X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Casa Azul Hostel Reviews

Rua General Lima e Silva, 912, Porto Alegre, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
205 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, they seem to know the name of each guest. The room are clean and comfy. The atmosphere is great, it is really easy to meet people and have fun. The hostel is well located, it's in front of the street party, there's a lot of bars and club around the area. You can get drunk and go back easily to the hostel which is nice.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel is safe, clean, with a cute and fun little bar attached for socializing. It is in a pleasant part of Porto Alegre, alongside the best bars and restaurants of the city. Extra points go to the VERY helpful staff and the general relaxed atmosphere the hostel produces, it is easy to acclimatize to this place.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was a great place to stay, awesome owners, staff very helpfull, great layout, awesome atmosphere, in good location.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

By far the best hostel we stayed at in Brazil. Breakfast every morning was some of the best I've had. Highly recommend this hostel. Fantastic staff, fantastic place and unbeatable location.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome hostel. Best bar you could imagine. Awesome people who work there always up for a good time and have got good tips on things to do. great facilities and location is perfect! One of the best hostels I´ve stayed in.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

If you like party hostels this hostel is great. The staff is very friendly and helpfull, it felt like home. Awesome staff and awesome location. Very clean hostel. I Would definatly come back to this hostel.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very good atmosphere staff are really nice! Met a lot of good people and was a good stay. Perfect location and a great breakfast in the morning.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff were very helpful and spoke English, which was great as I spoke no Portuguese. There is a bar downstairs that is open to locals, so great way to meet people, but it can get a little loud at night. But if you're staying in hostels and not packing ear plugs, then it's your own fault if it keeps you up. Location is good on a great strip of bars and restaurants and close to the local park.


86%

We had a great time, the staff were super friendly and helpful, in a great location next to the place you'd want to go, I'd def stay there again

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Had a great time at Casa Azul. The staff let me eat breakfast the morning I arrived super early form the airport even though I wasn't entitled til next day. On that breakfast was one of the best I've had!! Cheese toasties, integral bread, ham, fruits, coffee, cake etc. so good. Staff are super helpful and friendly plus they speak English which is so helpful as I know no Portuguese! Hostel is on a great street near cool bars, restaurants, a big supermarket and the big park.


94%

Nice staff, friendly people, good location. Highly recommended.


83%

Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Excellent bar that gets very busy at night but their's a roof terrace open only to guests to escape the crowds. Comfy beds. Wifi ok. Kitchen was average but they were renovating. Only issue was breakfast as they didn't bother to keep it stocked so there's nothing left by 930 and it's only until 10. Easy to fix. Very good stay here


69%

The night clerk didn't want to consider the hostelworld receipt and alleged that US$1 was worth only R$1. I convinced her to pay the next day and the other clerk did everything right, charging what was printed as the due value on the receipt. The living room/kitchen and the men's bathroom were a mess, demanding a thorough cleaning. Besides that, the bar and location are excellent.


83%

Why is it so dark in the bar? Haha besides that, everything was great. The location is the best!


60%

We did not stayed there because this site messed up our reservation


74%

15 min to walk to city centre, in an area with restaurants and big supermarket. Staff could have been more friendly, didn't speak english that well (we had just arrived& hardly spoke portugues). Roof terrace was fine, kitchen& bathroom were okay, lady's bathroom misses a better ventilation in my opinion. We had a double room (a bit dark, like the lounge), with air condition& fan, quite loud in the first night because it points to the courtyard. A grid against mosquitoes would have been great.




View all Porto Alegre Hostels

Please give us your feedback