were amazing. It was really well run and had a great social atmosphere - perfect for meeting other travellers. No one ever wants to leave this place.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Strongly recommend this place. I planned to stay 4 nights and ended up here for 2 1/2 weeks. Never want to leave. Super fun chill place with great staff and crazy party atmo every night. Clean and the team here have thought of everything. I'll miss you Frame, Gobbles, Butch, and, most of all, Medler. xxxxxxx

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Definitely a party hostel but still able to get a decent sleep at night. Fun atmosphere staff are really friendly and helpful. Good facilities...wifi, computers, showers, kitchen. Good location close to the octagon and other tourist attractions. Overall a good experience...would recommend.


94%

This is definitely the place to stay if you want to meet people and party while in Budapest but still would like the option of staying in and relaxing some nights. The staff was friendly and had great recommendations (shoutout to Tinks and Clover!!). It was an overall amazing experience being there!


100%

This hostel is genuinely my second home. I've never had so much fun, whether we were partying harder than ever before or chilling in the amazing common room with the most incredible people I've ever met. The staff make you feel like part of a family you will never want to leave. Cannot put into words the fun you will have. This is my 2nd time here and I'll be back at Xmas. And probably many more times. love to tables murph frame medler cbelt tinks cyclops clover gillie santi dj


100%

This hostel is genuinely my second home. I've never had so much fun, whether we were partying harder than ever before or chilling in the amazing common room with the most incredible people I've ever met. The staff make you feel like part of a family you will never want to leave- I abandoned a flight I had already paid for to stay longer because no amount of money can compare to the experience here. love to tables murph frame medler cbelt tinks skinnyp cyclops clover and the most reliable ghillie

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff is excellent making you feel at home once you walk in the door. Try to go during the weekend as there are group (drinking) activities that allow you to meet people in your hostel and their sister hostels. Highly recommend the boat ride Thursday nights.


97%

So much fun and the best environment for making friends- I turned up alone, but by the end didn't want to leave everyone. If you don't want to go out, you can still chill out and do touristy things. Great atmosphere and staff!


100%

Having stayed at a number of hostels throughout Europe, i can confidently say that this was the most impressive in all aspects. The facilities meet a satisfactory standard, staff are all incredibly helpful and friendly, and the location is perfect. With this in mind, I believe that the most outstanding feature of this hostel is the culture and community that resides within its walls. For young travelers who are seeking an opportunity to experience Hungarian culture while having an amazing time.

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Carpe Noctem Vitae was the best hostel ever. There was something awesome going on every single night organized by the staff. Upon arriving you feel instantly welcomed and quickly make some amazing friends. I was planning on staying three days, but had to extend to a week because I couldn't bring myself to leave such an awesome place. Seriously can't say enough about the time I spent here!

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great place for a fun time! If you're in Budapest to party but aren't so keen on being force-fed tequila as soon as you walk in the door, then this hostel might be for you. Great atmosphere with friendly staff and guests who were all keen to socialise. The rooms are a bit rough around the edges (noisy doors, poorly ventilated, on the cold side) and the bathrooms likely require flip flops. Great common areas though, with comfy couches and good vibes!


100%

So I started my stay with the intent of only staying 3 nights, I ended up staying 8. The staff is amazing, from the moment I walked through the door to sharing the last cheers as I left. I came with about 50 fewer Facebook friends, and as a solo traveler that's saying something. All the activities! Something fun is goin down every night of the week! Pretty much the worst part of this hostel is leaving it. Its also a hostel that it is what you make of it so just be yourself and you will have fun!

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

As soon as you walk into this hostel, you're greeted by the warmest group of people, both staff and other hostel-goers. Every night, they've got fun activities planned for you, (this IS a party hostel after all. They do NOT shy away from the party!) It was incredible fun having been there and I've definitely gained some memories that will last a lifetime during my stay there. I can definitely understand why people come there to visit and end up staying there to live on as staff members.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

If you're going to Budapest, you seriously have to stay here. The location is great, the atmosphere is fantastic, and the staff are seriously some of the coolest people you'll ever meet. Vitae is a place where you'll have the best time of your life and meet some badass folks. Don't expect to stay for just a few days, though... It's basically impossible not to extend.


100%

AMAZING HOSTEL, so much fun and a really good atmosphere. All the staff are GREAT, Frame is a little hun. Would definitely recommend!!!!

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

THIS PLACE IS A TRAP! For angels that is.... This place is rockin' and rollin' 7 days a week and I'm never leaving! The staff are all individually amazing people on their own and then when you combine them it's even better! The staff are always on their A game when it comes to cleaning, partying, and making us feel like a family. There's always something fun to do here and the common loft area makes it great for meeting new people and socialising. They have a disco shower!!!! COME TO VITAE!


97%

Absolutely amazing. A must if you're passing through Budapest.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(245 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback