Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Casa Beula Reviews

Calle 5, 2 - 37, Taganga, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained


36 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 40%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 50%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

Great little place to stay if you're stopping over in Taganga. Yolanda the owner welcomed us with open arms and attended to all our needs including advice about good places to eat and organising a bus to Tayrona. Only thing we wished we could have was air conditioning in our room but the upstairs deck area was nice and cool.


The staff is amazing, all the time have helped us in order to find nice restaurants and touristic places to go.


Probably not the safest area but OK, very nice cabin and great view from the terrace. Bathroom sometimes has a displeasing smell, water from the shower would rinse everywhere, not the most clever construction. Host is very friendly and helpful, but after my stay I noticed that instead of 24k something COP I had to pay 30000 COP (for 2 nights). Still a good price though,


Amazing staff! Very attentive to any questions and becAme so quickly your family away from home. Great place to chill and relax, will definitely go back!


Owner and his mother are so warm and kind. I was sick while I stayed here and they did everything they could to make me feel better. A little out of the main strip but worth the 5 minute walk.

  • 26th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The owner was friendly. The Privat doorm was hot and not really clean. Also the bathroom was not so clean. The kitchen isnt a kitchen. Its a place with a fridge an something with what u probably could cook but it cant be called a kitchen. We wanted to make our laundry but the women told us that its not allowed. The Internet is her privat Notebook, what u have to ask for. I will never come back to Taganga. All in all its an unpleasant dirty small town. If u search for nice nature dont go there

Owner Comment (Hide)
the laundry is not included, we recommend a good place to do laundry. the kitchen has a fridge, a cook machine perfect for frying, roasting or boiling and dishes.


Unfortunately, it was not I expected ! Fisrt , the location is really, really bad. Hard to find, you have to run at the end of the village to find it. The neighborhood is dirty and unsafe for the night, and you can't really enjoy the down town of Taganga. The privates rooms are in the same little flat, without privacy, and the room is hot. Kitchen is not really a kitchen because you can't cook, just a fridge. I'm sorry to say that but there is any charms in this place,even if the owner is lovely

Owner Comment (Hide)
the streset have signs to find the place. the guy did not even slept in the hostal, so he couldnt know how is the security at the night. the hostal is 6 blocks to the down town and is perfect place to relax and enjoy a quiet time without the noise of the down town. there is a full equipped kitchen.


The staff were amazing, the lady was very sweet and helpful and the boy was friendly, informative and spoke good English .. The private room did get hot and was a bit small but was very worth the price paid.. Area was just ok, bit dirty and dusty (like the rest of Taganga i guess)!


The kitchen has no plates . The staff was very nice .The matrace is only plastic


Good place with a beautiful terace with a good wiev of Taganga. The owner is very clever

  • 11th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


little disorganised but a good place, pity bout the shower though


This is a great little hostel, the owner is amazingly lovely, we wanted to stay longer just because of her. Its location is say 3-5mins from the northern end of the beach, in among the locals, not touristy at all, so we quite liked the walk. The kitchen facilities are basic but she has a rice cooker and can leave stuff in her fridge if you ask.


Very good installations and excelent staff (the owner) It is a disappointment that no wifi, no refrigerator and poor shower quality. In the dorm of 4 beds no aircon.


Wonderful place to stay. We only planned on staying two nights but ended up staying five. The señora that runs the place is lovely and made us feel at home. Beautiful rooftop patio that overlooks the ocean. It's about a 10 min walk from the center and is perfect for those looking to avoid the hectic tourist party scene. Only drawback: no lockers (but the place itself is pretty secure). Highly recommend casa Beula for those who want a relaxing experience in Taganga.

  • 19th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Yolanda the hostess of casa beula is amazing. So helpful and kind. The house is a bit hard ro ind as it ia new and the strong wind in taganga has blown the signpost so they show the wrong direction. Once u find it, the beds are compfy. Water ran out a few times so had to wait a little while for a shower at times but Yolanda is so nice that it makes up for it. It would be good if there was WiFi but for the price you can't really complain.


Nice friendly woman owning this hostel. A bit difficult to find because the strong wind blow and turn around the signs how to get there.


This place was cute. The lady who owns the place is extremely nice and motherly. It is a little hard to find and nobody has really heard of the place since it is new. Walking there alone at night is a bit scary, but I never had a problem. It's about a 5 minute walk to the main road and the beach. Oh, if you don't live on the main road in Taganga water is scarce, so expect little water for your shower!


The woman was very nice and the place was clean and pretty to stay in but our experience was one of the worst :( It was very hard to communicate since we speak only a little Spanish and she only spke Spanish. There was only one key for four people to get in so we got locked out twice on time for (two hours) and eventually had to find something to screw the bolts off the door because no one was home to let us in. And no running shower water ?? :(


This is a great hostel! Clean, pretty, and very comfortable. The location was peaceful and breezy, and just a short walk to the beach. They were so helpful and attentive and we were very happy with our stay. If you're looking for a smaller, quieter hostel in Taganga this is it. The directions could use an update, to include how to find the hostel from the bus stop near the water. Also, we were told we owed more than what was stated on our Hostelworld receipt - make sure to bring yours along.


The owner is a really friendly and helpful woman. Once I got sick and she brought me some medical juice, which really helped. She makes you feel like at home and gives you a lot of advises! The room is clean and the guest house is in a quite and peaceful location of taganga! recommend it!!

View all Taganga Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback