X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Carpe Noctem Reviews

Szobi utca 5, 3/8a, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

97%

Rating
2006 Total Reviews
  • 98%Value For Money
  • 97%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 99%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 95%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The staff was very helpful when we had questions about navigating the city and also had awesome events planned every night. It's very clean and the beds are super comfortable. It's in a safe location and all of the major sights are easily accessible on foot.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Carpe Noctem Stay For Fun and Games and Play Luke WILL kick your shin

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic hostel in a fantastic city, definitely lived up to the hype! Very helpful and friendly staff.


91%

Although my stay was very very short because of unpleasant experiences in "the wild" of Budapest, the Carpe Noctem hostel and its crew were amazing! I felt at home right from the start. The crew is really cool, very helpful and joins the travelers in partying at night. Everybody visiting Budapest should definitely visit this hostel!

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Welcoming, felt like family as soon as you walk in the door! The staff were super friendly, hi-larious, extremely helpful with ideas for things to see and do. The planned party nights were rad! It's a small hostel so by the end it was sad to say goodbye as you get to know everyone. Made Budapest for us. Will come back soon :)


97%

Excellent hostel experience - Recommend this place to everyone! Absolutely amazing staff that will answer a million questions and give heaps of tips and are really cool to hang out with! You will feel like a family and go out together but if you want a quiet night or to get some sleep it will be totally respected.


100%

There is not enough space to leave a proper comment for how amazing this hostel is. It really does feel like you're staying at a home with a bunch of friends, you totally forget that you're supposed to be in a hostel. The staff are the coolest, nicest, most fun and helpful people you'll ever meet. The people who stay there instantly become your friends. There is no other way to enjoy Budapest than through this hostel.


100%

Great youth hostel. Staff was awesome. Very resourceful and made all guests feel very comfortable. Events every night. Fun atmosphere, but also can relax which was nice.

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It was my second time at the hostel and it was better than the first one.


100%

Best hostel ever! Especailly for solo travellers. I loved it so much the first time that I went back 3 months later! It's amazing how much they make you feel like family from the moment you arrive! You go out every night with 20 of your new best friends and they always have something crazy organized. In the daytime you can hangout in the lounge with a cup of tea and meet up with other travellers before going out to explore! Honestly can't explain how great this place is! :)


97%

The below reviews of this hostel are correct, this place is the best party hostel to stay in in Budapest. Yes, the staff make the place super fun. And yes, you are a fool to book any other hostel if you're even gonna think about going to Budapest, BUT I feel that everyone in these reviews have missed out the true selling point of Carpe Noctem. Located in the living area, cruelly obscured from view is the game Stratego. Possibly the best board game I have ever played. There's not enough character

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

What an incredible hostel! Just like home, comfortable beds, lockers and free lock hire, clean and well equipped kitchen, sparkling bathrooms! Family dinner every night is cheap and yummy. Staff greet you with a cup of tea on arrival and make you feel incredibly welcome. Tom, Coltrane, Andi and Anna are the best staff members you'll ever come across on your travels. Staying here is a must, you're making a mistake if you don't!

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This is a fantastic hostel! I've been backpacking now for 6 months and have stayed in my fair share of hostels but this one stands out. It is a smaller hostel where everyone becomes close because of its family style setup. The employees do a fantastic job at making everyone feel at home and every night the hostel meets up with all the big party hostels, making each night a crazy fun night. The pros is that at the end of your crazy night you get to go back to a quiet cozy home. Xo Brittany


100%

The staff is what makes this hostel. Make you feel comfortable since the beginning and are always there for talking. Even if the hostel is empty it may still be as good. The staff are always partying together and at the same time engaged on managing the Hostel and giving good Infos when needed. Go to this hostel if you feel comfortable being around mostly native English speakers and can speak quite good English since if not you may feel a little out of the group. Good for solo trav/small group.


100%

Outstanding hostel, outstanding staff!


100%

Absolutely loved Carpe Noctem! The staff greeted us with a cup of tea and made us feel like part of the family. It's a small hostel, so everyone socialises and goes out together (including the lovely guys and gals who work there, who showed us the best places in Budapest and made lovely "family dinners"). It's in a great place, and kept super clean, with no silly extra costs or anything! I can't stress enough how spoiled you'll be if you come here - I'm already planning my next trip back!

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

This is a great party hostel. Staff were amazing, and great about organizing activities. A little bit of a walk to some of the better sights in Budapest, but overall I really enjoyed my stay.


100%

Amazing hostel that is easily the best I have ever been too, the place has an incredibly friendly environment and is very welcoming to everybody that arrives there. The staff are incredibly knowledgeable about the city and inform you of all the best places to go, and booked in some great activities, such as caving, for us. The place itself is kept super clean and tidy, and each night they cook a "family meal" which is great value and everybody socialises together. Can't recommend highly enough


94%

Great atmosphere and great staff! Great for solo travelers! Everyday there is an event that people from the hostel go to. It is very good to meet new people and make travel friends! The location is also very good, close to all the city atractions! I would definately recommend it!


100%

Probably one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in without a doubt... I have never felt more welcomed in a hostel than Carpe Noctem, I was welcomed with a cup of tea and highly informed about all the site-seeing places and activities. The atmosphere in the hostel was amazing, never felt anything like it before, we were all one big family, we drank together, ate together and partied together. Family. The staff are so friendly, it was an honour to stay at this hostel. Highly recommend Carpe!!

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(89 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback