X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Casa 579 Reviews

Rua Doutor Julio Otoni 579, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
261 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Lovely, warm welcome to this hostel at 6am after our flight was delayed 5 hours. The staff were incredibly helpful. The room was beautiful with an amazing view. Best breakfast in Rio! Lovely location near the centre of Santa Teresa.


91%

Great staff, view and atmosphere: amazing place!

  • 12th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

We don't think it has a good position. They tell it is in santa teresa but it's far from the nightlife area(you have to take a bus). Anyway it's far from every place in rio: you have to take bus metro for getting to the beaches. Considering its price (it's a basic hostel) and its position we can' t recommend it.

  • 7th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great spot to stay if your up for some time in Santa Teresa/Lapa/Centro. Really friendly staff, they have maps to help you get around, info about which busses to take to get to and fro, all in all, really happy that I stayed there.


69%

We had money stolen from our room.The money wasn't in an obvious place but hidden in different locations around the room so they must have gone through our stuff to find it. We realize that we should have used the safe they provide but we do not appreciate the fact that staff who steal from customers are given access to the rooms in customer's absence.Although the amount was not large it managed to stain our good impression of the otherwise lovely place

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are truly sorry to hear that this happened, please be assured we take this very seriously. As we have been fortunate to have very trustworthy staff & have not had these kind of problems in the many years we have been operational, we were very suprised & sad to learn of this. This is a very serious matter & we have interviewed all our staff accordingly. We are also re-iterating to guests to use the valuables safe we have available for storage of money & valuables. Our sincere apologies again.

71%

Room was big and clean, breakfast was great. Views are amazing. The problem is the location, far from the restaurants and stores in Santa Teresa. It's very hard to get a cab there, even if you call one, they just won't show up or they'll take 30 minutes to get there. Buses are easier to get, but be aware that it's going to be an adventure. I expected more for the money as it was the same price from a hotel (180USD for 2 people in a private room).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We have frequent buses that pass next to the house & take you to Lapa/Centro or Largo do Machado. In addition there are local minibuses that run through the night coming back from Lapa.It is not hard to get a cab, but, if there is heavy rain then there can be a queue for cabs which is why it can take longer. In these scenarios we advise guests to plan ahead & order one early. With regards to price, we had different rates during your stay due to the FIFA Football Cup.

86%

Felt so at home Enjoyed the group, but was able to be private when necessary wonderful staff Beautiful old house dogs barking throughout the night in neighborhood

  • 7th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

A truly great hostel.Santa Teresa is a lovely area to stay in and this hostel is beautiful. They have a great breakfast in the morning when everyone in the hostel pretty much gets together and it is easy to socialise.Clean house and super friendly staff. The only negative thing is that the dorms feel a bit tired (old furniture and beds) and the 5 bed dorm is way too small . Also the private room next to reception seems a bit noisy .


63%

Casa 579 is really cute and has an awesome view. Staf are really friendly and it has this atmosphere of a home! Those things were great! What we didn't like was to stay in the annex building. It would be fine if it would be as cosy as Casa 579. This annex still laks some life in order to be as in Casa 579. Our room was ok, the bathroom was clean, but unfortunately we found a dead cockroach in the bedroom! Another thing we didn't like was that there was no way to lock our room.

  • 5th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Just to let you know, due to feedback, we have now made some changes as follows: all the rooms in the annex house are now lockable and we have recently made some changes to the house to make it as colourful and welcoming as the main house. With regards to the dead cockroach, we treat the houses regularly to ensure we are free from pests however as it is a tropical country they sometimes can get in from outside, we apologise for you having had to deal with this.

77%

Pros: Very friendly staff, fantastic terrace with great view to Christ the Redeemer, bathroom clean, GREAT BREAKFAST, cozy rooms Cons: 1) Location is not good. The closest grocery store is in a slum - only about 10 min. walk, and we all know how dangerous it could be to get into a slum in Rio. 2) No refund policy - has to pay full amount in cash for check-in, and when you want to leave earlier, there's no way to get your money back. Feels unfair.

  • 4th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your time to give us feedback. There are two grocery stores nearby, one about 10 minutes walk in a very safe community (there is a permanent police unit here) and the other approx. 20 minutes walk in the other direction. Also, there is a large supermarket in Largo do Machado, a 10 minute bus ride away. With regards to our cancellation policy, if you wish to leave early, we try and resell your room/bed & if we do, we don't charge you as we feel this is a fair option for both of us.

86%

Lovely view, comfortable beds and very helpful staff in a nice quiet corner of Sta Teresa, recommend very highly.


100%

Amazing view, great breakfast, sympathetic staff... I really enjoy Casa 579 and I can rommend this hostel without hesitation.


97%

Great place, very welcoming staff. The view from the roof is unbeatable. A perfect spot for a more low-key few nights in Rio, but a quick cab ride away from the action in Lapa if that's your scene.


91%

Fantastic staff and breakfast, would definitely recommend.

  • 14th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

My girldfriend and i were there for 3 nights and after that we asked to stay 2 more nights. That means we stayed there for 5 nights it was very nice. The persones who work there are very helpful and heartily. They will help you with everyting. You can reach everything by bus or van from there. And on the other side of the road is Cauchos a very good restaurant for brazilfood.


71%

the staff is very nice and friendly. but the location is not so good. if you want to enjoy the beach in Rio, don't suggest you choose this hotel. the transportation is not easy. And the facility has to been improved if based on this price.

  • 27th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very clean hostel, lots of space. Great facilities especially if you are doing any treks, its ver easy to store your luggage or organise transport. Very helpful and friendly staff.

  • 6th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Casa 579 is a gem. You can feel like you are at home there, in the lounge, on the terrace.... When I first arrived I thought I was far away from everything, but it is a short and convenient bus ride down the hill to the action....and, it is actually quite nice to have a sweet retreat on the hill to get away from the bustle of the city. Oh yeah, and those pictures with the view....they're real. :) The staff are amazing!

  • 5th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Dislike - Short on bathrooms, kitchen didn't seem like a welcoming place to cook a meal Like - Great staff, great view, best breakfast in Brazil


97%

We stayed 10 days at Casa 579 then went back for another weekend at the end of March, originally planning to stay only 2 days. Needless to say, we LOVED it. Staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, breakfast was the BEST we had in our 3 month trek through South America. It is located high above Santa Teresa with marvelous views of Jesu Cristo and Sugarloaf, but takes 20-30 minutes to get to the beach and center. Very easy transportation via the favela vans that stop right outside the hostel.


(164 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback